CPF Account Value Thread 2025

BBCWatcher

Quick question. When are the best dates to do the following using CASH?. Thaks.
1. Top up RA due ERS increase - do on 01/01/2026?
January 30, 2026, which gives you a 1 day margin of safety. (Unless your RA hasn’t reached the Full Retirement Sum, you’re still getting compulsory contributions flowing into RA, and you’re trying to beat a compulsory contribution. This situation is rare in these circumstances.)
2. Top up MA due new BHS - do on 01/01/2026?
Before your next compulsory contribution if you have one landing in January. Otherwise, January 30, 2026.
3. Top up 3 CPF accounts (done)
For 2026 you can do this on January 30, 2026. If you only have one job, and you have an RA, you should have some room below the 2026 CPF Annual Limit no matter how much you earn.
4. Voluntry HDB loan refund - do on 30/12/2025 or 31/12/2025 or 01/01/20276?
Generally the least attractive way to deposit funds in CPF, but you would do this on December 30, 2025.

laokorkor

It's interesting to see all the focus and planning involved in CPF as a tool for wealth accumulation and retirement. I too am a beneficiary of this system and am glad to have accumulated some money and a nice HDB using my CPF accounts. Kudos to the CPF board and the government that made it happen.

OTOH, please remember and forever put is in mind, the viability of CPF as a triple-A credit avenue and CPF's high returns banked on Singapore having an honest and competent government and civil service that can skillfully navigate the treacherous financial markets that are full of potholes and can maintain a high return for the CPF board's members (please remember that the 4% SA/MA rate is a high hurdle to cross).

We now recognize that there's no American exceptionalism, there too is no Singaporean exceptionalism. There's nothing that says the Singapore system will always work. The God that Americans trust in its dollar bills did not protect USA from the erosion of its power, and LKY will certainly not rise from his grave to protect Singaporeans if things go wrong. Please be sensible to do not go all in into any single financial tool! Please do what you can reasonably afford.

dgeralds

January 30, 2026, which gives you a 1 day margin of safety. (Unless your RA hasn’t reached the Full Retirement Sum, you’re still getting compulsory contributions flowing into RA, and you’re trying to beat a compulsory contribution. This situation is rare in these circumstances.)

Before your next compulsory contribution if you have one landing in January. Otherwise, January 30, 2026.

For 2026 you can do this on January 30, 2026. If you only have one job, and you have an RA, you should have some room below the 2026 CPF Annual Limit no matter how much you earn.

Generally the least attractive way to deposit funds in CPF, but you would do this on December 30, 2025.
Hi BBCWatcher

1m 59 already in 2025. My OA is $199.7K, MA is $75.5K, RA is 472.9K. I want to do the following. When should I do it ??

1. Top up ERS to the new limit i.e top up ERS by $14.8K. If I do this top-up on 01/01/2026, will I get interest for whole of Jan 2026?
2. Top up MA, due increase in BHS i.e. top up $3.5K. If I do this top-up on 01/01/2026, will I get interest for whole of Jan 2026?
3. I have excess cash in low interest account. I want to refund my HDB loan so that the money goes into OA to get 2.5% interest. This one should I top up on 30th or 31st Dec 2026 or 01 Jan 2026 so that I will get interest for Jan 2026?
4. In your above reply are you saying that I can do top up to 3 CPF accounts (though all goes into OA) at the begining of 2026 if there is room below the 2026 CPF Annual limit?

Thank you.

BBCWatcher

1. Top up ERS to the new limit i.e top up ERS by $14.8K. If I do this top-up on 01/01/2026, will I get interest for whole of Jan 2026?
No. Do that on January 30, 2026.
2. Top up MA, due increase in BHS i.e. top up $3.5K. If I do this top-up on 01/01/2026, will I get interest for whole of Jan 2026?
No. Do this shortly before any compulsory contribution that occurs in January. Or, if not, then on January 30, 2026.
3. I have excess cash in low interest account. I want to refund my HDB loan so that the money goes into OA to get 2.5% interest. This one should I top up on 30th or 31st Dec 2026 or 01 Jan 2026 so that I will get interest for Jan 2026?
December 30, 2025, works if you want to start earning interest on that money from January 1, 2026.
4. In your above reply are you saying that I can do top up to 3 CPF accounts (though all goes into OA) at the begining of 2026 if there is room below the 2026 CPF Annual limit?
Yes, on January 30, 2026, would be a good date — and strictly after any MA Voluntary Contribution. Unless you have more than one job you should have some room below the 2026 CPF Annual Limit.

December 30, 2025, works if you still have room below the 2025 CPF Annual Limit.

dgeralds

No. Do this either shortly before any compulsory contribution that occurs in January or on January 30, 2026.

December 30, 2025, works if you want to start earning interest on that money from January 1, 2026.

Yes, on January 30, 2026, would be a good date — and strictly after any MA Voluntary Contribution. Unless you have more than one job you should have some room below the 2026 CPF Annual Limit.

