CPF Account Value Thread 2025

Senfai

so essentially the amount topped up takes precedence for the FRS to put it simply, thus freeing up other amounts to be withdrawn.

so technically topped up amount can't be withdrawn, but in practice it can?
After reading everything in the past few pages, I’m starting to get the idea. But there are specific assumptions for your last sentence to hold true.

ignoring BRS and property pledge

Case 1: FRS is 200k. Person A has 150k. Never top up before. He can only withdraw 5k at 55.

Case 2: FRS is 200k. Same Person A topped up 8k at 54 years old. including interest, he now has 158.3k at 55. He can still only withdraw 5k. He’s not able to get back his topped up amount.

Case 3. FRS is 200k. Person B has exactly 192k at 54 years 364 days. He topped up 8k to reach FRS at 55. He can still only withdraw 5k despite having topped up.

Case 4. FRS is 200k. Person C would have achieved exactly 200k at his birthday without top up. He time travel 2 years ago to 53th birthday and top up 8k. He now has 208k+interest. He can withdraw the 8k plus interest. Which is around 3k more than the 5k he originally could have withdrawn. He did not get back the full 8k he put in at 55

Senfai

Case 5: FRS is 200k. Person A has exactly 200k at 55. He withdraw 5k at 55, and 20% of the 200k less 5k at 65 (39k)

Case 6: FRS is 200k. Person A has exactly 200k at 55 including 8k of top up. He withdraw 5k at 55. At 65; he can only withdraw 20% of (200k less 5k less 8k) which is 37.4k.

I have to agree with you, there is to many nuances to give a flat answer.

Senfai

BBCWatcher

Case 6: FRS is 200k. Person A has exactly 200k at 55 including 8k of top up. He withdraw 5k at 55. At 65; he can only withdraw 20% of (200k less 5k less 8k) which is 37.4k.
Almost. In Case 6 the interest on the $8K also cannot be withdrawn.

Keep it simple because it is simple, actually. If you meet and keep at least the Full Retirement Sum in your Retirement Account then all dollars left in your OA are liquid from age 55. It's that much easier to meet/keep at least the FRS when you top up your Special Account.

If you try to avoid funding your Retirement Account (and future retirement income for life) to at least the Full Retirement Sum, or you attempt to draw your Retirement Account down below the Full Retirement Sum, then there may be marginal age 55+ liquidity differences associated with past top ups to your Special Account. However, it's still unlikely that any marginal age 55+ liquidity differences will ever be relevant.

reddevil0728

After reading everything in the past few pages, I’m starting to get the idea. But there are specific assumptions for your last sentence to hold true.

ignoring BRS and property pledge

Case 1: FRS is 200k. Person A has 150k. Never top up before. He can only withdraw 5k at 55.

Case 2: FRS is 200k. Same Person A topped up 8k at 54 years old. including interest, he now has 158.3k at 55. He can still only withdraw 5k. He’s not able to get back his topped up amount.

Case 3. FRS is 200k. Person B has exactly 192k at 54 years 364 days. He topped up 8k to reach FRS at 55. He can still only withdraw 5k despite having topped up.

Case 4. FRS is 200k. Person C would have achieved exactly 200k at his birthday without top up. He time travel 2 years ago to 53th birthday and top up 8k. He now has 208k+interest. He can withdraw the 8k plus interest. Which is around 3k more than the 5k he originally could have withdrawn. He did not get back the full 8k he put in at 55

Case 5: FRS is 200k. Person A has exactly 200k at 55. He withdraw 5k at 55, and 20% of the 200k less 5k at 65 (39k)

I have to agree with you, there is to many nuances to give a flat answer.
Yes hence is not so straightforward to say yes or no
[Deleted.]
Why don’t just delete the post?

Nicholas92

ok so basically it's not wrong to say that technically the amount topped up to SA which is technically locked away, can be withdrawn because money is fungible. hence it's the $ from other portions that gets to be withdrawn?

Circling back to this, I wanted to add and stress that although you are absolutely right that money is fungible, the noted effect that RSTU helping to fufill FRS and thus displaces / releases employee contribution for withdrawal is a byproduct of the existing rules.

CPF Board has always maintained the position that topped-up monies cannot be withdrawn in a lump sum. From their perspective, the $ you withdraw from employee contribution is not the same $ that you have topped-up.

Thus the danger here is policy change.

That said, I will put my money where my mouth is and top up 5k tomorrow.

Nicholas92

The formula is =MAX(OA+SA-FRS,MIN(OA+SA,5000))

You can withdraw the excess of OA + SA over FRS, subject to a minimum of 5k, provided you have at least 5k in OA and SA. (Although I imagine it is extremely unlikely for a person to not even have 5k in OA + SA at 55 unless he have been unemployed or self-employed without contributions all along.

At the prevailing FRS $213,000 in 2025:

If you have OA + SAYou can withdraw
210,000​
5,000​
213,000​
5,000​
214,000​
5,000​
215,000​
5,000​
216,000​
5,000​
217,000​
5,000​
218,000​
5,000​
219,000​
6,000​
220,000​
7,000​

reddevil0728

Circling back to this, I wanted to add and stress that although you are absolutely right that money is fungible, the noted effect that RSTU helping to fufill FRS and thus displaces / releases employee contribution for withdrawal is a byproduct of the existing rules.

CPF Board has always maintained the position that topped-up monies cannot be withdrawn in a lump sum. From their perspective, the $ you withdraw from employee contribution is not the same $ that you have topped-up.

Thus the danger here is policy change.

