CPF Account Value Thread 2025

hwmook

Probably not worth to top up CPF if you are all in to investment except for emergency funds.

but if you hoard cash, cpf maybe worth to top up because eventually you can withdraw the amount beyond frs which means you can get the money back (assume that one will hit frs just by working). So you ‘earn’ tax relief and interest.

Top up medisave, MA money overflow to OA. Use OA to pay mortgage. Get tax relief for paying mortgage, no money trapped in CPF.

Mephist0pheLes

So means whatever contribution from the pay will go OA instead of MA
But then n again u will have $3500 less cash assume u top up this amount
But I still don understand how is it better compared to holding this amount in your bank or stock
I reached frs
If u af FRS and u max out ur MA at the start of the year. MA flow to OA. OA can be used to pay mortgage or invest.

U keep in bank then pay mortgage/invest, no tax savings.

U top up ma then wait for spillover to OA then pay mortgage/invest, u get tax savings

PhantomOpera

Did u top up your CPF before? Draw out 370k for housing still have 250k in OA is impressive 👍
I bought and sold properties before and each time I sold, the OA$ plus accrued interest will flow back to OA until next time I bought and deducted again. Other than that, I nv top up CPF. Anyway, it’s all money locked up 😟

BBCWatcher

what sort of "insurance reimbursements" might there be? first time read about this..
Let's suppose you use $200 from your MediSave Account to pay a medical bill. And just to keep it simple assume the total medical bill is also $200. You then submit the bill for reimbursement under an employer-provided medical insurance policy. The insurance company then pays the claim not in cash but as a reimbursement to your MediSave Account.

If you're expecting an insurance reimbursement like that, but you're trying to push as much of your own cash as you can into your MA, you need to push the cash in first. As long as your cash arrives in your MA ahead of the reimbursement, that'll work.

Some people like to pay whatever medical bills they can using MediSave so that they can inject cash back into MediSave, often with tax relief. Then the normal MA "spillover" rules apply.

Ahboy069

Probably not worth to top up CPF if you are all in to investment except for emergency funds.

but if you hoard cash, cpf maybe worth to top up because eventually you can withdraw the amount beyond frs which means you can get the money back (assume that one will hit frs just by working). So you ‘earn’ tax relief and interest.
Mayb goal post shift again? We also won’t know right

Nanonited

I bought and sold properties before and each time I sold, the OA$ plus accrued interest will flow back to OA until next time I bought and deducted again. Other than that, I nv top up CPF. Anyway, it’s all money locked up 😟
Hmm but without top up, it means the OA has so much just purely from your salary. Because accrued interest is as good as you never use the OA.

Did you hit the cpf max salary early? Like in twenties?

Nanonited

Refund OA then you got million dollar CPF already. 1M4x. Can start YouTube channel already.
He say he never top up cpf before. So can only mean he is high salary early.. not really much strategy there..

Nanonited

Mayb goal post shift again? We also won’t know right
this is the biggest risk. If shift then really too bad, take it as leave $ for children.. i dont think they can makan the money and not let you leave for your kids..

That will be a huge drastic change to lock big sums of money inside

This data point is shocking.. means they will go by the lowest point of the day too!

Eg 8am is 19k at 12pm increased to 20k but they still take 19k to compute yet gaining the 1k to freely use... omg
CPF is very clear on what balances are used in interest calculation. Inflows (even if done on the first day of the month) earn interest only on the following month. Outflows (even if done on the last day of the month) don't earn interest in the current month. Monthly interest calculation, but compounded only annually. So CPF 4% isn't exactly like bank account 4%. But close enough. Just need to know the rules.

kickass22

ok so for rental income or even the taxable component of SRS withdrawal, we can't use voluntary CPF contribution to offset the taxable income. The only ways are to top up MA or loved ones MA/RA, assuming my RA is above FRS already.
@BBCWatcher Got a question. Even with this , filling in the gaps of what has not been filled up in MA, the tax relief with be at best very minimal correct? Appreciate your reply.

PhantomOpera

Hmm but without top up, it means the OA has so much just purely from your salary. Because accrued interest is as good as you never use the OA.

Did you hit the cpf max salary early? Like in twenties?
Hmm I can’t remember since it was 20 years ago. But I am really an ordinary salaried worker currently in middle management. Not high flyer. I didn’t think much of my CPF since it’s money I can’t touch.

yslvlys

Hmm I can’t remember since it was 20 years ago. But I am really an ordinary salaried worker currently in middle management. Not high flyer. I didn’t think much of my CPF since it’s money I can’t touch.
Current CPF annual limit is 37,740. Round down a bit to 1M in your CPF account to minus off the CPF interest earned. 1M/37,740 ~ 26. Have u worked for about 26 years? If so, means your average annual income since you started work is about 102k at least. Or u use OA to invest and made a lot of profits.

PhantomOpera

Current CPF annual limit is 37,740. Round down a bit to 1M in your CPF account to minus off the CPF interest earned. 1M/37,740 ~ 26. Have u worked for about 26 years?
Thereabouts
If so, means your average annual income since you started work is about 102k at least. Or u use OA to invest and made a lot of profits.
Definitely not so much. My first pay was only $1700. But subsequent increments were like $700 for next few years. There were some good 10 years in which my bonus was 8-9 months a year? That could be it. I used OA for investment in T bills for 1 year before. Other than that, no other investments. My cpf comes mainly from salary.

yslvlys

Thereabouts

Definitely not so much. My first pay was only $1700. But subsequent increments were like $700 for next few years. There were some good 10 years in which my bonus was 8-9 months a year? That could be it. I used OA for investment in T bills for 1 year before. Other than that, no other investments. My cpf comes mainly from salary.
If I understand CPF correctly, even if u earn 300k, max contribution per year is still 37,740. So years which u earned more can't offset lower CPF contributions in earlier years. Need to consistently contribute 30k+ per year to accumulate 1M in CPF over 26 years. Or maybe I understand CPF wrongly lol.

henrylbh

Do u use majority of your OA for stock investment? Somehow i dun dare to go all in even if im getting blue chip sg stocks which are like v safe hahah...
I use as much as what I have in OA for investment as the return is more than double OA rate of 2.5%.

After 2025 inflow of interest I have 725k of OA money but I am only allowed to use $6,171 for shares investment :frown:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.