December 30, 2025, works if you still have room below the 2025 CPF Annual Limit.
Got it. Thank you very much!

highsulphur

One question
Suppose one is above 55 and manages to fund RA to ERS using SA with OA balance intact. If he is unemployed but still having taxable income from rental, can he withdraw $37400 from his OA and then contribute back to CPF via voluntary contribution to get tax relief?

BBCWatcher

Suppose one is above 55 and manages to fund RA to ERS using SA with OA balance intact.
That doesn't actually happen. The CPF Board won't fund a Retirement Account beyond the Full Retirement Sum. The member has to take action to go beyond that. And it's not really necessary for your hypothetical. Let's just assume a hypothetical CPF member age 55+ has funded his/her Retirement Account at least to the Full Retirement Sum (or at least to the Basic Retirement Sum with a property pledge or property charge)....
If he is unemployed but still having taxable income from rental, can he withdraw $37400 from his OA and then contribute back to CPF via voluntary contribution to get tax relief?
No, not as you've stated it. The member has to be self-employed (per IRAS's definition) to qualify for this form of tax relief. Taxable self-employment income is a necessary predicate for these purposes — some anyway.

However, a hypothetical member in this situation could still make a Voluntary Contribution to MediSave to qualify for tax relief, to reduce or eliminate income tax owed on his/her rental income. For example, on January 1, 2026, the Basic Healthcare Sum will be raised by S$3,500 for members who haven't reached age 65 yet. And presumably there will be some MediSave withdrawals for insurance premiums and/or medical spending no matter what the member's age. A member can fill these MediSave gaps below the BHS with new dollars, and those dollars qualify for tax relief. Moreover, if your MA is at the BHS on December 31, the annual interest should roll into OA on January 1 — again assuming the FRS (or BRS with property pledge/charge) is met in RA.

highsulphur

That doesn't actually happen. The CPF Board won't fund a Retirement Account beyond the Full Retirement Sum. The member has to take action to go beyond that. And it's not really necessary for your hypothetical. Let's just assume a hypothetical CPF member age 55+ has funded his/her Retirement Account at least to the Full Retirement Sum (or at least to the Basic Retirement Sum with a property pledge or property charge)....

No, not as you've stated it. The member has to be self-employed (per IRAS's definition) to qualify for this form of tax relief. Taxable self-employment income is a necessary predicate for these purposes — some anyway.

However, a hypothetical member in this situation could still make a Voluntary Contribution to MediSave to qualify for tax relief, to reduce or eliminate income tax owed on his/her rental income. For example, on January 1, 2026, the Basic Healthcare Sum will be raised by S$3,500 for members who haven't reached age 65 yet. And presumably there will be some MediSave withdrawals for insurance premiums and/or medical spending no matter what the member's age. A member can fill these MediSave gaps below the BHS with new dollars, and those dollars qualify for tax relief. Moreover, if your MA is at the BHS on December 31, the annual interest should roll into OA on January 1 — again assuming the FRS (or BRS with property pledge/charge) is met in RA.
ok so for rental income or even the taxable component of SRS withdrawal, we can't use voluntary CPF contribution to offset the taxable income. The only ways are to top up MA or loved ones MA/RA, assuming my RA is above FRS already.

Eternit

No. Do this shortly before any compulsory contribution that occurs in January. Or, if not, then on January 30, 2026.

Hi @BBCWatcher can explain the reason behind topping up on 30 Jan? I always thought 1/2 Jan would better as you get one month on interest in Jan? Cheers.

BBCWatcher

Hi @BBCWatcher can explain the reason behind topping up on 30 Jan? I always thought 1/2 Jan would better as you get one month on interest in Jan? Cheers.
Nope. Voluntary Contributions and top ups start earning interest from the following month. OA to SA/RA transfers start earning the higher interest rate from the month of transfer.

Eternit

Thanks @BBCWatcher , another question, Let's say the MA account now is 74,000, which is 1,500 short of the 2025 BHS (75,500), you mentioned it's wise to top up this shortfall before 31 Dec 2025, then in Jan 2026, top up the new shortfall with the new BHS of 79,000 (probably not much to top up since the interest in 2025 would cover quite a bit).

So I don't get the benefit of doing this, as compared to, say just leaving it as it is (74,000), wait till jan 2025 when the interest come in, then just top up whatever it's needed to reach 79,000. Could you care to explain the benefit and difference? Thanks!

highsulphur

Thanks @BBCWatcher , another question, Let's say the MA account now is 74,000, which is 1,500 short of the 2025 BHS (75,500), you mentioned it's wise to top up this shortfall before 31 Dec 2025, then in Jan 2026, top up the new shortfall with the new BHS of 79,000 (probably not much to top up since the interest in 2025 would cover quite a bit).

So I don't get the benefit of doing this, as compared to, say just leaving it as it is (74,000), wait till jan 2025 when the interest come in, then just top up whatever it's needed to reach 79,000. Could you care to explain the benefit and difference? Thanks!
Any top up to MA before new year will get you tax relief for income earned this year. Your MA interest will be credited into your MA account since its below the BHS and reduce the amount of tax relief available from top up next year.