That said, I will put my money where my mouth is and top up 5k tomorrow.
why 5k ah?

reddevil0728

If you meet and keep at least the Full Retirement Sum, yes.
Actually what happens if you start topping SA from a very young age, ignore the benefit of tax relief.

say there a kid, as soon as born and possible to top up their cpf, one shot top to top up to the prevailing FRS

then year after year when FRS keep increasing. You keep topping up.

all these amount are technically “locked away” from withdrawal.

when the child starts to work also get employment contribution.

I understand that employment contribution can go above FRS.

When the child comes to the age where cpf can be withdrawn, say 55, the assuming choose FRS for cpf life and no properly pledge whatsoever, FRS amount will be transferred to RA right?

what if (not sure if mathematically possible) say the top up + interest from top up exceeds the FRS then, does it make the excess from this type of voluntary contribution still be locked away?

I assume no?

(ignore employment contribution since it wouldn’t really factor into picture i supposed)

BBCWatcher

Actually what happens if you start topping SA from a very young age, ignore the benefit of tax relief.
say there a kid, as soon as born and possible to top up their cpf, one shot top to top up to the prevailing FRS
That's not allowed under current rules, or at least it's not allowed more than once. The FRS increases have been running behind SA interest, and once your SA balance hits the FRS you can't voluntarily add any more funds to SA, not in directed fashion.

This is also what's known as an "edge case," so edgy that I don't think I've ever seen a report in this forum from anyone in this particular position.
Yes, that can. But annual FRS increases don't open up any more room for voluntary SA top ups with cash and/or transfers from OA. Except perhaps the first FRS increase depending on how much interest was earned.
When the child comes to the age where cpf can be withdrawn, say 55, the assuming choose FRS for cpf life and no properly pledge whatsoever, FRS amount will be transferred to RA right?
This part is unclear. What probably happens is that all the cash top ups into SA, and all accrued interest on those cash top ups, gets transferred into RA. Even if that means RA is above the FRS. All other SA dollars are then dumped into OA, available for withdrawal at any time.

But nobody seems to have experienced this particular scenario. It takes 55 years for a newborn Singaporean to celebrate his/her 55th birthday. Even if a generous parent, grandparent, or someone else deposited the FRS into a Singaporean newborn's SA ten years ago we'll still have to wait 45 years until that person can hop onto HardwareZone to report what happens — whether the CPF Board stops filling up a new RA at the current FRS (even if it means some accrued interest on top up cash ends up in OA) or if all the accrued interest attributable to that FRS-level top up cash ends up in RA, too (and thus pushes it above the current FRS). I assume the latter, but that particular ruleset in CPFB's systems surely hasn't been exercised often.
what if (not sure if mathematically possible) say the top up + interest from top up exceeds the FRS then, does it make the excess from this type of voluntary contribution still be locked away?
That'd be my hunch, but nobody knows for sure except perhaps the CPFB.

When people have asked whether it makes sense to contribute to a Singaporean newborn's (or child's) CPF MA and/or SA, and how much, I've remarked on a related edge case: if the Singaporean child has another citizenship and is growing up in another country. Let's pick Austria as a random example. If a parent, grandparent, or other generous family member thinks this Singaporean-Austrian child will end up only Austrian as an adult then that means his/her CPF accounts will be liquidated and refunded roughly 20 years after deposit, with full accrued interest to that point. In which case that's not a bad college savings vehicle, for example. Even if it is in the "wrong" currency. Of course this outcome isn't strictly guaranteed. The child could opt to remain Singaporean, or the Government of Singapore could change its nationality law such that there's no requirement to "choose sides" — that a child born with both Singaporean and Austrian citizenships can keep both.

henrylbh

I assume no?

(ignore employment contribution since it wouldn’t really factor into picture i supposed)
Before 55, once SA sum including interest thereon reaches prevailing FRS, no more top-up is allowed except for inflows from mandatory contributions.

reddevil0728

Before 55, once SA sum including interest thereon reaches prevailing FRS, no more top-up is allowed except for inflows from mandatory contributions.
ya. i jsut wonder if u contribute very on in life.

at full prevailling FRS.

n with interest all that.

then those get locked away.

but then mabe a chance the interest increase more than the growth in FRS.

does it mean the excess interest will get shifted into RA that exceeds FRS

Nicholas92

I assume no?

Essentially you are asking about how the following 2 rules interact:
(a) That RSTU sums cannot be withdrawn
(b) That SA balances above FRS can be withdrawn at 55.

Ordinarily, it is not possible for RSTU sums to exceed FRS, as you can only top-up to FRS in the first place.

But over time, if you RSTU early on, it -may- be possible for the interest on RSTU sums to exceed FRS.

I don't have an answer for this, and I expect it to be very rare, very rich person problem.

It's similar to those people asking how the traffic laws interact between (1) speed limit, and (2) road hogging, when you are driving at 90km per hour on lane 1.

dgeralds

A quick question.

Age is 55

OA - 5K
MA - 10.2K
RA -211.2K

How much interest does the 5K in OA get? Is it 4.5% ?

royalmix

"CPF top-ups hit record $6.7b in first seven months of 2025, up from $4.8b for whole of 2024."​

"This is largely due to a one-time surge following the raising of the Enhanced Retirement Sum."

They should have taken action more than 5 years ago when news of SA Shielding hit their mailbox! :LOL:
So in future, we will have a bigger CPF Life Pool!

DevilPlate

"CPF top-ups hit record $6.7b in first seven months of 2025, up from $4.8b for whole of 2024."​

"This is largely due to a one-time surge following the raising of the Enhanced Retirement Sum."

They should have taken action more than 5 years ago when news of SA Shielding hit their mailbox! :LOL:
So in future, we will have a bigger CPF Life Pool!
I contributed as well.

You guys tan tio liao lor. I lugi big big :rolleyes:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.