Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

havetheveryfun

What is a good team though?

WP don't have that many candidates to begin with. They actually reduced the number of contested seats in 2020 compared to 2015.

To think Raeesah Khan was one of those chosen to stand for election still bothers me to this day.
The issue with Raeesah Khan is that Opposition parties are forced to find minority candidates to field in GRC. And that is not easy at all.

havetheveryfun

Do people feel proud by serving the military?
20 years ago I would say yes.

During my NS time close to 20-30 years ago, not so much foreigners. So in NS they psycho you say you are defending your families blah blah blah and we do feel it. When they ask to sing the national anthem loudly a lot of people did.

But nowadays with so much foreigners around, you don't feel like you are defending your families anymore.

StoicGuy

If election is going to happen in may then the announcement should be very soon now.

If no sound no colour then likely to be in June.

RuoQin

Adding my footprints in the thread~

It should be a landslide victory for PayandPay given the conditions of opposition parties~ :s39:

Carnage

oh fk off with this stupid strawman argument with Ukraine or wherever a war is taking place. Such a brain dead uneducated encik take.

What if you were 16 - 18 and your father made you stand guard outside the house at night because he saw a few news articles of housebreakings?
While your sister gets to do her homework and do part time jobs to earn extra income, you have to waste your time guarding against an imaginary thief like a condo guard. And to rub salt to the wound, he invites over a bunch of cousins to stay with you for free, and promised you would guard them with your life.

Taiwan is having confrontation and is technically at war with China, yet only has 6 months of service. So I call bullsh*t that we need 2 years of NS and ten years of reservist.
Taiwan-China is not as good an example as the Korean War, technically both sides of the Korean peninsula are still at war.

As I said, how the terms of NS be done is debatable. I'm not arguing against how NS is being conducted, long ago when I still had to serve NS I already found the 10 cycles too long especially when units commandos and NDU served only 5 cycles.

However, to say we don't need NS is outrageous. Notice that Chee Soon Juan is no longer parroting this? He probably knows that what he said was wrong too. But it gained alot of attention especially amongst male voters at that point in time.

It's not a strawman's argument if you don't see it in absolute terms.

To use your example, 16 year old me probably would resent the task, not yet mature and far sighted enough.

But 30 year old me would do so, especially with family involved. So what if foreigners benefit at the same time? What's more important to me is that my family benefits from my actions.

Let's not confuse the argument of foreigners snatching our jobs just with the responsibility of national defense. If Singapore was overtaken by foreign forces, there won't be much of Singapore left. What jobs do you want to defend then?

Damienic

Which begs the question, how does anyone know which ward voted more in favour for a certain party? What happened to your vote is secret?
Voting and vote counting is carry out by precincts. So when the results is out, it is like precint xxx how much goes to PAP and how much goes to opp. Then the total of every precinct is added up to derive at final outcome. So which precinct higher or lower support for PAP is therefore known

Carnage

I am talking about reducing NS spending. Not that we shouldn't be buying the newest fighter planes, but the general staff and MISC spending. It's horrendously wasted.
So let's agree here that you also think NS is necessary, however how much we spend on national defense is debatable? That I would agree.

Ong Ye Kung himself said that Singapore spends 3-4% of our GDP on defense, historically that has always been our biggest expenditure.

I don't think the percentage is the issue, I think we can afford to spend lesser on defense to use that excess budget on healthcare and education. Then maybe we could have avoided 2 consecutive GST hikes.

boredom2012

During my time serving NS is a privilege. Why privilege? So that I am allowed to buy bto at a affordable price compared to my pay. But now it is getting difficult for youngsters as they have to pay 30 years loan. And by that time they might not even have money for retirement. Now ns become a liability. Why? Because foreigners have advantage of not serving NS and can start working at a younger age while comparing to local peers. So you ask me to scrape NS? Yes. Unless government give better benefits to those who serve ns.

alvincy

The way i look at it Hazel Poa is not someone going to lead a party and face the camera. She is very good in a supporting role if you watch/read all her interviews.

She took over the SG is due to LMW's Pofma, showing voters there is accountability and responsibility in PSP.

jl9252

oh fk off with this stupid strawman argument with Ukraine or wherever a war is taking place. Such a brain dead uneducated encik take.

What if you were 16 - 18 and your father made you stand guard outside the house at night because he saw a few news articles of housebreakings?
While your sister gets to do her homework and do part time jobs to earn extra income, you have to waste your time guarding against an imaginary thief like a condo guard. And to rub salt to the wound, he invites over a bunch of cousins to stay with you for free, and promised you would guard them with your life.

Taiwan is having confrontation and is technically at war with China, yet only has 6 months of service. So I call bullsh*t that we need 2 years of NS and ten years of reservist.
Taiwan is going back to 1 year of service. To be frank, 1 year or 2 years, their capabilities can't match up with the mainland.

But given our size, we have to ask ourselves whether is it worth scaling down the period of service with consideration of technological advancement and low birth rate?

