CPF Account Value Thread 2026

TheAlphaLion

Exactly.

Let's suppose your $3,500 is sitting in a Maribank savings account earning 0.88% p.a. If you move that money into your MA 10 days earlier than necessary, you lose about 84 cents of bank interest. Is the 84 cents in this example a lot? No. But it's free money, and you might as well keep it for yourself instead of (effectively) donating it to the government. Also, understanding and practicing sensible, basic cash management techniques helps you develop good habits that'll also serve you well when the amounts are larger.

Just set a reminder to yourself on your smartphone, and relax.

There's also the remote possibility you'll need that $3,500 for some emergency within the next 10 days. If you stuff that $3,500 into your MA earlier than required, you also shut down those options earlier than required.
So much thought and logic into saving 84 cents, and not thinking much about the realities of life. What's the chance of someone missing a reminder to deposit on the very last optimal day, versus this 84 cents? Or that there'll be scheduled/unscheduled website maintenance on the last day?

That kind of logic would apply to the people who pay their credit card bills on the last possible day, and if there's any processing delay then either have to pay late payment fee or waste time calling the bank to waive it. Same logic for people who waited until the very end of 2025 to use up their $500 Skillsfuture credit and then realize all the courses are fully booked, thus $ wasted.

I'm not saying people should rush to deposit on 1 January 8AM, but also don't be a fool that waits till the last minute lah.

BBCWatcher

So much thought and logic into saving 84 cents, and not thinking much about the realities of life. What's the chance of someone missing a reminder to deposit on the very last optimal day, versus this 84 cents? Or that there'll be scheduled/unscheduled website maintenance on the last day?
You can add a "pad day" or two if you like.

....And what are the chances of a family emergency making the $3,500 more useful as unrestricted cash? Non-zero chances, I suggest.
That kind of logic would apply to the people who pay their credit card bills on the last possible day, and if there's any processing delay then either have to pay late payment fee or waste time calling the bank to waive it.
No, the smart people have automatic full balance GIRO payments for their credit cards.
Same logic for people who waited until the very end of 2025 to use up their $500 Skillsfuture credit and then realize all the courses are fully booked, thus $ wasted.
No, the same logic applied to that situation means you spend the $500 in credits as soon as reasonably practical. Accounts Receivable (AR) should be received as quickly as reasonably possible. Accounts Payable (AP) should be paid at or shortly before the deadline. That's the logic, and it's basic financial logic that's widely practiced well.
I'm not saying people should rush to deposit on 1 January 8AM, but also don't be a fool that waits till the last minute lah.
Nobody is suggesting waiting "until the last minute."

Shion

Senior Mentor
Nothing special...

fICzpGh.jpeg

hwmook

My vital statistics
- CPF OA + CPF SA + CPF MA + CPFIS (at market value) + HDB principal and accrued interest withdrawn = ~1.25m SGD
- if HDB is valued at market valuation instead = ~1.35m SGD

The background
- 53 year old married male as at today
- started from 0 SGD in CPF accounts in 1996
- No cash top up into CPF
- No BTO, new launch EC luck ever
- 45k CPF HDB housing grant for purchase of resale HDB 4room in JW in 2008 June
- Some withdrawal of MA for medical and insurance purposes
- Some transfer of OA to SA to capture the higher interest rate
- software engineer for 29 years
- salary during career seldom hit on the CPF annual salary ceiling, been getting average salary most of my career despite NUS CS (Merit) degree. The strategy is a tortoise-vs-hare strategy where the slow-and-steady over long period of time has a higher probability of success - I've low unemployment downtime over my career - been gainfully employment most of the time constantly contributing to my accounts
- lifetime paper and realized profits and dividends of CPFIS account is ~400k SGD
- I've little outside of my CPF ecosystem, only around 480k SGD due to commitments to family/parents/church. Thus, I'm deeply grateful with the enforced saving discipline instilled by the CPF board
- I've been very careful with how I deploy my funds in CPF, having seen many of my peers screwed up their CPF, e.g. I bought low-cost HDB 4room in JW and have not moved since 2008; been happily married to the same lovely wife; using highly diversified low-costs ETF/Unit Trusts as CPFIS vehicle to capture the growth in world economy - I've no wish for Elon Musk/Bill Gates riches but screwing up my retirement safety net is a big no-no
- been grateful for the Lord for giving me such a bountiful retirement harvest in my CPF accounts, may He continues to bless and guide me with wisdom in the journey ahead. He'll forever be the cornerstone in my heart.

