CPF after 55

item2sell

Because they are not the right age or because CPF don't let them collect?
If they are not the right age...
Duh. If course cannot collect lah? Like that also make you think no one collect? You think the whole world revolves around your personal experience ah?

If CPF don't let them collect, pls stir more. I'm sure there are many oppies waiting to support your "friends" as they bring their story to the media or the courts.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My dad collected. Now can you answer my question?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
He's happy with it. What about my question? Which fantasy world are you living in?
Siao. You think no one collected and Singapore still so peaceful?
Because they are not the right age or because CPF don't let them collect?
If they are not the right age...
Duh. If course cannot collect lah? Like that also make you think no one collect? You think the whole world revolves around your personal experience ah?

If CPF don't let them collect, pls stir more. I'm sure there are many oppies waiting to support your "friends" as they bring their story to the media or the c

Can share What’s your dad monthly payout ?

it will be good to know how close the CPF life estimator are

Your Dad belongs to this group?
If you're a Singapore Citizen or Permanent Resident who is not automatically included in CPF LIFE, you can still choose to join the scheme.
You can enrol yourself when you’re ready to start receiving payouts, any time from 65 to one month before you turn 80."

:ROFLMAO:

8zaoyu

he has been collecting for the past 15years.

has anyone collected from cpflife yet?
Only those born after 1958 (now age 64 this year) can or must opt for Life payments from AGE 65, otherwise if born earlier, will be on fixed term payments, all back till their CPF all paid back, minimum $250 monthly if still have. I have known folks who do not have enough to be "cleaned touched up" before uplorry. I have seen folks who did and talk great before 50 or 60, but once a cursed incident came like cancer, stroke,liver/kidney failure, wished they had gotten and spent more on themselves rather not be mercy of illusive kindness. Right to say, long illness gets no long mercy.

item2sell

Only those born after 1958 (now age 64 this year) can or must opt for Life payments from AGE 65, otherwise if born earlier, will be on fixed term payments, all back till their CPF all paid back, minimum $250 monthly if still have. I have known folks who do not have enough to be "cleaned touched up" before uplorry. I have seen folks who did and talk great before 50 or 60, but once a cursed incident came like cancer, stroke,liver/kidney failure, wished they had gotten and spent more on themselves rather not be mercy of illusive kindness. Right to say, long illness gets no long mercy.
My context is my dad collecting from his private annuity. Not the CPF life payout

Okenba

Your Dad belongs to this group?
If you're a Singapore Citizen or Permanent Resident who is not automatically included in CPF LIFE, you can still choose to join the scheme.
You can enrol yourself when you’re ready to start receiving payouts, any time from 65 to one month before you turn 80."

Nope. Dad is on min sum scheme. I just clarified with him.
The sum he gets is comparable (slightly more) to what Tharman said those who would be on cpf life would get.
So your context is your belief that they will suddenly not pay those on cpf life after paying out for all those on the previous scheme?

Okenba

Not quite. Those on min sum scheme can opt to join cpf life so long as they are below 80.

item2sell

he has been collecting for the past 15years.

has anyone collected from cpflife yet?

Are you joking?
Do you really think no one has collected from cPF life yet?
Which fantasy world are you living in?

My dad collected. Now can you answer my question?

I can now answer your questions.
My fantasy world is called "Earth Year 2022".
I am not sure if you are on it. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

*Okay, I admit I did enjoyed it. But thanks for clarification.

Since you are so Pro-CPF Life, I am kinda surprise you dad didn't opt IN for the scheme.

Nope. Dad is on min sum scheme. I just clarified with him.
The sum he gets is comparable (slightly more) to what Tharman said those who would be on cpf life would get.
So your context is your belief that they will suddenly not pay those on cpf life after paying out for all those on the previous scheme?

Maybe you can point out which statement I made leads you to this "fantasy conclusion".

BBCWatcher

Family court now don't have to bother about CPF.
You seem to be blissfully unaware of how the Family Courts and CPF actually work.
They cannot make or change policies just to suit a few people but should cater to vast majority.
Nobody is married in Singapore?🤣 Currently CPF LIFE is reasonably well designed for singles.
A simple and fuss free CPF Nomination to the spouse can also do this.
Nope. CPF nominations convey only residuals, and residuals aren't life annuities. Residuals drop to zero frequently. A joint/survivor or joint/contingent life annuity establishes the monthly payout stream for life for both individuals jointly, and that has to be done up front to work effectively.
Easy for you. But a lot more work for CPF board. Means more budget needed.
No, not really. It halves the number of separate life annuities the CPF Board has to administer for members that choose this hypothetical option. There are no residuals to worry about (at least from RAs/CPF LIFE) either, and that's simpler, too. (The CPF Board currently has a fair amount of work to do to find nominees.) And I wouldn't object to dropping the CPF LIFE Basic Plan to keep the payout plan choices to three if the CPF Board sees fit.

