Why not?How can this be known when CPF only pays interest at year end?
Just "teach" the computer to do it, only if CPFB want or not!
But they prefer to stick to their old rules, less work/effort!
Why not?How can this be known when CPF only pays interest at year end?
For those post 55 yo young, got up to max Enhanced RA to transfer to right, maintaining 4%. But for those post 55yo who already max current year Enchanced RA, CpfB auto to OA, then either remain in OA to compound and see interest every 1st of January, or do Cpf OA invest account do outside invests that create more than 2.9% best.SA for those above 55 close already, transfer to OA .... but is the difference in the interest (4.0-2.5% pa) for the amount transferred for the first 15 days going to be calculated???
Or withdraw OA dollars and invest them. More investment choices are available at lower cost outside the CPF Investment Scheme. The potential disadvantage is that you won't necessarily be able to deposit dollars back into OA. "It depends."....or do Cpf OA invest account do outside invests that create more than 2.9% best.
Tks, but busy if still working, not investor trader daily, if already max Enhanced RA, leave CpfB to to auto to OA monthly see Interests coumpounds on 1st Jan every year happy liao, accumulate your compounds from 55yo to 65yo, arh, just in time to throw feed our SG pampered whoever tax money grabbers with a $100k++ COE taxes!Or withdraw OA dollars and invest them. More investment choices are available at lower cost outside the CPF Investment Scheme. The potential disadvantage is that you won't necessarily be able to deposit dollars back into OA. "It depends."
OK, but you mentioned the CPF Investment Account as an option. I'm simply pointing out that (if you prefer) you could just withdraw OA dollars and invest them without a CPF Investment Account.Tks, but busy if still working, not investor trader daily...
SA still have IF you are under 55yo
when will SA be closed? On the month you turn 55?SA still have IF you are under 55yo
for post 55 yo on or after 19 Jan, selves do the transfer up to enhanced RA, i think.when will SA be closed? On the month you turn 55?
I mean for those below 55 and turning 55 in the futurefor post 55 yo on or after 19 Jan, selves do the transfer up to enhanced RA, i think.
CPF board see no SA for post 55 yo, I think you can paynow yrselves if Full Retirement Sum fullfilled for any dollar and cents above FRS and after 55 yo.
So your SA not closed now mah (still can cheong top-up up to current year FRS , if exceed , then to current year Enhanced RA. Now just wait till 55 on that year to know your Full Retirement Sum, every year different mah, if you not yet 65, need not tell CPF yet whether you choose Standard Plan (max draw-down from your own CPF) from 65 or 70 yo.I mean for those below 55 and turning 55 in the future
How about withdrawing from OA and invest in SSB?Or withdraw OA dollars and invest them. More investment choices are available at lower cost outside the CPF Investment Scheme. The potential disadvantage is that you won't necessarily be able to deposit dollars back into OA. "It depends."
U missing the health equationRead a lot of interesting analysis and debates in this forum. Would like to put my situation for forum collective wisdom: Question: Should I opt for ERS or FRS?
Age : 53 (possibly retire by 58 to 60, Semi-retire after that)
CPF: OA-110K, SA 330K, MA-72K, Housing+Int - 700K
Current assets profile: 80% in property. 500K mortgage loan outstanding which can be covered by remaining liquid assets are in FD, T-bill and Bonds. Potential major cash outflow in the near future - House A&A, Kids college education, health & heathcare premium, Car COE (if i want to keep my car)
Risk profile - conservative because of age and burnt by equity investment in the past.
This is your own CPF mah, I got fren like yours similar , but spouse more, cpf is nothing lah, check your cholesterol , dm and hpt for temper/stress. Know some males already need heart valve stents, females got female cancers. Can semi-retire by 60 is a very good choice. Kids can go into local university, good enough. Go costly overseas one, will think the whole world owe them a good salary, I seen.Read a lot of interesting analysis and debates in this forum. Would like to put my situation for forum collective wisdom: Question: Should I opt for ERS or FRS?
Current assets profile: 80% in property. 500K mortgage loan outstanding which can be covered by remaining liquid assets are in FD, T-bill and Bonds. Potential major cash outflow in the near future - House A&A, Kids college education, health & heathcare premium, Car COE (if i want to keep my car)
Risk profile - conservative because of age and burnt by equity investment in the past.
Read a lot of interesting analysis and debates in this forum. Would like to put my situation for forum collective wisdom: Question: Should I opt for ERS or FRS?
It’s difficult to parse what you’ve written. Just in case there’s any confusion, when your Special Account balance is at or above the Full Retirement Sum you cannot make a direct cash top up or transfer any Ordinary Account dollars to it. For purposes of this limit any dollars subtracted to pursue the CPF Investment Scheme (SA) are counted. SA interest is counted toward the FRS limit.So your SA not closed now mah (still can cheong top-up up to current year FRS , if exceed , then to current year Enhanced RA.
Unless you highly value the asset protection aspects of CPF savings SSBs obviously currently beat OA’s 2.5% p.a. interest rate. SSBs are limited to $200K per person, and they mature in 10 years. If you’re going to spend these OA dollars within the next few months or few years a SSB seems like a good choice. But there could be better choices. Boosting your retirement income by adding funds to RA is another option.How about withdrawing from OA and invest in SSB?
SBMAR25 interest rates are now projected to be - 2.80% for the first year; Average return of 3.00% for 10 year.
As for me 72yo, I won't be depositing back to OA after 10 years.
Any comment/advice?
That’s not your actual question. It’s not a binary choice. You can choose any RA funding level ranging from your age 55 Basic Retirement Sum to pegging your RA at the Enhanced Retirement Sum with top ups/transfers every time the ERS is raised. And every penny increment in between. For example, if FRS+30% at age 55 followed by $10,000/year thereafter is what you prefer, you can do that.Read a lot of interesting analysis and debates in this forum. Would like to put my situation for forum collective wisdom: Question: Should I opt for ERS or FRS?
That’s a fair question, but the answer doesn’t necessarily yield a clear decision. If for example you die at age 71 (and didn’t start CPF LIFE payouts until age 70, the default) then your nominees do especially well financially. Moreover, they could do even better if you do the financially sensible thing: give them more money earlier when you don’t have to worry about longevity risks.U missing the health equation
Congratulations!Dear all, I'm turning 55 this year.
Still the same amount. Interest, including bonus interest, stays in your CPF Retirement Account and then contributes to lifetime retirement income. Of course if you make any lump sum withdrawal at any time you reduce subsequent lifetime income. Conversely, if you add funds you increase subsequent lifetime income. (And residuals for any/every age when there’s still a residual.)I understand that if I pledge my property this year, I can withdraw from my RA the BRS which is half of the FRS, ie $106,500.
If I choose to pledge and withdraw 5 years later in 2030, how much can I withdraw? Still $106,500 or it's $106,500 plus interest earned by this $106,500 from 2025 to 2030 (about $130,000)?
If u pledged, half of the FRS sum goes into your OA. You can withdraw OA anytime after 55yo.Dear all, I'm turning 55 this year. Current CPF FRS is $213,000.
I understand that if I pledge my property this year, I can withdraw from my RA the BRS which is half of the FRS, ie $106,500.
If I choose to pledge and withdraw 5 years later in 2030, how much can I withdraw? Still $106,500 or it's $106,500 plus interest earned by this $106,500 from 2025 to 2030 (about $130,000)?