Votes: 393 45.9%

• Total voters

Eureka75

NEH sibei jialat

He same age as GKY

But he looks at least a decade older than GKY
Gan Boh Yong don't look power hungry, like those jiak zhua people who clock in and clock out exactly on time one, that's why he aged well

evildoer

Do you think PM LW regret rising GST so soon.
That surplus really show not that necessary now.. i meant if he raise after this election.. will not give opposition so much bullet

JustForFun

They decay the whole country and citizen life from LHL era onwards ??

Enough is enough, and although highly educated cannot perform and importantly lousy result or making citizen worse than foreigners, poorer and prideless ? Only "fixing" fellow Singaporean ??

samich

Will vote for WP. Why because this year I encountered a very ridiculous case whereby a CeCa have the audacity to scold a local lady and her kid over something very trivial.

It's not about how it's happened but how dare ceca act like they are the master in our homeland where we served ns to protect this type of trash.

havetheveryfun

Do you think PM LW regret rising GST so soon.
That surplus really show not that necessary now.. i meant if he raise after this election.. will not give opposition so much bullet
i think they partly expected 2025 wont be able to win much also. so they rather raise it earlier than later. cos if after 2025 raise also the same one, ppl get angry then 2030 the same thing happen. so they rather it happen earlier than later.

the best is dont raise gst yet cos ppl cant see any reason to do so .

havetheveryfun

Will vote for WP. Why because this year I encountered a very ridiculous case whereby a CeCa have the audacity to scold a local lady and her kid over something very trivial.

It's not about how it's happened but how dare ceca act like they are the master in our homeland where we served ns to protect this type of trash.
nowadays i take MRT often hear a lot of people who don't look like tourists talking in some weird language or dialects.

evildoer

i think they partly expected 2025 wont be able to win much also. so they rather raise it earlier than later. cos if after 2025 raise also the same one, ppl get angry then 2030 the same thing happen. so they rather it happen earlier than later.

the best is dont raise gst yet cos ppl cant see any reason to do so .
no ler.. maybe 4 years later in 2030 .. people used to the GST already.. Singaporean super forgetful.. by then IF the trade war and all wars settled.. maybe people wont grumble too much

havetheveryfun

no ler.. maybe 4 years later in 2030 .. people used to the GST already.. Singaporean super forgetful.. by then IF the trade war and all wars settled.. maybe people wont grumble too much
what i meant was instead of them raising in 2023-2024, they wait until 2025 elections. then after that then raise.

but, it wont make any difference at all, because it is an unpopular policy. the issue is their reasons are not convincing enough thats why people cant get on board with it. They have implemented unpopular policies in the past but those at least people can still accept.

samich

Compared to the 90s and early 00s, I feel we are now nothing but just digital numbers to make up for economic growth.

Esp when some whities talk about things that totally out of touch with the ground.

Old people collect paper boards for exercise
I am professional so it's very common to own two cars
Infrastructure not ready for 6 over millions.
Book medical appt need wait months... Hospital no bed....
All shi its

juergenlam

4. Ministries Operating in Silos: A Failure of Leadership

One of the most glaring weaknesses in the current PAP government is the lack of effective communication and collaboration between ministries. Ministers are not just administrators; they are supposed to be leaders who bridge gaps between civil servants, align policies across departments, and ensure the machinery of government works cohesively. Instead, what we see today are ministries operating in silos, with little incentive to coordinate.

The responsibility for this lies with ministers who either lack the will or the skill to foster collaboration. A minister’s role is not just to manage their own portfolio but to actively engage with counterparts to resolve overlaps and conflicts. If the PAP cannot ensure its ministers rise to this challenge, it raises questions about their fitness to lead a complex, modern Singapore.

5. The Green Plan 2030: Noble Goals, Questionable Pragmatism

Singapore’s Green Plan 2030 sets ambitious targets to achieve net-zero emissions by 2050, aligning with global climate agreements. While environmental stewardship is vital, the PAP’s approach risks imposing disproportionate financial burdens on households and businesses while offering negligible global impact.

Costs Passed to Consumers
The Green Plan’s initiatives—from expanding solar infrastructure to phasing out internal combustion engines—require massive public and private investment. These costs will inevitably trickle down to consumers through higher utility bills, COE premiums, and increased prices for goods and services. For example, the push for green energy imports (like undersea cables from ASEAN nations) or hydrogen adoption could raise electricity tariffs by 20–30% over the next decade, disproportionately affecting all households.

While the PAP frames this as a “shared sacrifice,” it has not provided transparent cost-benefit analyses to justify the scale of spending. Why should Singaporeans bear such steep costs when the nation contributes just 0.1% of global emissions?

The Nuclear Red Herring
Worse, the Green Plan’s targets may force Singapore to prematurely adopt risky technologies like nuclear energy. Despite the government’s cautious stance, its a dangerous gamble for a densely populated city-state with no hinterland for error. A single incident could devastate Singapore’s reputation and security.

Rather than blindly following global trends, Singapore should prioritize practical, scalable solutions tailored to its unique constraints. For instance:
  • Focusing on climate adaptation (e.g., coastal protection) rather than symbolic net-zero pledges.
  • Incentivizing industrial efficiency over sweeping mandates that strain SMEs.
The PAP’s rigid adherence to performative climate goals—without addressing affordability or feasibility—reflects a pattern of top-down policymaking that prioritizes international accolades over household realities.
5. Singapore green plan 2030 is adopted during the hype of sustianability during the paris agreement and subsequently COP28. Not sure how they aim to achieve it but its a long way for fufilment. However, can see the same silo culture amongst agencies simialr to other issues. however, these issues pale in comparison to the other issues mentioned earlier. That is how much issues need fixing.

havetheveryfun

Compared to the 90s and early 00s, I feel we are now nothing but just digital numbers to make up for economic growth.

Esp when some whities talk about things that totally out of touch with the ground.

Old people collect paper boards for exercise
I am professional so it's very common to own two cars
Infrastructure not ready for 6 over millions.
Book medical appt need wait months... Hospital no bed....
All shi its
you only need a small space to have sex

“Is there a way for us to share a bit more with the food cost? I always think that if you’re prepared to pay S$18 [or] S$20 for a pasta, why are you not prepared to pay S$5 for a wanton mee?

"How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant?"

"SINGAPOREANS could consider living in nursing homes in neighbouring Johor Baru, Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan suggested . "

samich

you only need a small space to have sex

“Is there a way for us to share a bit more with the food cost? I always think that if you’re prepared to pay S$18 [or] S$20 for a pasta, why are you not prepared to pay S$5 for a wanton mee?

"How much do you want? Do you want three meals in a hawker centre, food court or restaurant?"

"SINGAPOREANS could consider living in nursing homes in neighbouring Johor Baru, Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan suggested . "

This Penang dog 8 dollars heart ops...

kimsix

online he was given nick name gan boh yong during covid taskforce.

if not for Oyk push his meh meh pak initiatives, you think sinkapore can open up faster?

evildoer

actually why we need so many billionair here ? they drive up property price.. Ma Yun wife try to purchas a block of shop houses at record breaking prize.. ohh.h.....yeah

but they drive up income inequality.. most of them just their citizenship but continue invest outside the country.. we don't tax on money earn outside of Singapore right ?

i always heard Singapore is tax haven.. but there's sure so leeway we can impost more tax on the wealthy than to raise GST right ? why PAP keep siding the wealthy ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.