Also, destitute widows (usually widows) are an actual problem in Singapore, and the bureaucracy is burdened with those cases via ComCare and other programs. Reduce elder destitution and you reduce those administrative burdens, not to mention the pain and suffering of Singaporean survivors.
If anyone can be partner, then government later have to handle disputes subsequently such as scams, joint with mistress or tourguide etc.
There'd be some rules about who could qualify as a partner, but the CPF Board already has to deal with such issues in CPF nominations. This is effectively a nomination, too.
Just keep it simple lah. Already so complicated.
It *is* currently complicated if you're married or have a significant other. Financial planning is much less complicated with a joint life annuity.
but seriously, the partner plan is not too bad an idea. but as what andrew mentioned. there is no free lunch. every advantage comes with a cost. the payout in the partners plan is lower than 2x single plan.
It depends on how it's structured. Joint/survivor (100%/100%) would have a slightly lower monthly payout initially (on a household basis) in typical scenarios but higher (even much higher) after the first partner dies, which is the whole point really: to protect your longer lived loved one against longevity risks. Joint/contingent is an "it depends" situation.

A hypothetical CPF LIFE Partner Plan would probably be a choice, although I can think of one possible exception. Let's suppose Legal Spouse A has a CPF Retirement Account funded to the Full Retirement Sum and Legal Spouse B has zero in CPF. Under current rules Spouse A can only choose an individual CPF LIFE plan because that's all there is. Once Spouse A dies there's no more household income from CPF LIFE, and the residual could easily be zero. (Just live long enough.) Surviving Spouse B then has to figure out how to carry on with zero income. Not pretty.

OK, now let's assume the Partner Plan is available. Spouse A makes a payout plan choice. The CPF Board could simply look at his/her legal spouse's CPF balances. If Spouse B doesn't have at least the Basic Retirement Sum (for example), then Spouse A would have to choose the Partner Plan unless Spouse B explicitly gives permission otherwise. For example. The government has a reasonable interest in making sure that spouses take care of each other to a reasonable extent, and this approach would respect the government's reasonable public policy interest in better defending widows (usually widows) against destitution.

vsvs24

Just wondering. For those government schemes that look at mean testing, is payouts from RSS or CPF life taken into the calculation to determine mean testing ?

henrylbh

there are more than one person that agrees with me that interest in the pool in not my money unless i live long enuf.
Why quote me?

It's unfathomable that anyone would ever think/dream that interest in the pool is his money :eek:

henrylbh

I read through so many comments and I think yours explain it well. The whole annuity game need to have winners and losers. In this game those who live the longest will benefit while those short life just "lose out". This is a very clever mechanism by govt. Basically they are pooling every members monies into a common pool and from this pool to distribute payout which means govt no need to pump in additional cash from govt coffers correct? And this is made mandatory for all members.

But I got a question in this game what if theoretically majority of the members live super long life then payout will decrease for each living member? At this stage will govt be forced to pump in monies to the pool? Or govt has data on the mortality rates of local elderly? If most live super long life I think soon they will review it soon like others say age 65 push further to 70 or even 75 or 80 what is stopping them correct? Since all such decision members don't have voting rights except in election day to elect the correct party in.
Whether it was the RSS or CPFL, the gov does not pump in money when CPF is exhausted. There is also no gov guarantee that CPFL will not be insolvent. Under RSS, members takes care himself individually but with CPFL, members takes care of themselves collectively. On balance, CPFL is better for society, though it appears to be a violation of individual's right :oops:

If members in a cohort are living longer than expected, the payouts got to revise downwards to take into account the balance in the pool. That why the gov got to monitor it annually so that payouts will be revised downwards or upwards gradually according to the balance in the pool. Otherwise it may be insolvent or left with money in the pool that is not exhausted. Whether there is cross subsidy between different cohorts, God knows :)

fr33d0m

Why quote me?

It's unfathomable that anyone would ever think/dream that interest in the pool is his money :eek:
How can you argue that when your higher payout is a direct result of interest from your balance, not average balance in the pool?

the interest is only a matter when someone dies, it can’t go to the estate and not inheritable. But other than that, the interest directly benefits you, not someone else.

Okenba

I can now answer your questions.
My fantasy world is called "Earth Year 2022".
I am not sure if you are on it. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

*Okay, I admit I did enjoyed it. But thanks for clarification.

Since you are so Pro-CPF Life, I am kinda surprise you dad didn't opt IN for the scheme.

