CPF Account Value Thread 2026

tehhalia

The ma currently cap at 79000. Last year 755500.
The cap increase about 3% annually. Ma interest about 4%.
If this remains constant, there is a small. Possibly to overflow some ma into sa with time?

When your MA hit cap? The 4% interest on MA will be transferred automatically to SA on 1 Jan, leaving a gap of new BHS - previous BHS.

Potent

Yes but if your SA hits FRS, excess will overflow to OA instead
Thank you for confirming. If oa then means withdrawal at 55 or to do some investing better than 2.5% it is growing.
The overflow seems to start a few years later yah..

dev_stg_prd

If this remains constant, there is a small. Possibly to overflow some ma into sa with time?
There is medisave policy deduction in march. Is this another chance to top up once it dips to 78k?

henrylbh

PETALING JAYA: The Employees Provident Fund (EPF) has declared a 6.15% dividend for both its conventional and shariah accounts for 2025.

The rates are slightly lower than the 6.3% declared for 2024 for both its conventional and shariah accounts.

With such rates, no need to drabble in shares.,

BBCWatcher

PETALING JAYA: The Employees Provident Fund (EPF) has declared a 6.15% dividend for both its conventional and shariah accounts for 2025.
The rates are slightly lower than the 6.3% declared for 2024 for both its conventional and shariah accounts.
Hypothetical Value of S$10,000 (December 31, 2024, to December 31, 2025)
  • CPF MA/SA/RA: S$10,400 (+4.0%)
  • EPF: S$11,077 (+10.8%)
  • VWRA (global stock index fund): S$11,566 (+15.7%)
Exchange rates and VWRA quotations courtesy Yahoo! Finance. Does not include broker commissions or possible CPF bonus interest. Results rounded to the nearest whole dollar. EPF dividend credited back to December 31, 2025.

Yes, 2025 was a good year for the Malaysian ringgit. It was a substantially better year for global stocks. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of future results.

compro_1975

shiok hor... haix

lzydata

Written Answer to PQ on CPF Extra Interest Threshold​

MP: Mr Kenneth Tiong Boon Kiat

To ask the Minister for Manpower (a) why has the $60,000 cap on CPF balances earning the additional 1% interest remained unchanged since 2008 when other major CPF parameters are revised regularly; (b) whether the Ministry will consider pegging growth of this cap to growth of Full Retirement Sum (FRS); and (c) how much interest do CPF members forgo annually because the cap has not tracked FRS growth.

Answer:

1. The Government pays extra interest on CPF balances up to a cap to help members boost their retirement savings through compounding interest. Since 2008, 1% extra interest has been paid on the first $60,000 of combined CPF balances. The Government enhanced this in 2016, paying an additional 1% of extra interest on the first $30,000 of CPF balances for all members aged 55 and above. This enables members with lower balances to benefit from a higher effective interest rate on their savings.

2. The CPF retirement sums, such as the Basic or Full Retirement Sums (BRS or FRS), are set independently based on the amount of savings needed to provide an adequate level of retirement payouts. It is therefore not accurate to link the balance cap to the growth in FRS quanta. As such, there is no interest forgone by CPF members.

3. The retirement sums guide members on how much to set aside based on their retirement needs. These are complemented by a comprehensive suite of measures implemented by the Government to help Singaporeans build their retirement savings. Over the years, we have introduced the Majulah Package, and enhanced the Silver Support Scheme, Matched Retirement Savings Scheme, and Workfare Income Supplement. In Budget 2026, we have also announced a CPF Top-Up for older Singaporeans who have not met the Basic Retirement Sum.

https://www.mom.gov.sg/newsroom/par...-answer-to-pq-on-cpf-extra-interest-threshold

BBCWatcher

MP: Mr Kenneth Tiong Boon Kiat
To ask the Minister for Manpower (a) why has the $60,000 cap on CPF balances earning the additional 1% interest remained unchanged since 2008 when other major CPF parameters are revised regularly; (b) whether the Ministry will consider pegging growth of this cap to growth of Full Retirement Sum (FRS); and (c) how much interest do CPF members forgo annually because the cap has not tracked FRS growth.