Coffeelix

Voting and vote counting is carry out by precincts. So when the results is out, it is like precint xxx how much goes to PAP and how much goes to opp. Then the total of every precinct is added up to derive at final outcome. So which precinct higher or lower support for PAP is therefore known
In my ward, sg from HDB, condo and landed go to different blocks to cast their V…
It is so ez for them to know …

Coffeelix

So let's agree here that you also think NS is necessary, however how much we spend on national defense is debatable? That I would agree.

Ong Ye Kung himself said that Singapore spends 3-4% of our GDP on defense, historically that has always been our biggest expenditure.

I don't think the percentage is the issue, I think we can afford to spend lesser on defense to use that excess budget on healthcare and education. Then maybe we could have avoided 2 consecutive GST hikes.
If only they will acknowledge the disaster harmed caused by our heritage hawker food.
sg is taking it seriously to replace as full meals their entire life and lead to diabetics heart disease, kidney failures and cancers etc.
We don’t need to spend so much in healthcare to build more kidney dialysis Centres, cancer Centres polyclincs nor hospitals …
Their silence is killing sg who isn’t aware of the root cause to all their illnesses .
Building lifts for every floor, building escalators everywhere is leading to more sedentary lifestyle n causes their health deteriorating

parchiao

I disagree.

NS is necessary, because without NS there would be no defense and defense is the one commodity that Singapore can't outsource. Just look at what happened to Ukraine.

The execution of how NS is being conducted can be debated, but Singapore cannot afford to have it completely removed.

That for me, is why Chee Soon Juan doesn't deserve my vote. He was portrayed as an opportunist and his populist slant seems to affirm this.

When CSJ stated talking about NS, how long did Sinkies have to serve? How long do Sinkies have to serve NS now?

I believe he spoke out on a few issues of NS. Do you recall what they were or do you only recall one issue?

dominion23

Taiwan-China is not as good an example as the Korean War, technically both sides of the Korean peninsula are still at war.

As I said, how the terms of NS be done is debatable. I'm not arguing against how NS is being conducted, long ago when I still had to serve NS I already found the 10 cycles too long especially when units commandos and NDU served only 5 cycles.

However, to say we don't need NS is outrageous. Notice that Chee Soon Juan is no longer parroting this? He probably knows that what he said was wrong too. But it gained alot of attention especially amongst male voters at that point in time.

It's not a strawman's argument if you don't see it in absolute terms.

To use your example, 16 year old me probably would resent the task, not yet mature and far sighted enough.

But 30 year old me would do so, especially with family involved. So what if foreigners benefit at the same time? What's more important to me is that my family benefits from my actions.

Let's not confuse the argument of foreigners snatching our jobs just with the responsibility of national defense. If Singapore was overtaken by foreign forces, there won't be much of Singapore left. What jobs do you want to defend then?

Taiwan is not a good example of a territory that is facing a bigger military threat than us? But somehow Russia-Ukraine is a similar situation for us to compare ourselves to? How brainwashed are you, or are you a current/former regular?

Please, enlighten me how I am wrong to say that Taiwan is facing a bigger military threat than us. Tell me which nuclear power is actively threatening us.

Then, please enlighten me again on how we are in a situation similar to Ukraine. Which nuclear power has annexed part of our territory previously and is amassing troops at our border.

I don’t give a sh*t about CSJ. I’m merely addressing your brain dead takes on geopolitics when it’s clear you have no understanding of international relations or politics at all.

hammerhammer

Yep, very fair assessment.

And PAP SMC candidates are seriously impressive, mainly because all of them do alot of groundwork. In SMC people are more concerned with bread and butter daily stuffs on the ground over whether the candidate will speak about national issues in parliament not. If you realised, most of the candidates PAP send to SMC are very affable to old ppl like TPL, SXL, Amy, Gan Siow Huang, Grace Fu etc. Almost impossible to win. Even LTK go there 1v1 also hard.
No leh. My YCK SMC chicken head MP look fake to me. Always wears the yellowish PAP polo tee to act humble. Last GE PSP just put a no body also can get 39% that shows his popularity here.

krikering

Actually TCB is already preparing for succession in the party. he is more or less taking a less hands on role in the party.
But Something tells me that with Hazel Poa opting not to challenge LMW for the sec gen post recently suggest that maybe something Is happening internally. You won’t be Sec Gen for one term and then suddenly not want to contest for the leadership post in the party.
Common actually, all parties confirm will have to some degree. For ruling party, see what happens after LHL's health deteriorate like his father back then. I highly doubt all will be so united behind his son also.

Tan Chen Chen got 39% against SXL

That shows Punggol demographic isn't so safe for PAP. If an unknown WP candidate can get nearly 40% against a well-known MP, it means Punggol GRC will be close if WP sends a good team.

Not surprised Punggol alot of young people. Lots of BTOs estates around the area, this kind of district typically not so pro-PAP one.

Eureka75

Yes, usually those seats carved out as SMCs are PAP strongholds or places with popular PAP incumbents.

The most winnable SMC this time is Jalan Kayu and it looks like a multi-cornered fight will help Bro Ng return to parliament.
SMC might be more difficult for opposition to win because PAP usually put minister or MP with strong grassloot connections there

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.