Consolidation phase

drkcynic

Planning to dispose everything by around 2030, wait out 15 months, get a resale HDB, wait out MOP, get a nice FH condo in one of Holland V, East Coast or Bukit Timah, rent out HDB, and call it a day.

What could go wrong? Lots of opp cost? @Zanahoria

Zanahoria

Planning to dispose everything by around 2030, wait out 15 months, get a resale HDB, wait out MOP, get a nice FH condo in one of Holland V, East Coast or Bukit Timah, rent out HDB, and call it a day.

The only thing that can go wrong is it may be hard to keep up with the price in 2030 because you are getting delayed by the hdb mop route. When getting a resale hdb, it would mean property endgame for most of us when reach 55 and planning for retirement. But for your case, it doesn't seems to be one.
If you are still in your early 40s, I would go straight in upsizing or get a good FH (max out your property portfolio) and call it a day if you wish to reconsolidate at 55.
My Fren at my age still thinking of submitting cheque for a 4b in parktown while currently staying in a 4b private. Lol

googoogaga

You are assuming gov won't plug the loophole of spouse being occupier for the resale HDB.

Rxgn

Dont go for hdb, leave the chance to the rest.

Get a nice fh condo now or whenever it is possible, dont wait until 2030

Get a new or resale condo, rent it out

drkcynic

You are assuming gov won't plug the loophole of spouse being occupier for the resale HDB.
At the point of buying the resale HDB if the occupier route is available then it should be good. So far the G have not retroactively plug in regulations changes. Anyway, only can plan with what I know, and not what is being speculated. Things might change but we can change too.

drkcynic

Dont go for hdb, leave the chance to the rest.

Get a nice fh condo now or whenever it is possible, dont wait until 2030

Get a new or resale condo, rent it out
The ROI for renting out condos is no longer there, especially buying new ones. I will prefer not to go into rental game with condos. IMO at least.

I see ex-PRCs and other former aliens renting out HDBs enjoying rental income. I am born and bred here, it's all fair game. :spin:

elvintay07

The ROI for renting out condos is no longer there, especially buying new ones. I will prefer not go into rental game with condos. IMO at least.

I see ex-PRCs and other former aliens renting out HDBs enjoying rental income. I am born and bred here, it's all fair game. :spin:
To me, condo is about capital appreciation. My tow kay friend had 6 properties. He said paying ABSD and simi SD also no problem. His freehold landed all can pass down generations. So whatever duties doesn’t matter anymore. It is a place for him to store wealth. He knows because last time he bought all the STI tualiap stocks and China S shares all pawn him big time. This time he also screwed by China mainland stocks, Sea limited etc. he said he should just pay stamp duties and hoot more properties.

drkcynic

The only thing that can go wrong is it may be hard to keep up with the price in 2030 because you are getting delayed by the hdb mop route. When getting a resale hdb, it would mean property endgame for most of us when reach 55 and planning for retirement. But for your case, it doesn't seems to be one.
If you are still in your early 40s, I would go straight in upsizing or get a good FH (max out your property portfolio) and call it a day if you wish to reconsolidate at 55.
My Fren at my age still thinking of submitting cheque for a 4b in parktown while currently staying in a 4b private. Lol
I don't wish to take on more debt at 55. I give my kids the best education to the best of my abilities up to them becoming an adult, then it's their own problem liao. We have enough to live and not burden them then it's job done. I don't need more money. My timeline is about there, 55 should be the end game. At least I can still walk and enjoy life for abit then.

Maybe your friend got full cash to dump in, nowhere else to spend, rich man's problem. :LOL:

drkcynic

To me, condo is about capital appreciation. My tow kay friend had 6 properties. He said paying ABSD and simi SD also no problem. His freehold landed all can pass down generations. So whatever duties doesn’t matter anymore. It is a place for him to store wealth. He knows because last time he bought all the STI tualiap stocks and China S shares all pawn him big time. This time he also screwed by China mainland stocks, Sea limited etc. he said he should just pay stamp duties and hoot more properties.
The G is sucking up too much money from property owners, then there are the agents wanting a piece of the pie also. Abit here, abit there, it all adds up. It will just get worse, taxes will never come down. Even my friend staying in GCB is kpkb-ing about property tax. Rental game for private is not worth it if there is no capital upside.

Zanahoria

I don't wish to take on more debt at 55. I give my kids the best education to the best of my abilities up to them becoming an adult, then it's their own problem liao. We have enough to live and not burden them then it's job done. I don't need more money.

Maybe your friend got full cash to dump in, nowhere else to spend, rich man's problem. :LOL:
It still boils down to your current age and life phases. Pple like me who is just hitting 50 will start to plan for consolidating. When at my early 40s, this has never come across my mind.

