CPF SA Shielding hack - RIP (Obsolete)

TehSi99

any idea how much a colonoscopy cost in public hospital with subsidy?

There is information available on the fees.

The problem I faced is they won't anyhow make an appointment to do the colonscopy unless they are fully convinced you need one. My experience I they gave me an open date without wanting to do a colonscopy for me. In the end, I went to private hospital and they found polyps during the colonscopy..

QinWei

My quick take on the removal of CPF shielding. :LOL:

Poof! Goes the CPF Shielding Hack
but what is :
cF
2 ** too
LB,
RB means?
LW?

banks? did they really surge for the past 3 years esp from Jul 2020? till now
DW%20football%20club.png

wow, that 3 Reits!

henrylbh

Will these 90,000 people vote against garmen next time? lol
If vote again the gov for what reason - as though the gov is clawing all the interest that they have gained and going to gain to end of this year. They should be considered fortunate enough and were faster to bask in the sun while it lasted

royalmix

If vote again the gov for what reason - as though the gov is clawing all the interest that they have gained and going to gain to end of this year. They should be considered fortunate enough and were faster to bask in the sun while it lasted
Spot on! They should show gratitude cos the Govt did not claw back all the extra interest they received after shielding SA. Govt admitted their mistake, not your exploitation of a loophole, punished themselves for losing so much money from GIC Income by changing the rule publicly now to stop the continued bleeding from GIC! A discriminating old policy to benefit the rich, not the population of CPF members!

micheritan

What is SA for? Retirement.but 55 ,, our retirement nest burnt and a new inflexible RA created which locked in our Retirement sum. If the gov is so caring about its people retirement needs, instead of SA close, OA should be closed and SA maintained so that 55 and above have two retirement nests, one flexible with no locked in of funds and the other with lifelong drawouts. At last, after 55 , instead of looking for a comfortable retiring , we are left with an oa which is losing money each day as long as interest does not cover inflatiion...uncaring act. OA should close, all funds should go to SA instead after FRS in RA is met!!!

micheritan

Spot on! They should show gratitude cos the Govt did not claw back all the extra interest they received after shielding SA. Govt admitted their mistake, not your exploitation of a loophole, punished themselves for losing so much money from GIC Income by changing the rule publicly now to stop the continued bleeding from GIC! A discriminating old policy to benefit the rich, not the population of CPF members!
Not an exploitation. Due to gov itself policy ofmaking it tough for people to maximise their lifelong savings. If gov implemented OA closure after 55 and only SA maintain after 55, people wont need do this shielding. Afterall SA is for retirement but why close after 55 when we not even retired yet..gov shud close OA and all go to SA.

sohguanh

Not an exploitation. Due to gov itself policy ofmaking it tough for people to maximise their lifelong savings. If gov implemented OA closure after 55 and only SA maintain after 55, people wont need do this shielding. Afterall SA is for retirement but why close after 55 when we not even retired yet..gov shud close OA and all go to SA.
You need to know if say you are govt. You need to invest and give out more for SA 4% vs OA 2.5%. This group of age 55 may choose to retire no more working aka no more contribute to country economy. And yet you need to give them more you are on losing side.

My only grudge against them is our cpf monies you take invest earn give us some so what is 4% why so calculative? If no cpf scheme you also no monies from this channel to invest correct? So whenever I think of cpf scheme I will dig out George Orwell Animal Farm and read to soothe my hatred and anger. Bitter feeling so put on heavy metal music to soothe too.

In case some readers want to say not happy migrate lar. Please don't waste your breath and time to type. Thank you for your cooperation.

elvintay07

You need to know if say you are govt. You need to invest and give out more for SA 4% vs OA 2.5%. This group of age 55 may choose to retire no more working aka no more contribute to country economy. And yet you need to give them more you are on losing side.

My only grudge against them is our cpf monies you take invest earn give us some so what is 4% why so calculative? If no cpf scheme you also no monies from this channel to invest correct? So whenever I think of cpf scheme I will dig out George Orwell Animal Farm and read to soothe my hatred and anger. Bitter feeling so put on heavy metal music to soothe too.

In case some readers want to say not happy migrate lar. Please don't waste your breath and time to type. Thank you for your cooperation.
You can read GIC data. Government investment returns is about 4%. Not sure what they invest in

sohguanh

You can read GIC data. Government investment returns is about 4%. Not sure what they invest in
Oppo has asked before how cpf monies are invested and it was replied the monies are lumped together with other revenue streams for investment. By lumping all together it is hard to see say for only cpf component only how it is faring. Very smart answer gotta give it to them. Learn their tactics which I have been all these years.

BBCWatcher

GIC prefers to report annualized rolling 20 year real (above inflation) returns. In its mid-2023 report GIC said that figure was 4.6% in U.S. dollar terms. That's way above the 4.08% (current nominal interest rate, excluding bonus interest, in Singapore dollar terms) that the CPF Board pays on Special, MediSave, and Retirement Accounts.

However, you could argue that if the total interest the special CPF bonds pay is higher then there's that much less money that can be reinvested/reserved or disbursed for other public purposes. The latter is called the Net Investment Returns Contribution (NIRC), the portion of Singapore's government budget that the MAS and sovereign wealth funds (GIC, Temasek) support.

I don't think you have to worry about any of this. It's reasonable to assume that the government has powerful incentives to help elder Singaporeans defend against longevity risks, maintain medical savings accounts to help pay for growing medical care needs but with cost control in mind, and probably also save for purchased housing, particularly HDB flats. There are important policy goals in all of that, and CPF interest rates help support those policy goals. Consequently it's reasonable to forecast ongoing, substantial, enduring GIC support for these goals.

elvintay07

GIC prefers to report annualized rolling 20 year real (above inflation) returns. In its mid-2023 report GIC said that figure was 4.6% in U.S. dollar terms. That's way above the 4.08% (current nominal interest rate, excluding bonus interest, in Singapore dollar terms) that the CPF Board pays on Special, MediSave, and Retirement Accounts.

