CPF Account Value Thread 2025

BBCWatcher

I don’t waste my time with tbills. For that 6 months is 4% then after that?
After that it’s the next T-bill or 2.5%, whichever makes the most sense. You also have longer tenor SGSes if you’re willing to ”commit” to more than 6 or 12 months.

Lots of people very happily collected the higher net yield (after costs) on their OA balances when T-bill rates got high enough. What’s not to like?
I got no time to go bank to do this cpf in/ out to tbills thing.
I guess you missed that memo. You can buy a T-bill online, from the comfort of your jacuzzi or wherever. All ”Big 3” banks offer that service. And it doesn’t have to be the same Big 3 bank that has your CPF Investment Account.

Let’s suppose for example you can earn a net (after all costs) 100 basis points of additional interest on a $50,000 T-bill. That’s approximately S$250 for a few taps on a mobile app or a few clicks on a PC. Most people would be happy to earn ~S$250 from home in a few minutes. And many people did that.

elvintay07

After that it’s the next T-bill or 2.5%, whichever makes the most sense. You also have longer tenor SGSes if you’re willing to ”commit” to more than 6 or 12 months.

Lots of people very happily collected the higher net yield (after costs) on their OA balances when T-bill rates got high enough. What’s not to like?

I guess you missed that memo. You can buy a T-bill online, from the comfort of your jacuzzi or wherever. All ”Big 3” banks offer that service. And it doesn’t have to be the same Big 3 bank that has your CPF Investment Account.

Let’s suppose for example you can earn a net (after all costs) 100 basis points of additional interest on a $50,000 T-bill. That’s approximately S$250 for a few taps on a mobile app or a few clicks on a PC. Most people would be happy to earn ~S$250 from home in a few minutes. And many people did that.
Thanks so much bro. Ok. Let me think whether I want to go through that effort to do tbills. Today I think tbill left 2.5% only. The 4% won’t come back already la.

BBCWatcher

Thanks so much bro. Ok. Let me think whether I want to go through that effort to do tbills. Today I think tbill left 2.5% only. The 4% won’t come back already la.
If/when higher yielding T-bills return, you‘ll have that option. Of course they can’t be only a little higher yielding. 2.6% for example won’t be good enough. You have to overcome the costs involved, including the 7 months (8 for “badly timed” T-bills) of lost OA interest when you invest in a 6 month T-bill using OA dollars. But when T-bill rates were high fairly recently it made sense for many people, or at least it made more sense than leaving dollars in OA over the same period.

yuppieboy

You can use all OA dollars above S$20,000 to buy SGX-listed stocks. There's no sublimit on ES3 or G3B, the Straits Times Index stock funds. And those funds themselves are listed on the SGX.
I have $750k+ in my OA, but I can only use about $260k+ for investment in SGX listed stock, not use the $730k above $20k as you mentioned.

laokorkor

I have $750k+ in my OA, but I can only use about $260k+ for investment in SGX listed stock, not use the $730k above $20k as you mentioned.
My CPF OA + CPF IS (which uses CPF OA) + fully paid HDB 4rm resale (which uses CPF OA) are 998k SGD.

I do no CPF top up; I have no BTO luck, no new launch EC luck. I've good CPF IS returns + CPF HDB subsides of 45k SGD in 2008.

Plus my CPF SA and MA, and accrued interest, I've over 1.3M SGD in total in my CPF.

All values at current market prices.

LOL!

marcoyeo

My CPF OA + CPF IS (which uses CPF OA) + fully paid HDB 4rm resale (which uses CPF OA) are 998k SGD.

I do no CPF top up; I have no BTO luck, no new launch EC luck. I've good CPF IS returns + CPF HDB subsides of 45k SGD in 2008.

Plus my CPF SA and MA, and accrued interest, I've over 1.3M SGD in total in my CPF.

LOL!
Nice sharing.

My HDB paid up.

Plan my surplus OA from 2026 till 2035, contribute fully and invest in MSCI world index fund via Poems.

And from 2036 onwards, withdraw only 2.5% interest amount about 10-12K per year for my expenses.

henrylbh

LOL!
My estimated interest from all 3 CPF accounts is about 34,500 and from CPFIS dividend received of 12,480. Best was last year with more interest of 25k from Treasury Bill at rates of more than 4% twice successful.

JetStorm

For me is hitting FRS in my SA once the year end interest comes in.

*Jon Hamm dancing*

Next milestone will be transferring any excess of 20K from OA to wives SA till she hits FRS also.

fire

For me is hitting FRS in my SA once the year end interest comes in.

*Jon Hamm dancing*

Next milestone will be transferring any excess of 20K from OA to wives SA till she hits FRS also.

Wife will not be able to hit FRS so tell me dun bother tx to her SA, just take out excess when reach 55 😂

hwmook

LOL!

You can't be using your whole HDB value to add to CPF, just use the CPF OA used and accured interest will be more appropriate.

laokorkor

You can't be using your whole HDB value to add to CPF, just use the CPF OA used and accured interest will be more appropriate.
Hi, the current market value of my fully paid hdb is around 533k SGD.

My CPF OA principal used for hdb plus accrued interest are 450k SGD.

I did not buy at market high or low around June 2008.

The main benefit of my hdb purchase is not capital gain but imputed rent gain.

dgeralds

Quick question. When are the best dates to do the following using CASH?. Thaks.

1. Top up RA due ERS increase - do on 01/01/2026?
2. Top up MA due new BHS - do on 01/01/2026?
3. Top up 3 CPF accounts (done)
4. Voluntry HDB loan refund - do on 30/12/2025 or 31/12/2025 or 01/01/20276?

highsulphur

Quick question. When are the best dates to do the following. Thaks.

1. Top up RA due ERS increase - do on 01/01/2026?
2. Top up MA due new BHS - do on 01/01/2026?
3. Top up 3 CPF accounts (done)
4. Voluntry HDB loan refund - do on 30/12/2025 or 31/12/2025 or 01/01/20276?
1. If transfer from OA to RA, doesn't matter when since interest is calculated from the day of transfer
2. After 1 Jan but before any credit from previous month salary happen
4. Should do it earlier since may take a few days to get credited into cpf. Do it now.

dgeralds

1. If transfer from OA to RA, doesn't matter when since interest is calculated from the day of transfer
2. After 1 Jan but before any credit from previous month salary happen
4. Should do it earlier since may take a few days to get credited into cpf. Do it now.
all using cash

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.