Computer Science vs. Project & Facilities Management

wongsm13

Just graduated from poly with an engineering diploma and thinking of going to uni. As of now, was offered Computer Science by NTU and Project & Facilities Management by NUS.

Was wondering which of them will earn me more money, and better career prospects :D

Or maybe I should appeal to other courses? :s13:

Thanks in advance :s12:

fplolz

walan , if your deciding motivation is due to better career prospects and earning more money.. you're gonna have a bad time man.
Plus , the market could have changed by the time you finished your uni.

So... which one are you more interested in?
Seeing that you are from engineering.. Computer science shouldn't be a problem for you at all.... jin satki can go in local uni D:

IAmZTX

Just graduated from poly with an engineering diploma and thinking of going to uni. As of now, was offered Computer Science by NTU and Project & Facilities Management by NUS.

Was wondering which of them will earn me more money, and better career prospects :D

Or maybe I should appeal to other courses? :s13:

Thanks in advance :s12:

I must say you should accept those course that u are interested in. NTU Computer science is heavily focused on maths. So better brush up your maths before you go in. Also read up on the past year exam papers, those are the sample questions that you will get during exam. Don't get so happy yet. Know your strength. You must understand one thing, going to University is a big gap compared to Polytechnic. You mustn't bring your Polytechnic study style to University. It don't work. You must consistently research for new knowledge from textbooks, wiki for further understanding. Relying on lectures notes, tips from professor aren't going to work in the exam. So be warned!

patryn33

Apply to be a doctor, appeal for it.
Seriously computer sci if u innovator you can become millionaire
If u avg then with time u just grow to become project lead

No hard fast rule which degree gets u the most money
In a company at times it not all about your abilities but how to present yourself to upper management get the visibility to move up. Ppl can steal credit and move along. If u great butt kisser you move rocket fast, or if u happen to be in place where turn over is high and u stick to it, in no time u manager

MoxLotus

you want to earn quick bucks? robber is the profession you should go for. earns millions. =)

zero_88

Please dun come com science

in local uni

u all will regret it

dun say nvr warn u all!!!!

Is it not that difficult, however I think of changing course or even quit school. my standard is not good enough for NTU.

cos the environment is a bit too fast paced for me, and it is like more rewarding for those "elite", if you are those average or below average student, your life will only get harder, when u reach year 2 or year 3, ytou might feel that you dun have interest in computing anymore

I have interest in programming and computer, but not this kind of "computing", it is a bit too chim for

I dk how to explain to you here

in short, if you are those zai kia or programming pro, it will be a heaven for you, cos u will enjoy coding and ADVANCE MATH for you, and the MATH is like SUPER CHIM that kind.

If you are those want to just smoke your way through the 4 years and want to just get a normal degree, you might have a very hard time. This course is not for people who want a "easy life".

it is 70% math related content there, it is super chim

if you all really not scare of being trash until siao by FT and JC people...go ahead :)

If you open house, they wun tell u the hard-truth one la

davidktw

Please dun come com science

in local uni

u all will regret it

dun say nvr warn u all!!!!

Your message is pretty crystal. We probably wouldn't know if all others will regret it, but certainly all others knows you regret it badly.

The reason is because you have claimed your incompetency in the course, so I think logic and reasonings pointed out that we can believe the problem is between the keyboard and the chair.

The very fact you can come into the public forum and publicly position your incompetency and claimed the problem is elsewhere is exactly why you can't do well in Computer Science. You basically don't qualify the prerequisite in exercising good judgement in logics.

When you go into an education having your objectives such as "easy life", "smoke your way thru", "get a normal degree", is what we called mismatched of expectation. In the Computer Science stream, we don't want easy life, what want challenging life. We don't want to smoke our way thru because what makes things work is we understand as much as possible of them. We definitely don't like a normal degree, the degree for respectable IT professionals is a pride we carry long after we graduated.

Have you finally realise it ? :)

fplolz

Hi DAVIIIIID :D

thanks for your advice the other time.. man , i have finally decided my course of studies.

to everyone.. do take note.. there's always two vocal sides to the story and the third unheard of side where there's apathy .

IAmZTX

Hi DAVIIIIID :D

thanks for your advice the other time.. man , i have finally decided my course of studies.

to everyone.. do take note.. there's always two vocal sides to the story and the third unheard of side where there's apathy .

what advice did he gave you? I'm at lost too.. my diploma seems to be a piece of toilet paper that doesn't show value.

Got a merit diploma but not getting offers.

davidktw

what advice did he gave you? I'm at lost too.. my diploma seems to be a piece of toilet paper that doesn't show value.

Got a merit diploma but not getting offers.

What's for him is for him. Lets start with yours now.

Your diploma is obviously a piece of toilet paper because you made it your identity. Seriously if you consider there are quite a number of other diploma with merits graduates, what so special about yours ?

Go read this article, http://gizmodo.com/5460442/leonardo...lains-why-hes-the-renaissance-man-for-the-job, and hopefully you will discover the dawn.

Students are so hard up on the piece of certification awarded by others and forgotten to carry themselves in the process. They only carry the resume to the interview and keep insisting the boss to look at the resume and wanted your future boss to evaluate on that piece of roughly standard looking among thousands of the others and decided if you are a good employee, someone who has potential to help the company and bring value to the company.

Is it not you that is the most important variable in the whole equation ? For once in your lifetime, you get the chance to sell your value to the company, but instead you hold up your certificate and shows what others think of you. You should be selling your advantage in the interview isn't it ?

Coming to offers, can I say, all those indicative remuneration articles and information out there is not what you should be getting. If you are good, you should be setting the standard, if you are lousy, you wouldn't fit into the standard either. Stop asking for high amount because it closes door. Stop thinking that one company is where you want to start and end. Start thinking how to place yourself in strategic position, doing things that will bring you far, learning things that will widen your knowledge.

That is my advise for you, it's for you to absorb it and work out your path.

MoxLotus

What's for him is for him. Lets start with yours now.

Your diploma is obviously a piece of toilet paper because you made it your identity. Seriously if you consider there are quite a number of other diploma with merits graduates, what so special about yours ?

Go read this article, http://gizmodo.com/5460442/leonardo...lains-why-hes-the-renaissance-man-for-the-job, and hopefully you will discover the dawn.

Students are so hard up on the piece of certification awarded by others and forgotten to carry themselves in the process. They only carry the resume to the interview and keep insisting the boss to look at the resume and wanted your future boss to evaluate on that piece of roughly standard looking among thousands of the others and decided if you are a good employee, someone who has potential to help the company and bring value to the company.

Is it not you that is the most important variable in the whole equation ? For once in your lifetime, you get the chance to sell your value to the company, but instead you hold up your certificate and shows what others think of you. You should be selling your advantage in the interview isn't it ?

Coming to offers, can I say, all those indicative remuneration articles and information out there is not what you should be getting. If you are good, you should be setting the standard, if you are lousy, you wouldn't fit into the standard either. Stop asking for high amount because it closes door. Stop thinking that one company is where you want to start and end. Start thinking how to place yourself in strategic position, doing things that will bring you far, learning things that will widen your knowledge.

That is my advise for you, it's for you to absorb it and work out your path.

Very wise words. Unfortunately, not many can understand the meaning in it. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.