Votes: 21 7.2%
  • Neutral . I don’t go out during peaks hrs

Votes: 21 7.2%

• Total voters

SuperGreenHorn

Can by tracing with the help of cctvs..
Those caught gv them fine gao gao $10,000 fine min for admin n tracing work.

Just solve the root of the problem, make all of us who wants to cycle on the road install proper number plate!
Every other car have their own in-car camera, govt. song song got cctv footage without paying. Smart right?

The process of making all cyclists register + install number plate is also income opportunity for LTA. Smart right?

Dunno why they so lazy, still monitoring ....... kns, their celery so low meh? How come nobody is working?

Mystyque

Btw is night time, most likely mid night, no cars. So beating red light won't cause harm to any driver.

bro, I really hope you don't drive if you have this kind of mindset that no cars beating red light is OK because won't cause harm.
Pretty sure all those red light beaters thought the same way before they hit something they didn't see/expect.

Mystyque

The main objective is for social distancing. But since covid no more already, this rule is just an white elephant. It serves no purpose to limit 5 in a group on an empty road

Unless you are the new commander of Traffic Police, the objective is not what you claim.
The commander of TP, Senior Assistant Commissioner Daniel Tan, said: “This enforcement operation is part of TP’s ongoing efforts to clamp down on errant cyclists. Cycling rules are put in place to ensure the safety of all cyclists and road users.”

SuperGreenHorn

Btw is night time, most likely mid night, no cars. So beating red light won't cause harm to any driver.

What if ... one day, just nice meet a lorry driver who thinks the same way, midnight, no cars (and of cos no bike) beating the red light won't harm ... and then ... maybe we get to read on newspaper? :s13:

AuraKUPO

bro, I really hope you don't drive if you have this kind of mindset that no cars beating red light is OK because won't cause harm.
Pretty sure all those red light beaters thought the same way before they hit something they didn't see/expect.
Well it's normal to beat red light in Thailand, I do it everyday 555. Once the sun was so strong, I had to beat red light to move further into the shade before the next traffic light. Everyone does it. But yes not in Singapore.

leongws

Well it's normal to beat red light in Thailand, I do it everyday 555. Once the sun was so strong, I had to beat red light to move further into the shade before the next traffic light. Everyone does it. But yes not in Singapore.
In Rome, do what the Roman’s do. Since u already know this is sg, u still don’t follow local traffic rules and insisted on following your own rules?

Mystyque

Already mentioned example for cyclist up there but for car drivers, do you 100% flip the car signal when you turn for each and every turn, as you are required by law? Even when it's 4am in the weekday morning and you are 250% sure nobody is there? Or is it a ''signal for ghost to see?'' mentality? Do car drivers keep a certain distance as required by law according to their speed? Or do you see cars pretty close to back to back driving at 100 on the xpressway? Where they should be keeping AT LEAST a good 1.5 car length EACH? Do car drivers slow down during Zebras at unearthly hours as they should by the law? Or they just normally zoom by late in the night assuming no rando will cross?

Sometimes it's hard to keep to the rules when others are pressuring you to violate them. My wife think I bo liao flip signal when in MSCP, when no cars around or in lanes where it is turn only. I maintain safe 3 seconds following distance at speed limit, other drivers high beam me, tail gate, honk me :(

Mystyque

As you said, that is Thailand. If everybody behaves the same reckless way, then everybody knows what to expect, don't cry father cry mother when a car hits you.
But in SG, we pretty much expect people to adhere to the rules as far as possible.

dungeon_master

fullerton-road-bicycle-accident.gif

ezgif.com-gif-maker-3-3.gif

Soon...

needsomeadvice

Me too bro. I gave hand signal when filtering lane and also look back when there's a turn left.

But I met many times before, the driver come close to me and then speed off to the next lane. This kind is purposely want to do harm. Suspect some of them are in this forum also.
bbfas have very backwards and non gracious mentality, don't worry too much about them as most of them can't even afford cars 😂

lordofshanghai

wonder what the cyclist are thinking..
and i guess the rich poor divide is really ..
people like us, after work, barely any more energy. sleep already insufficient.
and at the other level, the executives executives can just go do such stuff...
life is indeed unfair

Akky85

Sometimes it's hard to keep to the rules when others are pressuring you to violate them. My wife think I bo liao flip signal when in MSCP, when no cars around or in lanes where it is turn only. I maintain safe 3 seconds following distance at speed limit, other drivers high beam me, tail gate, honk me :(
Just tell yourself mentally you are driving and not her lor. It's the best you can do lol

Mystyque

Agreed that both sides need to be more gracious and thinking about the other side more then themselves. This applies to all road users including those peds that cross roads etc.

While i can understand the need for car-lite suggestions that you have mentioned as these are also already echoed by many others and i agree with those in general, i do want to project a little further ahead here.

Let's assume these demands are met, cyclists now have to have their plates registered etc etc etc.

They are now, firmly able to be on the road. That would also means all the complains about them being slow to start and maint, prone to death by accidents and all those mitigating reasons would still exist. But that would also mean now drivers have no choice but to stay behind or overtake via another lane etc instead of complaining or risk flouting the rules themselves. Are the rest of the road users willing to accede to that? That now they are likely going to be more ''slower human motorbike'' congesting their road on the left and slowing down traffic etc etc?

It's food for thought i think.

If they are regulated and can be held liable/responsible for breaking the rules, then other road drivers have to accept them. There will be an initial period where we would still see friction but once enough cyclists get punished by law, the rest should wise up and start behaving more properly. Not like now, see cyclist hogging on the road sibei stress, anything happen sure I kenna regardless of who's right or wrong. If tap horn to alert him, he dulan come and bang my bonnet hit my car, I also cannot report him because no ID. If I just follow wolsly until the turn, car behind dulan honk me. Wait he overtake me never see the cyclist and swing in, GG to cyclist also :crazy:

Lchlch

Many low SES cyclists ( not the Tour de France type with atas gear ) don't even have basic lights on their bikes, much less signal in anyway :s13:
But they called themselves atas professional cyclists
Only problem is they nvr join the true tour de France.. don't know why..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.