Value of your HDB does not affect how much you need to refund to your CPF. You shouldn't keep including value of HDB into your CPF balance.

tehhalia

so, if we're talking about net worth, then perhaps can include the fair value of your HDB/property

but if we're talking about value of CPF, then it's just OA + SA/RA + MA + value of investment using CPF dollars, but should not include HDB/property value nor the CPF dollar used to pay for the property + accrued interest, since that money is locked in the HDB/property

in gist property is property, cpf is cpf. cpf dollar used to pay for property is not cpf until the property is liquidated and the cpf dollar used refunded back to cpf

highsulphur

That kind of logic would apply to the people who pay their credit card bills on the last possible day, and if there's any processing delay then either have to pay late payment fee or waste time calling the bank to waive it. Same logic for people who waited until the very end of 2025 to use up their $500 Skillsfuture credit and then realize all the courses are fully booked, thus $ wasted.

I agree with you. The gain of max a dollar or two vs the potential of missing those tax savings in the hundreds is so skewed that's not much point for me to wait for that 15 days

highsulphur

so, if we're talking about net worth, then perhaps can include the fair value of your HDB/property

but if we're talking about value of CPF, then it's just OA + SA/RA + MA + value of investment using CPF dollars, but should not include HDB/property value nor the CPF dollar used to pay for the property + accrued interest, since that money is locked in the HDB/property

in gist property is property, cpf is cpf. cpf dollar used to pay for property is not cpf until the property is liquidated and the cpf dollar used refunded back to cpf
Agree with the concept. Cpf monies used for property are no longer under the cpf umbrella but parked under property equity

BBCWatcher

You can't use it for retirement unless you downsize your home
There are occasional exceptions, notably the HDB Lease Buyback Scheme which allows eligible individuals to sell their HDB flats to HDB, continue living in them (till 95 anyway), and get higher CPF LIFE payouts.

laokorkor

Value of your HDB does not affect how much you need to refund to your CPF. You shouldn't keep including value of HDB into your CPF balance.
I certainly agree with you that the market price of my HDB doesn't affect how much I need to refund. It's rather the principal + accrued interest. I think most of us here already knew this as this policy was in place for many years.

My purpose of doing this is for illustration purposes only and not regulatory. It's to show how much funds that originated from the CPF accounts can potentially grown to as my case shows. It's an attempt to showcase a situation whereby if I've no personal savings what the SG state can potentially salvage for my retirement (1.3m SGD) . Credit to whom credit is due and kudos to the Singapore old guards who devise such a powerful structure.

Peace and joy! Lol!

VicFirth

I certainly agree with you that the market price of my HDB doesn't affect how much I need to refund. It's rather the principal + accrued interest. I think most of us here already knew this as this policy was in place for many years.

My purpose of doing this is for illustration purposes only and not regulatory. It's to show how much funds that originated from the CPF accounts can potentially grown to as my case shows. It's an attempt to showcase a situation whereby if I've no personal savings what the SG state can potentially salvage for my retirement (1.3m SGD) . Credit to whom credit is due and kudos to the Singapore old guards who devise such a powerful structure.

Peace and joy! Lol!
Thank you for your sharing and insights. Likewise, I am like you, a strong advocate for CPF

Shared this two days back on another thread.

Did full VHR to my CPF over the years.

Now.

CPF Total $1, 192, 322.79

OA 602, 648.45

SA 330, 041.63

MA 79, 000

CPFIS 180, 632.70

50 this year.

