CPF SA

dork32

U still have not answered or share what is your choice of CPF Life Plan based on your own criteria/factors u recommended in your earlier post

it is obvious the way he post. he is going for escalating.

dork32

Doing this anaysis is what convinced me that CPFL is not only worth keeping, but maximizing up to ERS if possible.

there are a lot of people that will be going for ers here. you decision is correct since you feel that cpf life is good. if it is good, you should go all the way to ers.

unlike some people again. tell everyone cpf life is good but will go for brs.

celtosaxon

the problem here is because the cost of escalating plan is very high in the initial years. you will have to wait for about 12 years before catching up with standard just with the payout. and you have to wait another 15 years before the total sum + interest can over standard. you add that up, you are 93 years old by then. this is the reason why many of us as so turned off by escalating.

my calculations above show 12 and 15 years.

if an escalating plan that gives 8 and 11 years, may more will jump on board.

if it is 15 and 18 years, then just forget it.

I agree, the way it is structured today makes it very difficult for escalating to beat the other plans. In the scenarios I’ve run, it only reaches a higher IRR than the other plans in your mid to late 90’s.

That said, the difference in IRR between escalating and standard is not huge, so if the bequest is not a factor and if you have any shot at being a centenarian... it’s worth serious consideration.

dork32

Rubbish!

Rubbish!

to each its own. if i really do not have anyone to bequest my cpf to, ie i dont have siblings, parents, kids, nephew and nieces, i will choose standard.

i will not choose escalating unless they lower the cost to it.

dork32

I agree, the way it is structured today makes it very difficult for escalating to beat the other plans. In the scenarios I’ve run, it only reaches a higher IRR than the other plans in your mid to late 90’s.

That said, the difference in IRR between escalating and standard is not huge, so if the bequest is not a factor and if you have any shot at being a centenarian... it’s worth serious consideration.

correct, i have done this analysis as well. our numbers are not too different. this is why i will not choose escalating.

maple96

U like to tell others what to do but never like to say/share what is your choice and why based on the criteria/factors u recommended?

maple96

to each its own. if i really do not have anyone to bequest my cpf to, ie i dont have siblings, parents, kids, nephew and nieces, i will choose standard.

i will not choose escalating unless they lower the cost to it.

He never say that "to each his own"? He say if this then do this :s13:

(good night liao lor)

celtosaxon

U still have not answered or share what is your choice of CPF Life Plan based on your own criteria/factors u recommended in your earlier post

For me, the choice is Basic due to spouse and children... the bequest is a factor for us so we have to look at the highest benefit on a collective basis. If we use current life expectancy in Singapore as a guide, Basic should deliver a 1.2% higher IRR. Even after 10 years beyond current life expectancy, it is only a 0.9% lower IRR versus Escalating. This is an acceptable loss.

rrr2015

may i know why there is this payout range 1,425 ~ 1,573 when all start at FRS 181k?
Standard Plan for those turning 55 this year.

CPFL-standard-starting-Jul-2020.jpg
[/url]

henrylbh

may i know why there is this payout range 1,425 ~ 1,573 when all start at FRS 181k?

I also don't know :s13:

Likely the range is due to the interest rates (3.75% to 4.25%) used in the calculation.

From the table, did you not notice that those who turned 55 in Jan gets quite an amount less than those after?

chrisloh65

Didn't they say that RA will earn 4% p.a. (just like SA), so why become 3.75% to 4.25%? :s13:

Likely the range is due to the interest rates (3.75% to 4.25%) used in the calculation.

From the table, did you not notice that those who turned 55 in Jan gets quite an amount less than those after?

rrr2015

yeah i noticed for those who turned 55 in Jan
maybe they not getting additional monthly accrued interest? :s22:

henrylbh

yeah i noticed for those who turned 55 in Jan
maybe they not getting additional monthly accrued interest? :s22:

Quite clear that withdrawal (including payout, I believe) is inclusive of interest earned to the previous month. Jan payout has no accrued interest (as Dec interest has been capitalised) whereas Feb payout includes interest accrued in Jan and so forth.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.