Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

yperic

WP did not take Noor Deros seriously: Pritam Singh

WP chief Pritam Singh said the party did not take Noor Deros seriously, pushing back on suggestions that the WP was slow to respond to posts by the self-styled religious teacher.

Responding to a question from a reporter about the length of time that WP took to respond to Mr Noor’s post, Mr Singh said: “We didn’t take him seriously.”

“If somebody really comes along and says, ‘I’ve got the WP MPs on my side and I’m going to run my ideas through them’, anybody can say that. The question is, will Workers’ Party MPs do it? We will not. We will exercise our voice in Parliament on behalf of all Singaporeans in a multiracial context, in a secular context,” Mr Singh said to reporters during a walkabout in Jalan Kayu SMC.

When asked a separate question about whether reporters can expect a reaction from WP, as well as MP Faisal Manap, about the same issue, Mr Singh said: “I can speak for the Workers’ Party. If you try to put forward your views in that way, and then use us as a stalking horse for your point of view, you are going to see the Workers’ Party take 10 steps back and say, ‘You’re on your own’.”

yperic

WP’s Andre Low: Still many unanswered questions on NTUC Income-Allianz

d88680.jpg

The WP's Jalan Kayu SMC candidate Andre Low was asked about the NTUC Income-Allianz issue on Sunday, after online posts circulated about the role labour chief Ng Chee Meng - Mr Low's opponent in the constituency - had in the deal.

Mr Low said: “I don't want to get too specifically into the NTUC Income- Allianz issue, because to me, it is just representative of a broader issue with the way governance is done in Singapore today. It is just one of many missteps our previous administration has had over the past parliamentary term...

“But all I would say is, there's still many unanswered questions, and I think Singaporeans at large, not just Jalan Kayu residents, deserve some answers.”

ST PHOTO: KEVIN LIM

yperic

Vote more opposition parties besides WP into Parliament: PPP

People’s Power Party (PPP) secretary-general Goh Meng Seng said today that he hopes Singaporeans will vote more opposition parties, besides the WP, into Parliament.

In particular, Mr Goh said he hopes PSP and the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) will be voted in, adding that the diversity would result in robust debate in the House.

Referring to PSP’s Leong Mun Wai and SDP’s Dr Chee Soon Juan and Professor Paul Tambyah, Mr Goh said: “They are all my good friends... They are people of conviction, although we share different views and policy ideals and values.”

READ MORE: GE2025: PPP calls on S’poreans to vote other opposition parties into Parliament, not just WP

yperic

This was after WP leader Pritam Singh urged voters of the newly-created Tampines Changkat and Jalan Kayu SMCs to vote for WP candidates, instead of their PAP opponents who hold top positions within NTUC. #GE2025

Things are COOKING. Follow #MothershipGE2025 for our election coverage.

yperic

"If the Prime Minister is saying that he needs more than two-thirds of parliament to be full of PAP MPs, then I think we have a serious problem in terms of how robust PAP processes are and how robust our political system is," said Workers' Party chief Pritam Singh on Sunday (Apr 27).

Mr Singh was asked about Prime Minister Lawrence Wong's rally speech on Saturday. Mr Wong said that voting in more opposition candidates into parliament could mean losing potential office-holders and weakening the PAP government.

#GE2025 #sgnews #singapore

hammerstrike

This was after WP leader Pritam Singh urged voters of the newly-created Tampines Changkat and Jalan Kayu SMCs to vote for WP candidates, instead of their PAP opponents who hold top positions within NTUC. #GE2025

Things are COOKING. Follow #MothershipGE2025 for our election coverage.

This is really funny. Pritam really living rent free in his head. He raged for 10 whole minutes today about what Pritam said yesterday

yperic

Secretary-general of the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) Chee Soon Juan opened the party's rally in Sembawang on Sunday (Apr 27) with an apology for SDP candidate Gigene Wong's use of a racial slur in speaking about fellow GE2025 candidate Ariffin Sha.

"On behalf of all the members of the Singapore Democratic Party, I want to make a heartfelt apology to every Singaporean, especially our friends and our Indian community. There are no ifs, no ands, no buts," said Dr Chee.

