Creative soundcard users.....SIC

r3f3r3e

Hi guys, I am currently still using xfi titanium (Not HD) and pair with creative T3 speakers.

I am planning to change to a better soundcard, which 1 will u guys recommend?

xfi titanium HD or ZXR? can enlighten me on the choice too?

Hi guys, I am currently still using xfi titanium (Not HD) and pair with creative T3 speakers.

I am planning to change to a better soundcard, which 1 will u guys recommend?

xfi titanium HD or ZXR? can enlighten me on the choice too?

might as well go zxr since u r using titanium?

r3f3r3e

might as well go zxr since u r using titanium?

ahhh okok, cuz last time used to have a impression that T3 pair well with titanium HD haha..

But anyway deciding to change speakers also in the future so yea.. haha

any recommendation for speakers too to pair with ZXR?
I was thinking of either promedia 2.1 or audioengine A5+ with S8 subwoofer.

Need more suggestion and recommendation thanks! :):)

bhtan83

ahhh okok, cuz last time used to have a impression that T3 pair well with titanium HD haha..

But anyway deciding to change speakers also in the future so yea.. haha

any recommendation for speakers too to pair with ZXR?
I was thinking of either promedia 2.1 or audioengine A5+ with S8 subwoofer.

Need more suggestion and recommendation thanks! :):)

try looking at corsair SP2500 2.1 speaker.

shadow84

try looking at corsair SP2500 2.1 speaker.

Can wait till sept when the HiVi Swan GT 1000 comes in... supposedly a speakers for gamers, when that brand makes speakers more on music. so it will b interesting.

Teng Zai

What would be the pricepoint of the GT 1000?

Currently I looking at a pair of M10 Swan but don't know if I need a soundcard(xonar or soundblaster) to go with it. I posted this in the audio subforum, but don't seem to have any constructive replies.

So hopefully can get some advice on this:

I'm new to this 'mid-high' end audio stuff so kinda confused as to what I should be getting and what I should not, for my moneys worth.

Planning to get a pair of Hivi Swans M10 at $110, but I have a total budget of about $200-250 Including the speakers.
That would leave me $100-150
What should I do with the remaining <$150?
Get a better pair of speakers instead? Or get a Sound card/DAC/Amp?

I have NO IDEA of the differences between a soundcard/dac/amp. Which would I need for my setup and what would improve my audio experience best with the money I have to spend? Or maybe change the cables?

Currently on a Z87-GD65 MSI Gaming Motherboard which has Realtek ALC1150 Codec.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

bemylove

Which one give better sound quality among akg q701 n beyer dt880/990?
Found that beyer dt880/990 have variety of impedance (32,80,250,600 ohm).
Which impedance suits more for creative zxr?
Need advice from pros here..

generally the higher the impedance, the cleaner the sound. for zxr can drive up to 600ohm
thd only 330ohm.

for sound quality is actually up to one's preference, cannot say which is better since those are considered higher end headphones liow. not super atas but is affordable and once paired with your soundcard will sound tons better than speakers of the same price for music wise. of course for games and movies, you may consider speakers because they are able to boom boom boom with wider sound field...but not to dismiss headphones for gaming because you can hear better positional audio with headphones than even 5.1 speakers!

bemylove

Currently I looking at a pair of M10 Swan but don't know if I need a soundcard(xonar or soundblaster) to go with it. I posted this in the audio subforum, but don't seem to have any constructive replies.

I'm new to this 'mid-high' end audio stuff so kinda confused as to what I should be getting and what I should not, for my moneys worth.

Planning to get a pair of Hivi Swans M10 at $110, but I have a total budget of about $200-250 Including the speakers.

I have NO IDEA of the differences between a soundcard/dac/amp. Which would I need for my setup and what would improve my audio experience best with the money I have to spend? Or maybe change the cables?

if you are not expecting to use 600ohm headphones in the future, get the THD + swan M10. S$300 budget if you are particular about audio, no matter how improved ALC1150, the difference against THD is huge wor...like Retina ipad vs normal ipad. Text are smoother, colors are richer, contrast is higher, an experience you will not wish to turn back in future. :D

shadow84

Ext amp is more for high end headphones... Same goes for ext DAC... if paired with speakers, i think sound card would be good. Less ex as well.

any idea how much will that be?

Tech Dynamic frm blue forum says it will be sub $250.... Hivi indonesia FB have some pics of them....

Teng Zai

if you are not expecting to use 600ohm headphones in the future, get the THD + swan M10. S$300 budget if you are particular about audio, no matter how improved ALC1150, the difference against THD is huge wor...like Retina ipad vs normal ipad. Text are smoother, colors are richer, contrast is higher, an experience you will not wish to turn back in future. :D

Sorry ar noob here, thanks for input but what is THD? :s13:
No, not a fan of headphones. Speakers + mic all the way. I rather get a good pair of IEM's than any form of cans/headphones.

Ext amp is more for high end headphones... Same goes for ext DAC... if paired with speakers, i think sound card would be good. Less ex as well.

Hmm I might go with the Xonar DX($79.99 on amazon)!

Edit: Just suddenly came to me that THD = Titanium HD.

Duno leh $110 on speakers $200 on soundcard... Not sure if I can bring myself to splurge that much on a soundcard. How does the xonar dx fair against the THD? hehe.