Answer:
1. The Government pays extra interest on CPF balances up to a cap to help members boost their retirement savings through compounding interest. Since 2008, 1% extra interest has been paid on the first $60,000 of combined CPF balances. The Government enhanced this in 2016, paying an additional 1% of extra interest on the first $30,000 of CPF balances for all members aged 55 and above. This enables members with lower balances to benefit from a higher effective interest rate on their savings....
The spirit of the question is laudable, but I think Jamus Lim might've caught the obvious problem(s) with this question as phrased. If you (only) raise the $60,000 bonus interest cap you're not helping every CPF member. You're only helping members that have total CPF balances above $60,000 (and assuming MA+SA+RA > $40,000). On average those members need less help.

Raising the bonus interest rate again on the first $30,000 — and for all members, not only those age 55+ — would be a more progressive approach. Better yet the government could replace bonus interest with $X per year deposited into everyone's CPF — arguably a form of Universal Basic Income (UBI). And then index $X for inflation. Or, if that's too "expensive," deposit $Y/year into the CPF SAs/RAs of all members age 35+ who haven't met the Basic Retirement Sum yet, with $Y indexed to inflation.

While I'm on this topic, how about dropping the Matched Retirement Sum Scheme (MRSS) age minimum down to 50?

royalmix

If you have "good ideas", feedback to the appropriate channel/authorities.

It took them more than 5 years to finally implement the solution. ;)

(of course not something which has already been implemented: eg. just get yourself disabled if you are below 55 to be eligible for MRSS, besides other conditions :LOL:)

s0crates

2. The CPF retirement sums, such as the Basic or Full Retirement Sums (BRS or FRS), are set independently based on the amount of savings needed to provide an adequate level of retirement payouts. It is therefore not accurate to link the balance cap to the growth in FRS quanta. As such, there is no interest forgone by CPF members.
3. The retirement sums guide members on how much to set aside based on their retirement needs. These are complemented by a comprehensive suite of measures implemented by the Government to help Singaporeans build their retirement savings. Over the years, we have introduced the Majulah Package, and enhanced the Silver Support Scheme, Matched Retirement Savings Scheme, and Workfare Income Supplement. In Budget 2026, we have also announced a CPF Top-Up for older Singaporeans who have not met the Basic Retirement Sum.
Great question by Kenneth, fair for all of us to ask why has cpf FRS limits and MA limits have tracked inflation, but additional interest has not increased over so many years?

Doesn't that mean that the blended weighted average interest rate of CPF accounts decrease over the years?

This reply from tan see leng is bad news for the middle income Singaporeans.

BBCWatcher

Great question by Kenneth, fair for all of us to ask why has cpf FRS limits and MA limits have tracked inflation, but additional interest has not increased over so many years?
Doesn't that mean that the blended weighted average interest rate of CPF accounts decrease over the years?
Probably not. When the Basic Healthcare Sum increases there's more room for dollars to earn 4+% interest in MA before spilling over into SA. And then when the Full Retirement Sum increases there's more room for those "spillover" dollars from MA to stay in SA instead of spilling over into OA (and lower interest earning). Also, when the FRS increases there's more room for OA to SA transfers and SA top ups.

lzydata

This reply from tan see leng is bad news for the middle income Singaporeans.