Maybe you can point out which statement I made leads you to this "fantasy conclusion".
This is not about pro or not pro cpf life. This is about someone who thinks that cpf would not pay out for cpf life. Why in the world that would happen boggles the mind. As if CPF would suddenly pull the plug on people just because they are on cpf life and not RSS. That is a fantasy world.

dork32

put yourself in gov shoes.
Assuming basic give 500
Standard give 1000

when your cohort lives longer. And the money needs to be shared by more.

which payout is more likely
1. Basic drop by 20%
standard drop by 20%

2. Basic drop by 20%
standard drop by 30%
the numbers you give are way off
it is basic give 910
standard gives 1000
to some this 90 does make a difference. to me it does not.
and if you die at 80, the bequest is 50k less for standard. to me that makes a difference

dork32

If it makes you feel any better, the interest goes to you, but not to your estate. Since dead man does not spend money, it goes further to the pool.
this is fake news. you are right that a dead man cannot spend money. but sorry, the money does not go to the pool. it goes to your kids

dork32

It depends on how it's structured. Joint/survivor (100%/100%) would have a slightly lower monthly payout initially (on a household basis) in typical scenarios but higher (even much higher) after the first partner dies, which is the whole point really: to protect your longer lived loved one against longevity risks. Joint/contingent is an "it depends" situation.
did you mention that the payout is going to be lower in the first place? this is the typical way you make your post. you will hide all the disadvantages and blow up all the advantages.

and i am going to use your words against you. you can plow back the additional payout back imaginary scheme so that the payout can be increased over time

dork32

That is the gist I mention about what if not enough ppl die young all same as you live super long life? Then this game need some tweaking by govt most likely lower monthly payout and possible change 65->70->75->80 any time they feel shiok
you seem to be a bit worried that payout is going to fluctuate if people lives longer.

cpf life basic partially address this problem. for the first 25 years, you will not be drawing on the pool. you will be drawing down on your own money and not the pool. since it is your own money, it does not matter whether others are dying or not.

if is after 25 years then you start to draw from the pool. by that time you will not have to live. coupled with the lower payout, you will not be a burden to the pool

also since it is my own money, it is a left pocket right pocket thing. if the payout reduces, the ra will have more money to roll for interest. i dont really lose. this is like the home loan thing. you can choose to pay less every month. but the large loan principal will accrue more interest

for cpf life standard, your money is gone after 15 years. you would drawing from the pool from then onwards. since you are drawing from the pool, reducing the payout does affect how fast the pool is depleted.

many people can survive many years after 15 years, so expect the pool to support you for a long time .

since the pool money is not your money, lowering the payout affects you affects your money directly. you are not going to earn interest for the money not drawn.

of course the payout of cpf life basic is slightly 10% lower than that of standard.

dork32

Why quote me?

becoz you can see how some people post. some people really believe pool money is their money. some people bbc and tangent

dork32

the interest is only a matter when someone dies, it can’t go to the estate and not inheritable. But other than that, the interest directly benefits you, not someone else.
this is so wrong. first is you die before 90, the interest would be inherited.

second i believe i would have accumulated enough that when i die, there would be something for my kids. since i cannot finish spending my money, i should think about how to maximize what is left over without affecting my lifestyle.

and thirdly, my kids are not someone else. there is much resemblence of my kids with me. they contain half of my genes. it is through my kids that i lived on after i die.

and lastly, the way you post shows that you are likely to be unmarried and unkids. you will not understand how family people thinks

dork32

A hypothetical CPF LIFE Partner Plan would probably be a choice, although I can think of one possible exception. Let's suppose Legal Spouse A has a CPF Retirement Account funded to the Full Retirement Sum and Legal Spouse B has zero in CPF. Under current rules Spouse A can only choose an individual CPF LIFE plan because that's all there is. Once Spouse A dies there's no more household income from CPF LIFE, and the residual could easily be zero. (Just live long enough.) Surviving Spouse B then has to figure out how to carry on with zero income. Not pretty.
suddenly our fren is concerned about money after death. i thought you say when you are dead, you cannot spend anymore. so you should not bother anymore about money. a dead man cannot spend money. this is your exact words you used to support the cpf life standard. suddenly you are willing to take a cut such that your loved ones can get more.

i seriously am not 100% against your lala scheme. but it is the way you flip prata on your reasoning.

and also since the guy has frs, he could have transferred some to his spouse when he is younger such that they have 2 brs. the payout for 2 brs > 1 frs > lala scheme.

dork32

This is not about pro or not pro cpf life.
like andrew mentioned there is no free lunch.

cpf life has a lower payout, lower bequest but continues pay after the principal runs out.

some people prefers the higher payout, some people prefers the everlasting payment. seriously no right or wrong

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.