Condo or HDB

Forever84

I pick condo if I were you. 31 years old is still young. Your EC will appreciate faster than HDB. Then you can further upgrade if you can, or downgrade to HDB in future. Once you move to HDB, you will be stuck in HDB as the appreciation cannot catch up with condo. Not to say staying in HDB is not good, it depends on your life ambition and your outlook towards life.
His wife is the problem. Her income too low to support and if she stuck at that kind of salary hard to see it progressing

celong27

Good evening all it's raining hope all have a good dinner soon fully paid hdb is the best feeling ever better than gcb with lots of mortage. 99 yes or freehold does not matter to me since no point live until 99 and can't live forever too.

Kia7200

If u loan 1.2mil
Monthly installments of 6k
Interest is more than 50%
Condo maintenance est $400

Later when u got kids, ur expenses will just keep going up. Life is crap for guys, don't make ur life so miserable

Lss

His wife is the problem. Her income too low to support and if she stuck at that kind of salary hard to see it progressing
Not right to place the blame on the wife. TS is just 31. And wife bore him 2 kids.

Lss

Good evening all it's raining hope all have a good dinner soon fully paid hdb is the best feeling ever better than gcb with lots of mortage. 99 yes or freehold does not matter to me since no point live until 99 and can't live forever too.
Actually it's like that lor only. My parents fully paid their HDB too.

RedSlayer

Another pov...
Condo. Anything happens, mortgage insurance kicks in. Your family sure no worries living on.
HDB. the payout not as good.

GoodEnergy

Personally if budget allows, I will go for the dual key EC...more privacy if privacy is what you want...next time after the elderly relatives pass away, you still can rent out the dual key unit..

duckknight1000

I pick condo if I were you. 31 years old is still young. Your EC will appreciate faster than HDB. Then you can further upgrade if you can, or downgrade to HDB in future. Once you move to HDB, you will be stuck in HDB as the appreciation cannot catch up with condo. Not to say staying in HDB is not good, it depends on your life ambition and your outlook towards life.
Yes a risk here.. maybe can try if my job is very stable.. HDB is gonna depreciate

SBC

Yes a risk here.. maybe can try if my job is very stable.. HDB is gonna depreciate
Should gun for resale condo. Does not matter of location. Even Woodlands will rise too. RTS is coming up in 2026.

PhantomOpera

Not right to place the blame on the wife. TS is just 31. And wife bore him 2 kids.
Yes, and despite that, she’s still working even though her pay is not high. She could be working part-time as many wives did that when kids are small.

duckknight1000

Yes, and despite that, she’s still working even though her pay is not high. She could be working part-time as many wives did that when kids are small.
Yes she sacrificed a lot.. income halved for kids.. able to ensure in laws for 5 years.. such wife hard to find in sg alr..

OngHuatHuat

Maybe he is concerned of other loans I have.. good thing is the only loan is hdb loan…
Got to make sure you pass TDSR before purchase, best is to get an IPA. You have to pay ABSD(can claim back) as well if you plan to contra. Please take note.

1.25 M bank loan monthly installment close to 7 k sgd, if you tio pok, it will be very difficult.

Forever84

I’m not blaming his wife. I’m just stating it as a matter of fact against the other person comment that he is young and can get a condo.

im just highlighting that the issue is his wife income, as it is imbalance and likely stagnant.

those are just facts, not attacking his wife or saying his wife isn’t good

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.