I see it as the government choosing to bring up retirement funds for the lower and middle class through ad hoc schemes like Silver Support Scheme, MRSS, Matched Medisave and so on, rather than an across-the-board interest rate increase that benefits all including those who already have the FRS or even ERS. The downside is that having many schemes, and ad hoc topups to boot, is that it is confusing and hard to keep track. Will those who are eligible for the schemes even know about them all?

compro_1975

the system is unfair... everyone should be earning the same amount of interest, it is the hardwork from individual, why do i need to support a person who body able and wants more but lazy? also, the interest from MA should remain in MA eg i have met BHS of 2026, if the interest continue to remain in MA, i would have likely to meet BHS till the day i am 55.... due to this, i need to keep working and working, even tho i wanna retire...

like wise, since many would had got ERS by mid-30s, they should be given the option to contribute lesser and thus having more take-home pay to sitmulate the economy thru spending or better investments

reddevil0728

the system is unfair... everyone should be earning the same amount of interest, it is the hardwork from individual, why do i need to support a person who body able and wants more but lazy? also, the interest from MA should remain in MA eg i have met BHS of 2026, if the interest continue to remain in MA, i would have likely to meet BHS till the day i am 55.... due to this, i need to keep working and working, even tho i wanna retire...

like wise, since many would had got ERS by mid-30s, they should be given the option to contribute lesser and thus having more take-home pay to sitmulate the economy thru spending or better investments
Pls raise it up to MP to voice it in parliament!

havetheveryfun

singapore is like that one ma u earn more u pay more tax.. jump is exponential also

but for CPF is actually different, because CPF has a salary cap, so even if you earn 20k, it is capped at 8k now

the issue with hitting BHS is actually housing prices.. 20-30years just to clear the loan and no time for you to build up your CPF again..

reddevil0728

singapore is like that one ma u earn more u pay more tax.. jump is exponential also
everywhere else also like that. in fact sg is considered very progressive liao.
but for CPF is actually different, because CPF has a salary cap, so even if you earn 20k, it is capped at 8k now

the issue with hitting BHS is actually housing prices.. 20-30years just to clear the loan and no time for you to build up your CPF again..
BHS and housing got connection?

trave1er

This is late, but it's not quite true that Medisave account cap increases 3% annually. If that was the case, I'd not be as concerned about healthcare expenses in retirement.

MA limit has gone up by about 4.8% every year over the last decade, which means it's outpacing the 4% interest by quite a fair margin. Also implies that your MA interest alone (w/o employment contributions) cannot keep up with rising healthcare costs.

BHS (Medisave limit) isn't affected in any way by housing payments... housing payments comes from your Ordinary Account.

YearMA limitYoY change
2017​
$52,000
2018​
$54,500
4.81%​
2019​
$57,200
4.95%​
2020​
$60,000
4.90%​
2021​
$63,000
5.00%​
2022​
$66,000
4.76%​
2023​
$68,500
3.79%​
2024​
$71,500
4.38%​
2025​
$75,500
5.59%​
2026​
$79,000
4.64%​
Average
4.76%​
Median
4.81%​

BBCWatcher

BHS (Medisave limit) isn't affected in any way by housing payments... housing payments comes from your Ordinary Account.
I think it's important to point out that there's no obligation to reach any particular MediSave balance. Having $79,000 (the 2026 Basic Healthcare Sum), $0, or anything in between in your MA has no direct impact on whether for example you can withdraw "surplus" OA and RA dollars from age 55. Only MA contributions are compulsory if you're a Singaporean citizen or SPR who works in Singapore (or in some cases when working overseas for a Singapore-based employer).

However, @compro_1975 might be referring to whether further MA contributions from age 55 onward land in OA due to "spillover" effects, and thus whether they can be withdrawn in lump sums as/when desired. Yes, in that scenario reaching (and remaining at) the Basic Healthcare Sum is useful. However, from a tax relief point of view it's helpful for the BHS to rise faster than the CPI because it allows bigger Voluntary Contributions to MediSave (VCMAs) with tax relief. In other words, try to understand the ruleset in order to optimize for it. In this case, BHS increases together with VCMAs can help you reduce your tax bill, increase your effective investment/savings returns, foster favorable "spillover" effects, AND finance your and your loved ones' medical needs.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.