However, you could argue that if the total interest the special CPF bonds pay is higher then there's that much less money that can be reinvested/reserved or disbursed for other public purposes. The latter is called the Net Investment Returns Contribution (NIRC), the portion of Singapore's government budget that the MAS and sovereign wealth funds (GIC, Temasek) support.

I don't think you have to worry about any of this. It's reasonable to assume that the government has powerful incentives to help elder Singaporeans defend against longevity risks, maintain medical savings accounts to help pay for growing medical care needs but with cost control in mind, and probably also save for purchased housing, particularly HDB flats. There are important policy goals in all of that, and CPF interest rates help support those policy goals. Consequently it's reasonable to forecast ongoing, substantial, enduring GIC support for these goals.
No matter what they say, 4% sounds like heroic to them. Even 90+ Buffett with dementia can do better than that. Maybe only beat Cathy Woods. Even Dalio that underperformed market may win GIC

RedsYWNA

No matter what they say, 4% sounds like heroic to them. Even 90+ Buffett with dementia can do better than that. Maybe only beat Cathy Woods. Even Dalio that underperformed market may win GIC
I believe it's reasonable to assume 2% inflation. That means GIC's nominal returns should be around 6.6% (in USD) over the past 20 years.

In SGD, maybe around 5.6%? So a spread of ard 1.6%....

DevilPlate

Extra monies earn goto replenish reserves and also give out chicken wings mah.
BTW G run budget deficit liao……so expect more taxes lah.

DevilPlate

Those real smart ones will not join GIC mah tio bor?

U think Buffet and Charlie Munger calibre wana head our GIC meh whahahaha

BBCWatcher

GIC and Temasek have some investment goals that are not purely based on maximizing annualized real returns. I suppose we could debate whether they should have such goals, or if they have the best such goals. But the government makes some reasonable arguments I think. In particular, Singapore's sovereign wealth funds are sensitive to supporting Singapore's development. Put simply, they overweight Singapore-oriented investments. There are very reasonable arguments why they should overweight Singapore even if that means lower annualized real returns.
I believe it's reasonable to assume 2% inflation. That means GIC's nominal returns should be around 6.6% (in USD) over the past 20 years.

In SGD, maybe around 5.6%? So a spread of ard 1.6%....
Let's see if I can sanity check that...

I think GIC's 4.6% real figure was through June 30, 2023, so let's use that as one currency exchange rate date and the other June 30, 2003 (20 years earlier). Here are the U.S. dollar-Singapore dollar exchange rates on those dates courtesy OandA.com...

June 30, 2023: 1.35451
June 30, 2003: 1.7556

OK, so that quick "sanity check" suggests that GIC's real annualized 20 year performance is lower than 4.6% in Singapore dollar terms. Exactly how much lower is much more complicated and requires a lot more data, but lower seems very likely (unless I happened to pick some outlier dates). Does anyone know if GIC discloses the comparable Singapore dollar-based figure? The last time I looked (a while ago) I didn't see it, but maybe they do. I think both figures are interesting, that both have analytical value.

sohguanh

Extra monies earn goto replenish reserves and also give out chicken wings mah.
BTW G run budget deficit liao……so expect more taxes lah.
Dunno why never think of cut the obscene pay package but tax first. We get what we (not everyone) ask for. Animal Farm is a good novel. Read repeatedly to see how it gel with real life reality you experience. Shiok ar.

elvintay07

GIC and Temasek have some investment goals that are not purely based on maximizing annualized real returns. I suppose we could debate whether they should have such goals, or if they have the best such goals. But the government makes some reasonable arguments I think. In particular, Singapore's sovereign wealth funds are sensitive to supporting Singapore's development. Put simply, they overweight Singapore-oriented investments. There are very reasonable arguments why they should overweight Singapore even if that means lower annualized real returns.

Let's see if I can sanity check that...

I think GIC's 4.6% real figure was through June 30, 2023, so let's use that as one currency exchange rate date and the other June 30, 2003 (20 years earlier). Here are the U.S. dollar-Singapore dollar exchange rates on those dates courtesy OandA.com...

June 30, 2023: 1.35451
June 30, 2003: 1.7556

OK, so that quick "sanity check" suggests that GIC's real annualized 20 year performance is lower than 4.6% in Singapore dollar terms. Exactly how much lower is much more complicated and requires a lot more data, but lower seems very likely (unless I happened to pick some outlier dates). Does anyone know if GIC discloses the comparable Singapore dollar-based figure? The last time I looked (a while ago) I didn't see it, but maybe they do. I think both figures are interesting, that both have analytical value.
You are probably right. If they help some jiak liao bee SG giants then perhaps la. Our sg giants only become worthless and not like 100x like amdk

DevilPlate

You are probably right. If they help some jiak liao bee SG giants then perhaps la. Our sg giants only become worthless and not like 100x like amdk
I think GIC also have to follow a certain mandate…..overall portfolio must be diversified globally….(not just equities…..must be diversified across many different asset classes)

Some may say why not js 100% into msci world index funds? Can easily beat their mediocre returns liao? Whahahaha

elvintay07

I think GIC also have to follow a certain mandate…..overall portfolio must be diversified globally….(not just equities…..must be diversified across many different asset classes)

Some may say why not js 100% into msci world index funds? Can easily beat their mediocre returns liao? Whahahaha
Singapore culture is “thank you! You tried your best, this is a competitive world. Thanks for your great work and do better next time”.

AMDK “you sucks! You don’t deverse your pay. Next round LP remember you as top candidate for retrenchment”

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.