CPF Account Value Thread 2026

yslvlys

i have high cash position because i have the typical issues aka very affected when lose capital but less affected when miss out on making profits which also affects my mood/sleep. Though end up sian also since bull mkt seems everyone is up tons but i still stick to what works for me. Trying to pivot to more invested via etf slowly.

I am probably 25% invested roughly. Lower than you, most of my outsized gains relative to port size is from crypto..
But isn't crypto easier to lose money / volatile, more likely to affect your mood / sleep? What are the cryptos u hold?

hwmook

Hello to my brother from another mother my man. All the gurus and experts are going to laugh at me for sure because stupid to lose value to inflation.

i have high cash position because i have the typical issues aka very affected when lose capital but less affected when miss out on making profits which also affects my mood/sleep. Though end up sian also since bull mkt seems everyone is up tons but i still stick to what works for me. Trying to pivot to more invested via etf slowly.

I am probably 25% invested roughly. Lower than you, most of my outsized gains relative to port size is from crypto..

You bought crypto still can sleep at night, I wonder why the negativity against stock while crypto is much more volatile.

Calthron

Gurus, my colleague told me , his MA is deducted, to mert BHS amount, looks like it's really taking many months for him.

Nanonited

But isn't crypto easier to lose money / volatile, more likely to affect your mood / sleep? What are the cryptos u hold?
I hold eth,btc, sol the boring ones and some alts. For crypto my profit dont come from buy and hold as i dont invest alot, my profit come from farming. In a nutshell, i try to go for low risk high reward but very difficult nowadays as i cannot trade well and opportunities for low risk high reward are lower..

hmm i dont lose so much sleep because i am losing profit, not capital. How to get profit with low capital is another thing though…

Nanonited

You bought crypto still can sleep at night, I wonder why the negativity against stock while crypto is much more volatile.
Hmmm.. because crypto offers opportunities where you can earn with low/no risk. Like risk $1 earn $20 kind.. or even risk $0 to earn $1… hard to explain and much harder now. So if i lose my profit after that i still feel ok. These opportunities dont need you to trade.

but stock market you must use capital or be a very good trader to earn generally.

BBCWatcher

Hmmm.. because crypto offers opportunities where you can earn with low/no risk....
I think you ought to be more specific.
but stock market you must use capital or be a very good trader to earn generally.
I don't see any difference in this respect. You can make wild stock-related bets using very little capital if that's your thing. Several brokers such as Interactive Brokers and Moomoo allow you to trade stock options, for example.

Nanonited

I think you ought to be more specific.

I don't see any difference in this respect. You can make wild stock-related bets using very little capital if that's your thing. Several brokers such as Interactive Brokers and Moomoo allow you to trade stock options, for example.
I give you a simplified example related to NFT minting which was the trend in 2021. If i earned the right (at 0 cost) to buy an NFT for $1, i can wait for the market to open to see if the market is transacting above $1. If it does, i buy at $1 and resell, else i dont buy. Why the buyers dont buy at $1 is because they do not have the eligibility to buy at $1 from the owner so they buy from the open market.

Its like options except the cost is $0…

BBCWatcher

Networking is one way.
Yeah, OK, but occasionally you can get free shares of stock. Brokers sometimes offer those promotions when you open accounts.

I think you're basically saying that cryptocurrencies (and adjacent contrivances) went through a VC-fueled phase when some rich people effectively handed out free money. Much like how my brother collected free pet food back when some VCs thought selling pet food online would be a great investment. Yeah, OK, enjoy your free pet food if it's reasonable to do so. That doesn't mean pet food is a great long-term investment.

Nanonited

Yeah, OK, but occasionally you can get free shares of stock. Brokers sometimes offer those promotions when you open accounts.

I think you're basically saying that cryptocurrencies (and adjacent contrivances) went through a VC-fueled phase when some rich people effectively handed out free money. Much like how my brother collected free pet food back when some VCs thought selling pet food online would be a great investment. Yeah, OK, enjoy your free pet food if it's reasonable to do so. That doesn't mean pet food is a great long-term investment.
Yeah if brokerages allowed me to open 100accounts and get the sign up bonus 100 times i would do it but they dont.

nobody is talking about long term investment.. just talking about low/no risk and high return opportunities which stock market does not have much. I dont think buying equities is considered low risk.. even banks themselves classify index etfs as high risk..

the way you speak seems to think very lowly of such opportunities but to me it does not matter as long as you make the most money while taking the lowest risk. nobody said you had to hold pet food, as long as you can get pet food for free and sell it for $1, i would do it till nobody buys pet food.

BBCWatcher

nobody is talking about long term investment.. just talking about low/no risk and high return opportunities which stock market does not have much. I dont think buying buying equities is considered low risk.. even banks themselves classify index etfs as high risk..
If somebody is giving you something free that has value that you can immediately realize, great. That's what's called an "edge case." Congratulations on those rare occasions when it happens.

But let's talk about risk. Bitcoin (let's pick that) is obviously more volatile than common stock indices. That's just finance math fact.
the way you speak seems to think very lowly of such opportunities but to me it does not matter as long as you make the most money while taking the lowest risk. nobody said you had to hold pet food, as long as you can get pet food for free and sell it for $1, i would do it till nobody buys pet food.
Sure, if you've found some rich person who wants to give you money, great, congratulations. I certainly didn't criticize my brother for grabbing as much free pet food as he could. Quite the opposite!

If you want to invest your own money, and you want a lower risk option than Bitcoin, a global stock index fund would be among the very long list of available choices.

hwmook

Hmmm.. because crypto offers opportunities where you can earn with low/no risk. Like risk $1 earn $20 kind.. or even risk $0 to earn $1… hard to explain and much harder now. So if i lose my profit after that i still feel ok. These opportunities dont need you to trade.

I see so you are a crypto farmer, not investor or trader.

maumu

Hello to my brother from another mother my man. All the gurus and experts are going to laugh at me for sure because stupid to lose value to inflation.

I'm even 'worse'. my portion of investments (or UTs, ETFs, funds) is only around 13% of my 'cashables' (savings, FDs, bonds, SRS, etc.)

been telling myself don't compare with others... play with shares and markets, need to be prepared to get burnt once in a while. I am okay to live a simple life and not pursue high returns in exchange for some peace of mind.

DevilPlate

I'm even 'worse'. my portion of investments (or UTs, ETFs, funds) is only around 13% of my 'cashables' (savings, FDs, bonds, SRS, etc.)

been telling myself don't compare with others... play with shares and markets, need to be prepared to get burnt once in a while. I am okay to live a simple life and not pursue high returns in exchange for some peace of mind.
If got enough liao, can liao.

There are some in my social circle that got burnt during 97/98 and basically quit any form of investment.

Potent

The ma currently cap at 79000. Last year 755500.
The cap increase about 3% annually. Ma interest about 4%.
If this remains constant, there is a small. Possibly to overflow some ma into sa with time?

highsulphur

The ma currently cap at 79000. Last year 755500.
The cap increase about 3% annually. Ma interest about 4%.
If this remains constant, there is a small. Possibly to overflow some ma into sa with time?
Yes but if your SA hits FRS, excess will overflow to OA instead

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.