If possible want to spend <$200-250.. like $110 for swans m10 and $100 for a sound card.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Soundcard so good but speaker cui also no use ~ That is only so much ur speaker can produce ~

shadow84

Sorry ar noob here, thanks for input but what is THD? :s13:
No, not a fan of headphones. Speakers + mic all the way. I rather get a good pair of IEM's than any form of cans/headphones.

Hmm I might go with the Xonar DX($79.99 on amazon)!

Edit: Just suddenly came to me that THD = Titanium HD.

Duno leh $110 on speakers $200 on soundcard... Not sure if I can bring myself to splurge that much on a soundcard. How does the xonar dx fair against the THD? hehe.

If possible want to spend <$200-250.. like $110 for swans m10 and $100 for a sound card.

I think get blaster Z shld be good liao.... read many problems with both, but ppl with both said that Z is better than DX, though it is subjective.... DX have poor drivers, though got unified xonar driver... Z has good driver support for now, a step up frm previous gen.

Can go head-fi and read up.

Or, you can splurge on speakers now, wait for BF, prices will drop to lowest or near lowest, and hoot from there. At least that's my plan.

Teng Zai

Soundcard so good but speaker cui also no use ~ That is only so much ur speaker can produce ~

Thats why I ask ma, if the money should go in to get a better set of speakers or get myself a dac/soundcard :s22:
So many mixed replies, from OCN forum, people telling me to spend half the price I get on speaker to get a DAC/Soundcard, whilst others giving me funny thing like $200 soundcard to pair with $110 swan m10 speakers.

:s22:

M10 Swans reviews quite good wor...

Teng Zai

I think get blaster Z shld be good liao.... read many problems with both, but ppl with both said that Z is better than DX, though it is subjective.... DX have poor drivers, though got unified xonar driver... Z has good driver support for now, a step up frm previous gen.

Can go head-fi and read up.

Or, you can splurge on speakers now, wait for BF, prices will drop to lowest or near lowest, and hoot from there. At least that's my plan.

Not planning to put more into audio le hehe. Casual user with bad ears(cant really tell difference of speakers unless there's a significant difference), meaning those slight improvement won't cut for me, I probably won't feel any difference.

Hard to say though, I've been living with those cheapo creative/edifier speakers my whole life.

What's BF ah?

But really spend $150 on card and $110 on speaker logical meh?? :s22:
Some bro's say is OK some say bad bad decision will bottleneck the speakers.
I might upz to a M20... but I kinda like the M10 more in terms of looks and reviews I've read. Might audition in cybermind..

shadow84

Not planning to put more into audio le hehe. Casual user with bad ears(cant really tell difference of speakers unless there's a significant difference), meaning those slight improvement won't cut for me, I probably won't feel any difference.

Hard to say though, I've been living with those cheapo creative/edifier speakers my whole life.

What's BF ah?

But really spend $150 on card and $110 on speaker logical meh?? :s22:
Some bro's say is OK some say bad bad decision will bottleneck the speakers.
I might upz to a M20... but I kinda like the M10 more in terms of looks and reviews I've read. Might audition in cybermind..

I think you audition it would be better....

Black Friday... it's a period of time whereby US have a lot of sales... Amazon as well... Happens on the last week of nov...

trigger25sg

Thats why I ask ma, if the money should go in to get a better set of speakers or get myself a dac/soundcard :s22:
So many mixed replies, from OCN forum, people telling me to spend half the price I get on speaker to get a DAC/Soundcard, whilst others giving me funny thing like $200 soundcard to pair with $110 swan m10 speakers.

:s22:

M10 Swans reviews quite good wor...

I have the same motherboard as you. To be frank its pretty decent for 2.1 setup but on 5.1 setup no fight against titanium HD or zxr with burr brown dacs. I have tried pairing swans m50w and aego 2.1 and corsairs sp 2500 and logitech 5.1 Z906 with realtek and titanium HD you will only hear a slight improvement on the THD but the realtek 1150 is pretty decent( Onboard sound does actually decent).

But on a 5.1 speakers setup, the difference is huge vs realtek 1150. Simply no contest. Titanium HD can only do 2.1 analog n 5.1 dolby so you if planning or got a 5.1 setup, get the zxr.

If you going to get the swans m10, i think the msi mobo onboard sound is good enough.

Teng Zai

I think you audition it would be better....

Black Friday... it's a period of time whereby US have a lot of sales... Amazon as well... Happens on the last week of nov...

Dammn that is way tooo long ):
See if poison can resist bo.. HAHA!

I have the same motherboard as you. To be frank its pretty decent for 2.1 setup but on 5.1 setup no fight against titanium HD or zxr with burr brown dacs. I have tried pairing swans m50w and aego 2.1 and corsairs sp 2500 and logitech 5.1 Z906 with realtek and titanium HD you will only hear a slight improvement on the THD but the realtek 1150 is pretty decent( Onboard sound does actually decent).

But on a 5.1 speakers setup, the difference is huge vs realtek 1150. Simply no contest. Titanium HD can only do 2.1 analog n 5.1 dolby so you if planning or got a 5.1 setup, get the zxr.

If you going to get the swans m10, i think the msi mobo onboard sound is good enough.

Bro If I'm right and you have same nickname in blue forums as here, I sold you a Rat9 that time! How is it now?
Thanks for your input, very informative. Guess I skip a soundcard, grab myself the M10 or M50w. I just don't have the space to go for more than a 2.1 setup!
Maybe wait till black friday or cyber monday and see how low sound cards go before I consider hooting one :o

Once again txtx all who give opinion and advice!!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.