He added that he issued a stern warning to her and expressed in no uncertain terms that the SDP does not tolerate such behaviour.

#GE2025

Watch the party's apology in full.

ceres2357

Singapore elections — what a show. Ever notice how you never really see any new citizens at either PAP or opposition rallies? Of course not. They’re too busy being blissfully apathetic. Grateful to the PAP for rescuing them from whatever flaming mess they crawled out of, but make no mistake — if Singapore ever falters, they’ll be on the first flight out, waving goodbye with their shiny new passports. Their vote? Already locked in. They're not sitting there weighing PAP against Workers' Party like the rest of us poor locals. No, they’re comparing it to whatever disaster they left behind, so naturally PAP looks like the Second Coming.
Meanwhile, you and me — born and bred here — we get the real privilege: stuck for life, watching this circus, no escape hatch, just figuring out how to live with it. Cheers to us, the real MVPs.

ceres2357

Election season again. You’d think it’s a grand festival of democracy — but look closely and you’ll notice: not a new citizen in sight at the rallies. Why bother, right? They’ve already won the jackpot. Saved from the ruins they called home, gifted a passport that opens doors their old one never could — what’s left to debate? PAP, Workers’ Party, Progress Singapore Party — all irrelevant noise. For them, voting here isn’t about choosing the best leader for Singapore’s future. It’s a simple zero sum question: Option A: Functioning country. Option B: Collapse and corruption. They tick Option A with a smile and get back to their business. Civic duty? National soul-searching? Please. They’re here for the upgrade, not the existential crisis. Meanwhile, the real locals — us — we sit through this whole show like the fools we usually are. No second passport, no escape clause. When things get rough, we don’t "relocate" — we buckle down, we fight, we fix, because we don’t have the luxury to romanticize a Plan B. We’re the unpaid extras in someone else’s success story, clapping along as the credits roll, wondering quietly when we became strangers in our own damn country.

tanbrave

See, many sinkies like to complain and kpkb about our govt, about how life is getting more and more difficult but then they so timid and kiasi and scared/say opposition will make our country become a slum etc.. and then vote for pap in the end

Is like a wife with an abusive husband and always complain and kpkb that her husband keep physically assaulting and abusing her but in the end still stay together with him and worse, let him piak piak becos she says other man even worse

Now u know why I so disappointed and disgruntled with sinkies until I want PAP to win 100% seats and see timid sinkies kana tortured and suffer and then complain and kpkb even more...
Russia,Iran, North Korea, chyna has 100% seat of the garment of the day.Are they happy,and to fight in Ukraine? Have they the right 👍 of citizens to reject wars and losing their life? If you want your country to 100% of one party,is that democracy or dictatorship? Then the fun begins, when unjust laws are passed.Who is to stop them,or give high pay ? The rich can be richer,and the poor, stay poor, due to lack of resources and opportunities. USA has democrats and Republican.Britain have Labour and Conservative.Are we heading the correct way by having no opposition? Power corrupt, absolute power corrupt absolutely.Like Putin.Like Trump.Voting will prevent them from being 100% in control and doing rubbish.So vote Wisely,or you have to pay in future,one way or another.Parliement give you the right, don't lose it.Dont let it be taken away,sway by factor,so obviously unhealthy.Vote Wisely Party . What will they think if one party has 100 % seat.Daft voters, got hard sell.

Vincentlow82

yes. population ponzi, started from 2000.

everywhere since, shrinkflation, crowded, rojak of culture. pap track record, their legacy. :o

when hdb mindset to charge you for aircon ledge, you know pap is out to fleece our COL.
You should see the narrow corridor they build where two people can't cross each other shoulder to shoulder.

tanbrave

and after that complain and kpkb about high cost of living and why car so expensive, cannot afford and why mrt so crowded why so many foreigners etc for the next 4+ years
Chicken wing won't last for 4 yrs.Plus the above you mentioned.Daft are daft,easier to work on them,like the horse. Make them work ,as in Animal Farm.Then to the glue factory,when they are no use. Bluff them it's a retirement farm.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.