• Widening income gap

Votes: 263 30.7%
  • Unemployment/Lack of opportunities for citizens

Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

havetheveryfun

If there's a lot of anger on the ground, there might be more supporters for opposition...
Stay tune to this during rallies, I rememebered in 2011 almost every rally I went of different opposition parties, there's lots of cheers and roars for them...
Let see if it's the same this time around...
2015 the opposition rally turnout was almost as good as 2011, but the votes that election reflected differently

algerr

22.jpg

kopiOkid

they already tell u help u by giving u vouchers to alleviate the pressure
Vouchers aren't enough or sustainable. You don't only need to eat. You need to pay bills, pay for services etc. GST hikes spurred the price hikes in every aspect and impact us multiple folds.

Only fools won't realise we're badly impacted.

lowveld

GE2025: PAP new face Kawal Pal Singh rules himself out of running for election​

Lawyer Kawal Pal Singh was spotted in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC with Transport Minister Chee Hong Tat on April 13.

Lawyer Kawal Pal Singh was spotted in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC with Transport Minister Chee Hong Tat on April 13.ST PHOTO: HESTER TAN

SINGAPORE - Lawyer Kawal Pal Singh has ruled himself out of running in the upcoming general election, two days after he was spotted in Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC with Transport Minister Chee Hong Tat.

In a Facebook post on April 15, the 41-year-old said that as a long-time PAP member, his visit to Toa Payoh on April 13 had sparked speculation about his potential candidacy in the upcoming general election. He added that he received many messages of support and encouragement after.

“As for the speculation surrounding my involvement in the coming GE, I am here to share that after discussing with my family and my uncle (former PAP MP) Inderjit Singh, I will not be involved in the GE as a candidate,” he said.

“At this stage of my life, I want to focus on balancing my professional commitments with time for my young family. I will continue to support the PAP in other meaningful ways and remain committed to serving both the Sikh and wider Indian communities.”

Mr Singh, who is managing partner at law firm Tito Isaac & Co, was previously a PAP volunteer in Sengkang.

The Straits Times has contacted Mr Singh for comment.

On April 13, he was spotted speaking to residents alongside Mr Chee and executive director of charity CampusImpact Elysa Chen at Toa Payoh West Market and Food Centre.

Asked if the pair would be running in the 2025 General Election in Bishan-Toa Payoh, Mr Chee said this would be confirmed during Nomination Day.

Ms Chen was on April 15 announced as a PAP candidate in a video posted on Facebook by Prime Minister Lawrence Wong.

In his post, Mr Singh extended his support and best wishes to the PAP candidates standing in the May 3 election.

What a waste of time.

Ethan_

they already tell u help u by giving u vouchers to alleviate the pressure
Think key word is alleviate, not solve. Think anyone with a decent commonsense will know its a stopgap measure. The problem still there. Just kicking the can further down the road. Hoping people will forget about it later.

soulblader_89

I feel General election is big waste of personal time and resource
maybe I am old already mindset change or what

I feel that, too much time and resources is dumping into this "event", every voter have to read through so many detail and data every 5 year....yet the PAP always win

Now I am more concern abt stock market or how can I do well in my workplace, when I can go JB etc etc I am kinda give up on those elections news, in fact I hope the voting process can be done online

end of the day, I still have to go work, no time wasting time on a event that I have no impact on.

after voting for 5 times, I feel every election is a big wayang

- PAP just say how good they are, why it is scary to change the regime
- opposition just say how good they are, how they gonna change

- People will kp the govt
- end up still vote for the same govt
- people queue 3 hour to vote, end up nothing have changed

Countries still run by the same few clown, then people start kpkb on forum

rinse and repeat...it is a waste of time for me to engage in any conversation with any sinkie abt election those days

Medicated Oil

Maybe tio kan by the uncle 😂. But the uncle really a popular guy with the residents. Been to his MPS before. He's one of the whites that I dun dislike.
I think it is a funny case where some one used his uncle as a excuse for withdrawal.
I watched the interview youtube of his uncle.
He is a good man.

yesman2978

Deputy Prime Minister Heng Swee Keat shares a lesson he learn on policy execution from his early days in the Singapore Police Force.

It was one particular day where he had a "humbling experience" when he did in his words, "such a bad job" directing traffic that he learnt something important.

"Serving our citizens starts with the frontline officer ... Whatever our grand plans, execution happens at the frontline, at the interface with our citizens," he said in a speech at the annual Administrative Service dinner on Tuesday (Apr 15).

Did such a bad job, can still promote

Farmers do bad job, confirm hentak kaki

Shows a lot about 'meritocracy'

Airplane88

On Polling Day, several former PAP ministers, including Goh Chok Tong, Tony Tan and Lee Hsien Loong were within the precinct of polling stations in Cheng San GRC, although they were not themselves candidates in the constituency. The Workers Party believed that this violated the Parliamentary Elections Act, as unauthorised personnel are prohibited from polling stations by election law to prevent undue influence and harassment on voters and staff.

WP lost in Cheng San GRC, obtaining 44,132 votes, which was 45.2% of the valid votes in the constituency of approximately 98,000 voters. Cheng San GRC ceased to exist in the next election and thus was redrawn into several neighbouring constituencies.
True. TLH absconded to Australia after this due to ‘Miss Sue’.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.