CPF is a good bond component. I will probably increase my CPFIS component over the next 2 years.

tehhalia

Thank you for your sharing and insights. Likewise, I am like you, a strong advocate for CPF

Now.

OA 602, 648.45

SA 330, 041.63

MA 79, 000

CPFIS 180, 632.70

50 this year.

CPF is a good bond component. I will probably increase my CPFIS component over the next 2 years.

meaning you vhr into OA using cash then invest the OA via CPFIS?
if so, why not just invest using the cash and leave the OA withdrawn for housing + accrued interest as it is? seeing as that using cash to invest is less restrictive than CPFIS.

VicFirth

meaning you vhr into OA using cash then invest the OA via CPFIS?
if so, why not just invest using the cash and leave the OA withdrawn for housing + accrued interest as it is? seeing as that using cash to invest is less restrictive than CPFIS.
No particular reason. Back then more conservative and defensive then ease up to invest CPF

I do have a separate cash port.

yesaka

Currently i am 59 yo. Meet FRS a few yr ago..

When i looked in cpf website, they said i can topup to ERS or $24,800 to met current FRS. Also in remarks, they said by topup can claim up to 8k in tax relief..but teems and condition apply.

What is the t&c as interested in topup ?? Some say can topup MA, but where - cannot find thr option in the menu..(currently is 75.5k. ..havent deduct the MA for my private shield plan giro, so should br less in 1-2 weeks time...)

Many thanks

trave1er

When i looked in cpf website, they said i can topup to ERS or $24,800 to met current FRS. Also in remarks, they said by topup can claim up to 8k in tax relief..but teems and condition apply.

What is the t&c as interested in topup ?? Some say can topup MA, but where - cannot find thr option in the menu..(currently is 75.5k. ..havent deduct the MA for my private shield plan giro, so should br less in 1-2 weeks time...)

Many thanks
Medisave top up online application is here:
https://www.cpf.gov.sg/member/tools-and-services/forms-e-applications/top-up-medisave-account

If you are 59 you will be topping up to your Retirement Account to meet FRS. Likely terms and conditions is that can't easily withdraw any top ups.

KOPS1974

Now.

OA 602, 648.45

SA 330, 041.63

MA 79, 000

CPFIS 180, 632.70

50 this year.

Hi, like to check with you, when u do VHR over the years, it will decrease your principal amount first?
I am now 50+ but not yet 55. Thinking of doing VHR between now and 55. Now 'owing' myself $270k + and accrue interest of ard $70k+.

How much did you put back per year?

BBCWatcher

When i looked in cpf website, they said i can topup to ERS or $24,800 to met current FRS.
You can top up (or transfer) any amount into your RA up to the current Enhanced Retirement Sum (based on principal only).
Also in remarks, they said by topup can claim up to 8k in tax relief..but teems and condition apply.
For self-to-self you may be eligible for up to $8,000 of total tax relief based on Voluntary Contributions to your MA and top ups (up to the current Full Retirement Sum) to your RA. For example, if make total Voluntary Contributions to your MediSave Account of $4,000 and top up your RA by at least $4,000, you would qualify for the maximum available $8,000 per year. (You may be eligible for other tax relief based on other family members.)
Medisave top up online application is here:
https://www.cpf.gov.sg/member/tools-and-services/forms-e-applications/top-up-medisave-account
If you are 59 you will be topping up to your Retirement Account to meet FRS. Likely terms and conditions is that can't easily withdraw any top ups.
No, Yesaka already met the Full Retirement Sum. All OA dollars are already liquid. Yesaka has the option to top up more, in any amount(s) up to the current ERS. Then even more every time the ERS is raised.
Hi, like to check with you, when u do VHR over the years, it will decrease your principal amount first?
Why does it matter?
I am now 50+ but not yet 55. Thinking of doing VHR between now and 55.
For what purpose(s)? What do you want these particular investible dollars to end up doing for you? For example, are they destined for your retirement?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.