CPF Accounts Value thread

blue_line

Some of your voluntary contribution will still flow into your Special Account, about 19% of it if you're within the age 35 to 45 range (for example; the percentage is different in other age brackets). That flow into your SA will boost your age 55+ and retirement savings, of course.

Ah. Thanks for pointing out. I guess I can use this opportunity to boost my SA savings too. I'll see how much difference I can top next end of this year then.

My bad, bro u high earner, already ceiling on SA/MA.
My take is for the CPF OA 2.5% interest; better to hold as cash.
flexibility for usage as cash then as CPF which will attribute as accrued interest
Yes accrued CPF interest is still payable to yourself.

Your point is very well valid. But I have already allocated these monies for my property purchase and don't really need the flexibility on it. I have tentatively a few years to go so why not put it in OA. It is paying me 0.5% more p.a. compared to current SSB. Anyway this plan will still be subjected to my annual contribution this year.

rrr2015

erm … i mean my brain not so bright lah :)
still trying to understand if 2018 earned interest that was credited in 2019 available for withdrawal without impacting SA & OA principal …
"Only for interest earned in the same year, up to the month before the withdrawal."

been thinking to withdraw monthly as part of passive income when i hit >55

Why you say you not so bright? :(

Sent from . using GAGT

erm … i mean my brain not so bright lah :)
still trying to understand if 2018 earned interest that was credited in 2019 available for withdrawal without impacting SA & OA principal …
"Only for interest earned in the same year, up to the month before the withdrawal."

been thinking to withdraw monthly as part of passive income when i hit >55
To me, I just use this rule: the smallest amount in your account for that month is used to calculate your interest.

I think it's easier that way.

Sent from . using GAGT

rrr2015

thanks for clarifying ... initially i thought i could just slowly withdraw based on last year earned interest. now have better idea on the amount to withdraw
To me, I just use this rule: the smallest amount in your account for that month is used to calculate your interest.

I think it's easier that way.

Sent from . using GAGT

limster

i went to cpf website, the Jan to Dec 2018 annual statement is not ready...

castafarian

...Yet another option is the CPF Investment Scheme (OA). If you have OA dollars piling up and your SA is up to the Full Retirement Sum and you have a reasonably long time horizon ahead of you, then I think the CPFIS-OA can make some sense, as long as you choose something low cost and prudent (and UOB's CPF Investment Account, which seems to be the lowest cost one available).

i like this advice.
instead of transferring my OA to SA, i'm gonna do some investment in the equity market, returns can be more than 4%.

addict951

Sorry if anybuttie asked (and somebuttie replied) riao :o

How come the 01 Jan ‘19 contribution to MA is still not included in the MA balance as of today? They want wait until when ****?

castafarian

As of now, if it is not at central location, you can call it depreciating asset, high yield if you are not living inside.

another way of looking at such "depreciating asset" is to treat it as cheap rental from hdb, if u live in that flat long enough, and NEVER sell....

castafarian

nothing to haolian about, my humble CPF stats:

OA: 152.8k
SA: 101.5k
MA: 54.5k

Capital used for pigeon hole: 42.5k
Accrued interest: 11.1k
remainder of hdb loan paid up liaoz

32.8k used to buy equities

addict951

nothing to haolian about, my humble CPF stats:

OA: 152.8k
SA: 101.5k
MA: 54.5k

Capital used for pigeon hole: 42.5k
Accrued interest: 11.1k
remainder of hdb loan paid up liaoz

32.8k used to buy equities
You ish which age group? :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.