• No! I am a cyclist … how dare u! *glass breaking *

Votes: 22 7.5%
  • Neutral . I don’t go out during peaks hrs

Votes: 21 7.1%

• Total voters

coldware

Very simple reason why they cannot take action against them.
Most of them are elitist themselves leh, who else can afford to buy 10-20k bicycle.

Anyway, road tax is for you to use your car on the road, not for you to use the road.
Anyone can use the road for its intent without paying road tax.

yuri2

These cyclists want more challenge. Some knows they cannot use expressway, so they use the more challenging routes, like highways and viaducts, which should also be banned, but not.
They only think about themselves, they don't care about the traffic jam they create.
Sg roads are too congested to allow these cyclists to takeover.

AuraKUPO

Just implement law that all road users need to have license and road insurance. No license, no insurance, cannot use road. If caught without license, jitao send to jail and rotan.

What's so hard about this? Ai or mai nia.

Under road traffic act, got laws against road hogging. Demerit points plus fine.
Got laws on vehicle road-worthiness, safety gear. If motorcycles need pass annual inspection for signal lights, headlights, tail lights, so should bicycles. Cannot pass, cannot go on road.

They want to cycle on road, can, no problem.

So long as they can keep up with the road speed, change lane and make turns safely. If they are unable to, then stay off the road.

Just use existing laws to pawn road hoggers 9696. No need reinvent the wheel.
I also propose no need points system for cars. Once caught for not slowing down at zebra crossing and no stop at stop line, instantly 2 weeks jail + 50k fine for drivers. Is ai or mai nia.

zachary123

Actually ppl (and especially cyclists) need to understand that this is a problem and it's not due to cycling per se.

Roads are part of our transport infrastructure and meant to help people get from point A to B as efficiently as possible.

Some form of leisure activity on the road, e.g. a odd cyclist and long distance runner decides to be on the road causes a little annoyance but mostly are fine.

The big big problem comes when ppl treat it as a social activity. This can be a convoy of cars, motorcycles and even marathon runners, and they will be equally annoying, disruptive to the flow of traffic.

Now the problem today is that cycling as a social activity has evolved. In the past we have leisure cyclists using the bicycle lanes at East coast park. Now ppl are into road cycling where they treat it as an endurance exercise, aim for high speed, long distance and they want to do it as a group. Since there isn't such a leisure infra available, they convienently hijacked the road infrastructure for their own pleasure and this is what really annoys the other road users.

Some say cyclists have a right to use the road. I will say yes. And so does motor vehicles.

But no party, whether it's runner, motorbikes, cars have the right to form a large group of convoy and use the road for their own leisure, pleasure and social activities. That is absolutely selfish and we are now seeing it in cyclists due to communities being formed.

Sorry but there is really no excuse here. If you are a cyclist who engage in such large group activity, do exercise some social responsibility and do it during off peaks where traffic is light and don't select roads where you will create inconvenience for others (e.g. travel along city centre cos u want a scenic route). It's really the least you can do as a reasonable human being knowing you are not entitled to be on the road for such leisure but your presence is just tolerated by other road users.

niefeng80

Not sure what time was the pic taken.

I think the worst ones are the ones that ride alone bus lane during bus lane hours.

they have the whole fugging lane to themselves.

yesman2978

I also propose no need points system for cars. Once caught for not slowing down at zebra crossing and no stop at stop line, instantly 2 weeks jail + 50k fine for drivers. Is ai or mai nia.
Sure, why not?

These traffic laws for motorists already exist liao. Is a matter of enforcement.

Got such laws for cyclists?

OnTheEdge

I'm a driver too. Every time I see bunch of cyclists, I just drove past them without any problem. All it takes is 5 sec to get pass them. Not sure why drivers in edmw cannot afford that 5 secs.
That only means your encountered the good ones.

Those that decide that they want to turn right, they either just turn right without checking and expecting cars to stop for them or the better ones raise their right hand, but again, not that much better as they take it once they raise their hand, you MUST give way to them. No checking no nothing, just go on their way and give you middle finger if you horn at them cos you need to e brake to avoid hitting them.

Not to mention those transformers, 1 min they are legitimate vehicles, than when traffic lights not in favour of them, they transform into pedestrian. Or when traffic lights not in favour of both (red light and red man), they decide that they own the road and can just proceed.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.