CPF Account Value Thread 2025

8zaoyu

The contribution rates are gradually adjusted upwards for 56-60.
Anyway after 65, contribution rates still same.
Never read HR circular meh, if still got re-employment job tasks available, continue till 68/69, 70 next time. No work tasks available, return to your old Motherlands, if Motherland is SG, downgrade to 2-rm flexis asap, don't trouble own kids/siblings

henrylbh

Not everything can be explained using the rational mind and it's ok that you don't understand. For people who understand they will know that sometimes this peace of mind is priceless. What makes you think that I have drained liquid assets to pay off my mortgage? Of course I had taken all things into consideration before deciding to pay off early.
Also having peace of mind, sometimes it's better to brush aside their piece of mind :D

JuniorLion

Some people just don't like the idea of "debt", even if the debt is interest free.

For example, I don't like to owe my friends money even if they don't remind me.

Peace is emotional, and not able to be rationalized. However, not everyone is able to grasp this.

Shion

Senior Mentor
Just take the monthly lowest balance and you get a rough estimate of the interest

:s12::s12:

As my variables are few (no house loan, no consider BHS/FRS, no RA, no CPF Life etc), pretty close when I count restropectively for 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. Insignificant margin of error. Silly me, should have done proper calculations last time to make forecasts of my final balances and interests for each year and strategize my CPFIS in a better way.

maumu

Some people just don't like the idea of "debt", even if the debt is interest free.

For example, I don't like to owe my friends money even if they don't remind me.

Peace is emotional, and not able to be rationalized. However, not everyone is able to grasp this.
other than peace of mind, it's also about how one choose to spend their money on.

some people don't mind paying others whom they think are serving them (paying banks and bankers or agents for commission fees, management fees). some people don't mind to be in debt as they believe they surely can get better returns by using their cash to buy investment products. some people live dangerously by leveraging on credit.

to each his own... anyways, some of us may not even know when we'll even be able to enjoy our 'profits' before our time is up in this world.

so, whether is yolo or fomo or greed or piece of mind, there's just no one single way to decide what one should do with his money.

prudie

vkhnMee.jpeg
Jin emo…see some of you the OA so much…😮

as at 31 Dec 2024
$339,491.28

Ordinary Account (OA)​

$31,773.56​

Special Account (SA)​

$232,934.77​

MediSave Account (MA)​

$74,782.95​

mine is constantly floating at $30k (about 7 months of loan repayment as backup in case).. else half the monthly loan repayment is cpf the rest is cash

43 year old single parent household…private housing

JuniorLion

vkhnMee.jpeg
Jin emo…see some of you the OA so much…😮

as at 31 Dec 2024
$339,491.28

Ordinary Account (OA)​

$31,773.56​

Special Account (SA)​

$232,934.77​

MediSave Account (MA)​

$74,782.95​

mine is constantly floating at $30k (about 7 months of loan repayment as backup in case).. else half the monthly loan repayment is cpf the rest is cash

43 year old single parent household…private housing
Nicely done! Keep grinding!

mingsect2000

Got a Question
For CPF annual Contribution Limit is at 102000>37740
What happens if your salary is higher than 102000 ?
Does Employer still pay the 17% ? for the excess above 102000 ? monthly the employer portion will be encash back to us in our salary ?

sglandscape

Got a Question
Does Employer still pay the 17% ? for the excess above 102000 ? monthly the employer portion will be encash back to us in our salary ?
Generally yes, amount above does it get the 17% employer contribution (why would they encash back to you). You just get the amount in cash for the amount in excess of the employee contribution (this would be taxable).

Also need to see how much ordinary wages and how much additional wages you get, to see if you can it the maximum contribution limit. If your ordinary wages is 10k per month and have 0 additional wages, your contribution limit for 2025 would be around 32.8k (7.4k x 12 months x 37% contribution)

hwmook

Generally yes, amount above does it get the 17% employer contribution (why would they encash back to you). You just get the amount in cash for the amount in excess of the employee contribution (this would be taxable).

Also need to see how much ordinary wages and how much additional wages you get, to see if you can it the maximum contribution limit. If your ordinary wages is 10k per month and have 0 additional wages, your contribution limit for 2025 would be around 32.8k (7.4k x 12 months x 37% contribution)

He is clearly asking about employer portion which is clearly no. Anything more than the CPF contribution limit employer don't need to pay and 99.9% of employer will not give you anything extra.

highsulphur

Got a Question
You need to be clear about the monthly salary and the additional wages component (bonus) breakdown for the annual salary

mingsect2000

You need to be clear about the monthly salary and the additional wages component (bonus) breakdown for the annual salary
Basic Salary 10k per Month
Annual Salary = 120k all under OW

120k - 102000 =18k
Employee 0.2x18k this portion no need to pay CPF will encash back on monthly Salary when limit reached during the 11th Month

Employer 0.17x18k this portion Employer will no longer need to pay CPF for the Employee

Correct ?

henrylbh

so, whether is yolo or fomo or greed or piece of mind, there's just no one single way to decide what one should do with his money.
Bro you mean peace of mind or piece of mind?

highsulphur

120k - 102000 =18k
Employee 0.2x18k this portion no need to pay CPF will encash back on monthly Salary when limit reached during the 11th Month

Employer 0.17x18k this portion Employer will no longer need to pay CPF for the Employee

Correct ?
If there is no bonus and just monthly salary of 10k monthly, the monthly cap of 7400 kicks in. So effective the employee contribution is 20% (1480) and employer contribution is 17% (1258) from Jan 2025. Total contribution for the year will be 12*37%*7400=32856

Thats it

henrylbh

120k - 102000 =18k

Correct ?
You must consider the monthly CPF contribution limit on OW which is $7,400 for year 2025. Though his total wage is 10k per month or 120,000 for the year, the employer is only obliged to contribute CPF on 7,400 x 12 (OW) unless the employer submits 1,100 as AW each month but it's unusual to have AW every month.

henrylbh

Got a Question
The employer is obliged to pay CPF based the monthly and contribution limits. If you want more, see your boss to get his piece of mind :D

superfly21

Hi experts, I have a question about topping up young kid's MA. If we top up kid's MA, the MA account will earn 5% interest (4% + 1% extra interest to be earned on the first S$60,000 of combined balances) right?

Also, since we are topping kid's MA, would we (as parents) be able to tap on the kid's MA in the event of a medical need when we are older? I was not sure because I understand that CPF members can use their Medisave to pay for medical expenses of immediate family members. But what if the kid is below 21? Can the kid "consent" to the use of his/her MA for use by parents?

If possible, then I would think that it is more practical to top up kid's MA rather than SA as there is somewhat more flexibility in the use of the MA (for the kid's own medical expenses, as well as parents/dependents), rather than SA (which is pretty much locked up forever).

royalmix

I was not sure because I understand that CPF members can use their Medisave to pay for medical expenses of immediate family members. But what if the kid is below 21? Can the kid "consent" to the use of his/her MA for use by parents?
I googled and found the consent form: below 21, you can authorise as guardian/parent, once 21 your consent will be revoked and he/she need to re-approve. Check the consent form. Double confirm with CPFB!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.