CPF SA Shielding hack - RIP (Obsolete)

highsulphur

Future expenses most disturbing and unpredictable are medical expenses/insurance. Now paying medical insurance premium is already a hefty annual expense with or without sickness till as long as you live with or without income.
Just these 2 days

2 ultrasound cost $400

A day surgery cost 10k before hospital fees

Good luck to us

royalmix

appreciate that you show the link. If true, I have to revise my worksheet which I just revised to move SA to OA.
Of course is true, to add on, you can also withdraw your MA interest together with your OA interest every year!

No more SA to block you, only OA is like ATM, choose what you want to withdraw!

MA interest will overflow to OA every year, so you are withdrawing MA interest every year!

Huat ah!

snowcrabramyeon

Just these 2 days

2 ultrasound cost $400

A day surgery cost 10k before hospital fees

Good luck to us

Yes pte with no subsidy. It's under company insurance so I went pte route. Appreciate we can't do that when retired
Appreciate you clarification. But when you quote a private hospital figure and then say "good luck to us", I think that's very misleading, since the majority of us rely on public hospitals which would cost far less after subsidy.

henrylbh

Of course is true, to add on, you can also withdraw your MA interest together with your OA interest every year!

No more SA to block you, only OA is like ATM, choose what you want to withdraw!

MA interest will overflow to OA every year, so you are withdrawing MA interest every year!

Huat ah!
show the link or reproduce the authoritative passage here instead of just saying it's true.

What MA interest you talking about when it's not enough to cover the premium deductions.

DevilPlate

show the link or reproduce the authoritative passage here instead of just saying it's true.

What MA interest you talking about when it's not enough to cover the premium deductions.
He simply joke that u can still rely on 2.5% OA acct as yr atm whahaha

DevilPlate

Future expenses most disturbing and unpredictable are medical expenses/insurance. Now paying medical insurance premium is already a hefty annual expense with or without sickness till as long as you live with or without income.
Yes, i plan to downgrade my pte integrated shield to mitigate the significant increase after 65yo

DevilPlate

To do that, would that be considered a new plan where you kena all the exclusions for pre-existing illness?
Downgrade no need change insurer…only upgrade need medical examination

So while u r yng, take the most exp plan and slowly downgrade if u wish.

highsulphur

Appreciate you clarification. But when you quote a private hospital figure and then say "good luck to us", I think that's very misleading, since the majority of us rely on public hospitals which would cost far less after subsidy.
fair point but you have to balance the waiting time as well for public health care. I would be curious how much a similar day surgery will cost and the waiting time.

I was able to schedule the surgery within 10 days

DevilPlate

fair point but you have to balance the waiting time as well for public health care. I would be curious how much a similar day surgery will cost and the waiting time.

Thats why yng take the most exp shield plan…..can go pte hospital and less waiting time…..
when yng, kena serious illness higher chance of survival….when vy old liao, smtimes surgery js prolong yr suffering and pain nia :(

snowcrabramyeon

Yes, public hospitals have to fully optimise the medical resources and as such able to keep the cost lower, but that also means slightly longer waiting times. Private clinics can standby resources for relatively last minute cases and as such their resources are not as optimised. Its like owning private jet (more expensive but the plane wait for you) vs taking commercial airlines (cheaper but you wait for the plane).

highsulphur

Yes, public hospitals have to fully optimise the medical resources and as such able to keep the cost lower, but that also means slightly longer waiting times. Private clinics can standby resources for relatively last minute cases and as such their resources are not as optimised. Its like owning private jet vs taking commercial airlines.
any idea how much a colonoscopy cost in public hospital with subsidy?

kickass22

any idea how much a colonoscopy cost in public hospital with subsidy?
Hi, you can check in at MOH website, they have list of rates across different hospitals. Not sure if it is updated with any changes in rates due to inflation in the past year.

fr33d0m

What that's got to do with whole balance of CPF, when we are talking about additional withdrawal from RA?

Anyway the example given is not clear or helpful in understanding the additional withdrawal from age 65.

Hmmm. It matters because that’s how the formula works…

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.