I still have some small portion of mortgage to pay but still, I see it as good debts.
Eg. Bought my 4b at 1.7mil in 2018 and in a blink of eye moment, new launches 4b nowadays easily nearing 2.8 to 3mil even in ocr. If really wait for 5years mop by going through the hdb owner/occupier route, honestly it's really hard to keep up with the current price.

Zanahoria

The ROI for renting out condos is no longer there, especially buying new ones. I will prefer not to go into rental game with condos. IMO at least.

Rental play is for those who bought in the earlier era. Likely fully paid off mortgage liao and enter at much lower cost.
Now rental is just a form of buying time to find your buyers when putting up your unit for sales.

drkcynic

It still boils down to your current age and life phases. Pple like me who is just hitting 50 will start to plan for consolidating. When at my early 40s, this has never come across my mind.

I still have some small portion of mortgage to pay but still, I see it as good debts.
Eg. Bought my 4b at 1.7mil in 2018 and in a blink of eye moment, new launches 4b nowadays easily nearing 2.8 to 3mil even in ocr. If really wait for 5years mop by going through the hdb owner/occupier route, honestly it's really hard to keep up with the current price.
To me it's abit like changing industry to prolong your working career.

So if HDB route is 1.5 years + MOP total around 6.5 years.

In 6.5 years can make what, net 200-500k if flip another property? Super heng is 500-800k? But base smelly smelly also need 2.5m. And the question mark is if the property market will go up forever, and in this kind of speed.

If I go HDB route potentially can have 3-4k income monthly off a lower base invested, till maybe when I uplorry?

Zanahoria

To me it's abit like changing industry to prolong your working career.

So if HDB route is 1.5 years + MOP total around 6.5 years.

In 6.5 years can make what, net 200-500k if flip another property? Super heng is 500-800k? But base smelly smelly also need 2.5m. And the question mark is if the property market will go up forever, and in this kind of speed.

If I go HDB route potentially can have 3-4k income monthly off a lower base invested, till maybe when I uplorry?
I dunno your current age and your current property portfolio, but the above only makes logical sense when u are in your 50s currently. If you are in your early 40s now, you can't be waiting for 15 years not doing much while waiting to be eligible for resale hdb, and may lose out on opportunity cost. I feel it will be a waste la unless you are looking at career switch then it's another story. 40s to 50 is the best age for wealth accumulation imo. Anything after 50 is about health and family.

drkcynic

I dunno your current age and your current property portfolio, but the above only makes logical sense when u are in your 50s currently. If you are in your early 40s now, you can't be waiting for 15 years not doing much while waiting to be eligible for resale hdb, and may lose out on opportunity cost. 40s to 50 is the best age for wealth accumulation imo. Anything after 50 is about health and family.
2030 I will be late 40s. But I intend to semi-retire latest by 55. If i stick to my timeline, at 55 I will have my HDB and the FH condo. I guess at 55 if no substantial work I won't flip properties anyway.

END GAME. :ROFLMAO:

Zanahoria

2030 I will be late 40s. But I intend to semi-retire latest by 55. If i stick to my timeline, at 55 I will have my HDB and the FH condo. I guess at 55 if no substantial work I won't flip properties anyway.

END GAME. :ROFLMAO:
Quite similar to my game plan actually.
Was discussing with wife 2 options when hit 55
1) pay off current own stay property after wife cash out her property. With spill over proceed and saving, should be quite comfortable too.
2) cash out everything, get a resale hdb when hit 55 and live like a king (afterall we only live once, no point slogging beyond 55) If hand itchy, use the owner/occupier strategy to get an old 3b resale for monthly passive.

Point 2 may be quite similar to your game plan. 😁

drkcynic

Quite similar to my game plan actually.
Was discussing with wife 2 options when hit 55
1) pay off current own stay property after wife cash out her property. With spill over proceed and saving, should be quite comfortable too.
2) cash out everything, get a resale hdb when hit 55 and live like a king (afterall we only live once, no point slogging beyond 55) If hand itchy, use the owner/occupier strategy to get an old 3b resale for monthly passive.

Point 2 may be quite similar to your game plan. 😁
By then kids should be grown up liao, can dump money under their name. That's why we always see youngsters in their 20s buying 3m properties, the cycle continues. :LOL:

I got some JB units I can stay, so maybe won't be here too much also.

Zanahoria

Good to have this 见儽就收 thread. Afterall, we dunno if property will still continue to be as lucrative as before.
As I calculated earlier on, even if today you buy a 4b RCR at 3mil quantum, with 400k gross profit after 3 years, after deducting bsd, agent fee, misc fees and taxes, the nett profit is still below 200k.

elvintay07

The G is sucking up too much money from property owners, then there are the agents wanting a piece of the pie also. Abit here, abit there, it all adds up. It will just get worse, taxes will never come down. Even my friend staying in GCB is kpkb-ing about property tax. Rental game for private is not worth it if there is no capital upside.
He didn’t kpkb his gcb goes from $20 to $65mil?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.