[CONSOLIDATED] Lchlch's office issues

coyote

My team lead planned meticulously on his daily expenses n the excess salary all transfer to Malaysia fd.

Keep showing covert to Malaysian dollar n each month fd interest mry$9k to $10k

Converting S$ to Ringgit every month is the stupidest thing to do. You are not the first one with such Malaysian colleagues or friends. All those who did the same before him regretted big time. Their better interest rate could not even cover their losses in the exchange rates over the years.

Imagine those who converted their S$ to Ringgit 10 years ago at S$1 to RM2.6? Imagine those who converted their S$ to Ringgit 20 years ago at S$1 to RM1.90? All these people saw their ringgit shrunk. Had they kept their money in S$, they would have been much much richer in Ringgit now even with the lesser interest in Singapore.

Tell your lead that. If you really want to spike him.

lifeafter41

Yeah...no issue but if keep on emphasizing can retire, going throw letter... 1 year plus, I am still waiting to see him throw.
This type talk only lah………
Moi got 1 colleague, talk one to throw letter and resign for the last 5 years………..

Still in the company tcss.
When he come over to tell me to tell the story about going to throw letter, moi zitao tell him your story already 5 years old liao……..

why haven’t throw yet.
He llst, just walk away.

This type no need give face one………….

RandomPancake

My team lead planned meticulously on his daily expenses n the excess salary all transfer to Malaysia fd.

Keep showing covert to Malaysian dollar n each month fd interest mry$9k to $10k

My thoughts.
Yes we plan ahead but how about unforeseen unprecedented financial issue arises?

Oh year, my lead told me he gonna buy new car n maybe drive grab or other jobs.

The catch is, he told me can retired with healthy interest of myr$9k to myr$10k monthly, but why still drive grab or other work in Malaysia?
Means your team lead got million worth of sgd dollar

106gunner

Yeah...no issue but if keep on emphasizing can retire, going throw letter... 1 year plus, I am still waiting to see him throw.

Many are Tua Kang, I have ex colleagues who keep saying resign

Usually these are the group who will not resign and stay on

Is those who keep quiet and never say much that tend to resign

chong18

Sometimes ppl are just sharing but colleagues think you are haolian..lol actually it's not easy to keep to himself esp when it's a colleague whom you see 8-10hours everyday and his personality is not those secretive type.. so think twice before sharing with others about your retirement plan because most of the time you won't find ppl who are genuinely happy for you. That's human nature unfortunately.

Laguna123

Ts teach him to keep SGD then invest in T-Bill, he earn SGD interest + ccy appreciation.

TA20222025

Just listen only...
The best thing is he told me he don't bother about increment since he going to throw letter n yet ask me how many percentage I get for my increment..

Just smile smile at him. No need to give him too much attention.

Spike

It is common for people to exaggerate the good, and downplay the bad.

Most importantly, is ownself take care of ownself.

You are not expecting anything from the team lead, so no need to take any nonsense too. I don't engage in gossips with colleagues at all. Just need to collect my pay punctually, and go home promptly. :o

NardinJohn

For me, how I retire...I will not show or talk to colleagues or friends how I handle my financial.

Why need to boost about own retirement?
True… I only answer call from my customer whom is kind those sour wan I just text a few reply msg….. I nvr tell them I fully retired but just taking 3-6 mths break them move … I even stop my wife from telling my friends I had quitted lolx …. Ppl thoughts run wild when they heard I stop working

weng0202

Some ppl just cannot stop working. I think it's good to have a part time job after you retire. Helps to keep the mind active and also get in touch with the real world. Or else very fast will uplorry or detached and don't know what is happening.

Yuripa

Initially my lead told me retired n enjoy life. I take it as really retire. .
But suddenly told me about take up simple no stress jobs..

Bro, exactly what I do...just troll him...n try dnt offend my lead.
Its good that he is planning for his retirement and actually working towards it.

Treat it as a sharing session also can.

If you're close to him maybe can ask him why he always share about his retirement plans and why he like to b!tch about throwing letter but never do so yet.

I mean, nothing wrong with asking him as long as he don't take it the wrong way lah.

rachdanon

How prevalent is WFH 1 or 2 days a week now in May 2025? Still majority of office based jobs practise?

Lchlch

You are right about unplanned issues. Ask him his hospitalization insurance is bought in Malaysia or Singapore. If he retires in Malaysia and insurance bought in Singapore, coverage should be ok? If he bought hospitalizations insurance in Malaysia and later decided to retire in Singapore, coverage will not be enough.

Anyway, best is be Singaporean and retires in Singapore with hdb, cpf, superb, comprehensive healthcare facilities and super medishield, integrated shield plan, medisave coverage that Malaysia system is not on par with.

If he's not your friend, just heck care.
Just a colleague, nothing more.
He see himself very up.
So no point giving advise.
I just keep quiet n let him praising himself.

Lchlch

Converting S$ to Ringgit every month is the stupidest thing to do. You are not the first one with such Malaysian colleagues or friends. All those who did the same before him regretted big time. Their better interest rate could not even cover their losses in the exchange rates over the years.

Imagine those who converted their S$ to Ringgit 10 years ago at S$1 to RM2.6? Imagine those who converted their S$ to Ringgit 20 years ago at S$1 to RM1.90? All these people saw their ringgit shrunk. Had they kept their money in S$, they would have been much much richer in Ringgit now even with the lesser interest in Singapore.

Tell your lead that. If you really want to spike him.
His ego very high.
Only listen to himself.

Lchlch

This type talk only lah………
Moi got 1 colleague, talk one to throw letter and resign for the last 5 years………..

Still in the company tcss.
When he come over to tell me to tell the story about going to throw letter, moi zitao tell him your story already 5 years old liao……..

why haven’t throw yet.
He llst, just walk away.

This type no need give face one………….
If he's not my lead, I will definitely say the same thing to him too.

Lchlch

Many are Tua Kang, I have ex colleagues who keep saying resign

Usually these are the group who will not resign and stay on

Is those who keep quiet and never say much that tend to resign
The worst is using throw letter as a way to threaten the colleagues ..that's worst.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.