If you don't need that tax relief component (possibly because you have already hit the cap of $80k), then there is no need to top up your MA this year

Eternit

Any top up to MA before new year will get you tax relief for income earned this year. Your MA interest will be credited into your MA account since its below the BHS and reduce the amount of tax relief available from top up next year.

If you don't need that tax relief component (possibly because you have already hit the cap of $80k), then there is no need to top up your MA this year
Sorry, dun quite get what you mean. Let's say already topped up 8K this year to CPF MA, means there's no more tax relief for topping up another 1,500 to MA to reach 2025 BHS right? even if total tax relief have not yet hit 80K, but the total self top up tax relief from CPF alr hit 8k?

highsulphur

Sorry, dun quite get what you mean. Let's say already topped up 8K this year to CPF MA, means there's no more tax relief for topping up another 1,500 to MA to reach 2025 BHS right? even if total tax relief have not yet hit 80K, but the total self top up tax relief from CPF alr hit 8k?
If you had top up 8k previously to your MA to hit your current 74k in MA, then there is no point topping up your MA (since the limit is 8k for top up to your own MA/SA) other than earning interest for your top up.

You can still top up your loved ones SA, RA or MA by up to 8k for tax relief though

tehhalia

MA account now 74K, you top up to 75.5k BHS and get 1.5K income tax relief in 2026
Interest for MA in 2025 will credited on 31 Dec 2025 and automatically transferred by system on 1 Jan 2026 to your SA since BHS 2025 already met.
Then on 1 Jan 2026, your MA is 75.5K, you top up another 3.5K to hit 79K 2026 BHS, and get 3.5K income tax relief in 2027. That's what BBC is saying.

If you leave it as it is in 2025 74K, then on 31 Dec 2025, MA interest will be credited (take for example 2K), then on 1 Jan 2026, 0.5K will be automatically transferred by system to your SA.
Then on 1 Jan 2026, your MA is also 75.5K and you can top up another 3.5K to hit 79K 2026 BHS, and get 3.5K income tax relief in 2027. That's what you're saying.

The first case got 1.5K income tax relief for 2026 + 3.5K income tax relief for 2027.
The second case only got 3.5K income tax relief for 2027.

But of coz the first case is meaningless if you already top up 8K RSTU into SA/MA, or overall hit 80K tax relief from all kinds of relief (e.g. cpf contribution, donation, RSTU, SRS contribution, etc.)

BBCWatcher

Let's say the MA account now is 74,000, which is 1,500 short of the 2025 BHS (75,500), you mentioned it's wise to top up this shortfall before 31 Dec 2025, then in Jan 2026, top up the new shortfall with the new BHS of 79,000 (probably not much to top up since the interest in 2025 would cover quite a bit).
If your MA is at the Basic Healthcare Sum (BHS) on December 31, 2025, then 2025's MA interest will be credited to....
  • If you're below age 55....
    • ....Your SA if it's below the Full Retirement Sum;
    • ....Otherwise your OA.
  • If you're age 55 or above....
    • ....Your RA if you haven't met at least the Full Retirement Sum (or Basic Retirement Sum with property pledge/charge);
    • ....Otherwise your OA.
Let's suppose you're age 55+, and you've met at least the FRS (or BRS with property pledge/charge). In that situation you'll very likely get your whole $1,500 back in your OA on January 1, where it's available for withdrawal. Thus it makes a lot of sense to put that $1,500 in MA on December 30 (with 1 day of safety margin) even if it doesn't qualify for tax relief. Otherwise the first $1,500 of interest will stay in MA.

Also, if you're going to make an "all 3 account" Voluntary Contribution (VC3A), do that after your Voluntary Contribution to MA. Practically everyone age 55+ has some room below the CPF Annual Limit ($37,740) to make a VC3A. If you're age 55+, your MA is at the BHS, and you've met at least the FRS in your RA (or at least the BRS with property pledge/charge), then 100% of your VC3A lands in OA. Where it's available for lump sum withdrawal any time you wish. A 2.5% p.a. interest earning on-demand savings account isn't a bad deal, assuming you need more funds in an on-demand savings account.

See how that all fits together?

dgeralds

Hi All. I have a cpf query. I currently have a private property mortgage loan with a bank. I service my monthly loan to bank from my CPF. I have so far withdrawn about 300K from my CPF for this property. Am I allowed to do a cpf voluntary housing refund while servicing the loan?

BBCWatcher

Hi All. I have a cpf query. I currently have a private property mortgage loan with a bank. I service my monthly loan to bank from my CPF. I have so far withdrawn about 300K from my CPF for this property. Am I allowed to do a cpf voluntary housing refund while servicing the loan?
Yes.

However, OA repayment is generally the least attractive way to deposit funds into CPF. If you have other deposit options, you'll probably want to exhaust those options first before moving onto OA repayment.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.