CPF SA

dork32

Is $95K scary? Well, I don’t think so, or at least it’s a lot less scary than home prices in Singapore. It’s really weird to me how so many people think buying S$1 million plus homes is nothing to worry about but putting a tiny fraction of that into CPF causes great angst. It’s bizarre, so much so I think we need more psychiatrists in Singapore. ;)

the guy that say 95k is scary is probably not the same person that paid 1 mil for their homes

BBCWatcher

the guy that say 95k is scary is probably not the same person that paid 1 mil for their homes
I’m not so sure about that. I suspect that Venn diagram has a lot of overlap.

To reiterate, S$95K isn’t the relevant number here. The relevant number is some number at or below S$37,740.

fr33d0m

Sorry, I don't get your point. Can you rephrase?

It is not liquidity if you are going to need it for regular use. It is just saving to be withdrawn.

Liquidity is when you need it unexpectedly, it is available immediately; but you don’t need it most of the time.

zoneguard

It is not liquidity if you are going to need it for regular use. It is just saving to be withdrawn.

Liquidity is when you need it unexpectedly, it is available immediately; but you don’t need it most of the time.

I go by this definition.
The SA/OA balances (provided RA has FRS) can be withdrawn via PayNow, subject to bank's PayNow limit.

8zaoyu

I above 55. VC to earn the interest. Top up MA to get tax rebate.
Do some self employed persons contribute $37,740 which is the max to OA, SA, MA annually? That's $3145 monthly, high earner leh. If a young couple earns $7k combined. 37% combined contributions to CPF is only $2590 monthly. If over 55, on top of the Maximum To Contributions, can save cash to CPF for 2.5% interests , to the maximum of whatever OA that was used for your housing. Anyway all under My messages part of your own online CPF using Singpass. Most elderlies usually low SES feels that they (owe) CPF actually means that they owe themselves the same payouts that majority are receiving upon draw down date from 65. Tell them to eat grass and get a few $ more if they delay the draw down at 70? Our local elderlies are so "kuay- kuay" and by 70 they lack so many correct nutrients!

reddevil0728

Do some self employed persons contribute $37,740 which is the max to OA, SA, MA annually? That's $3145 monthly, high earner leh. If a young couple earns $7k combined. 37% combined contributions to CPF is only $2590 monthly. If over 55, on top of the Maximum To Contributions, can save cash to CPF for 2.5% interests , to the maximum of whatever OA that was used for your housing. Anyway all under My messages part of your own online CPF using Singpass.
why not? those businessman/woman can afford to do so

Okenba

I'm guessing for many grab riders, private hire vehicle drivers, they may not contribute so much.

The gig economy is probably not very helpful for these individuals. We will see the impact more when it's time for them to retire.

dork32

I’m not so sure about that. I suspect that Venn diagram has a lot of overlap.

To reiterate, S$95K isn’t the relevant number here. The relevant number is some number at or below S$37,740.

how many sinkies actually stay in homes less than 1 mil . most sinkies bto or resale hdb. it is not unfair to say that most sinkies cannot afford to fork out 95k at one go. 95k is significant to most of us.

the way you post just shows that you an out of touch foreigner.

yes 95k is relevant, it is the amount that you need to put in to raise you cpf from frs to ers.

BBCWatcher

dork32 said:
how many sinkies actually stay in homes less than 1 mil .
Many, but that's not the relevant question. The question is how many households have total real estate holdings valued well in excess of S$95K (the not relevant number, but more on that in a moment). "Lots" is the answer to that. Real estate investing is a major pursuit in Singapore. (Or perhaps you haven't noticed?) N.B. "Lots" doesn't hazard a percentage, but it's definitely at least nontrivial.

yes 95k is relevant, it is the amount that you need to put in to raise you cpf from frs to ers.
Which is not relevant to this particular comparison, between an "all three account" Voluntary Contribution and a direct Retirement Account top up. The former is limited to the remaining distance (if any) to the CPF Annual Limit, S$37,740 or less. The VC earns 2.X% interest, and the RA earns 4.0% interest with a 3.X% IRR obtainable. In other words, the RA is clearly the winner in terms of returns. In terms of liquidity, the VC wins, but if you have enough (or more than enough) liquidity already....

I think you missed the original part of this thread. You're welcome to review it -- it's all here.

BBCWatcher

the way you post just shows that you an out of touch foreigner.
You would certainly understand being out of touch since you own and operate a private automobile in Singapore. The median Singaporean household doesn't do that, a statistical fact that you find difficult to grasp. ;)

dork32

Many, but that's not the relevant question. The question is how many households have total real estate holdings valued well in excess of S$95K (the not relevant number, but more on that in a moment). "Lots" is the answer to that. Real estate investing is a major pursuit in Singapore. (Or perhaps you haven't noticed?) N.B. "Lots" doesn't hazard a percentage, but it's definitely at least nontrivial.

yes it is relevant. most of us do not own million dollar property. many of us are not well to do. the value of our property is only a few hundred k. we pay it thru our cpf and do not have much spare cash left. hence 95k is significant to many of us.

you are the one that like to use percentage to press people down.

dork32

You would certainly understand being out of touch since you own and operate a private automobile in Singapore. The median Singaporean household doesn't do that, a statistical fact that you find difficult to grasp. ;)

yes i own a car and i am well to do. but i still find 95k a large sum of money. it is out of touch foreign guy, that parachute in, do not go thru our system that is out of touch.

i dare to say this: you all sinkies out there, you definitely do not state 95k is nothing at all like what this foreign guy said.

reddevil0728

yes i own a car and i am well to do. but i still find 95k a large sum of money. it is out of touch foreign guy, that parachute in, do not go thru our system that is out of touch.

i dare to say this: you all sinkies out there, you definitely do not state 95k is nothing at all like what this foreign guy said.
BBCWatcher assumes that this forum has a lot of non Singapore residents maybe

fr33d0m

What laughable statements....

If I say that you give me 1 million today and I will return you 1.5 million tomorrow with guarantees from the government, will you say 1 million is too much to put in?

If I say that you give me $10, I will return you nothing, will you think $10 is too little?

polyglob

I'm guessing for many grab riders, private hire vehicle drivers, they may not contribute so much.

The gig economy is probably not very helpful for these individuals. We will see the impact more when it's time for them to retire.

Gigsters also don't get many benefits that employees do right?

dork32

What laughable statements....

If I say that you give me 1 million today and I will return you 1.5 million tomorrow with guarantees from the government, will you say 1 million is too much to put in?

If I say that you give me $10, I will return you nothing, will you think $10 is too little?

wat a laughable statement, you can take out 1 mil today then we talk.

also you do not take back 1.5 mil tomorrow. you take back 1.5 mil in 30 years time

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.