Curious: At which point will EDMWers consider divorce?

couch.potato

Dun fantasize too much. Go out there n get 1 la.
Moving to Shanghai nao :s13:
Aiya look good on outside only. I can speak Korean and thus know that Korean men only look good on tv. So I continue dating my tv men :s13:

tv handsome men will never let u down. They will never make u sad. Sometimes they even free topless for u to enjoy their nice abs. :s13:

*really sound a bit sot sot

Philipkee

The thing is abuse can be viewed very widely.
Yes. It’s actually supposed to mean physical abuse but not all abuse is physical. But once you go into the realm of non physical abuse, example emotional abuse, anything can be considered abuse. So it’s really up to the individual’s conscience

couch.potato

Yes. It’s actually supposed to mean physical abuse but not all abuse is physical. But once you go into the realm of non physical abuse, example emotional abuse, anything can be considered abuse. So it’s really up to the individual’s conscience
Ya, I think life was simpler (but more brutal) back then that divorce can be justified more easily and… more categorically.
Today the world is complicated. We are both more free to pursue divorce (amongst other things) but also more trapped than ever (living in our small cages between work and home). Life has become both bigger and smaller.

so problems have also become more complex and nuanced… which is why I asked the question haha.

do people eventually give up even if it’s a minor issue that started resentment? Or do we still only subscribe to the belief that it is “big” issues or nothing?

ShinnAsuka

That’s actually a good food for thought.
If have this thought already, will stop having it when things change?

or is there just people who never even think of divorce before?
The correct order is of you feel a problem is the relationship, communication would come first. Thinking of divorce would be the last resort.

exception is abuse and affair/adultery

couch.potato

The correct order is of you feel a problem is the relationship, communication would come first. Thinking of divorce would be the last resort.

exception is abuse and affair/adultery
Ya, probably after many rounds of communication until no hope then think of divorce. So how much communication and compromise until it gets there?

Philipkee

Ya, I think life was simpler (but more brutal) back then that divorce can be justified more easily and… more categorically.
Today the world is complicated. We are both more free to pursue divorce (amongst other things) but also more trapped than ever (living in our small cages between work and home). Life has become both bigger and smaller.

so problems have also become more complex and nuanced… which is why I asked the question haha.

do people eventually give up even if it’s a minor issue that started resentment? Or do we still only subscribe to the belief that it is “big” issues or nothing?
By right, it’s only the big issues or nothing. By left, a lot of grey areas

Philipkee

Sometimes built-up resentment can be worse than abandonment. Got see so many older ladies finally at 70+ then talk about how they hate their entire marriage.
Yes. It’s very sad when this happens. If they were happy initially but over time it turned bad, it’s still not so bad. But if they were unhappy from DAY ONE, that’s really sad

li9ht5peed

So u are the compromiser lor which is not a bad thing but do u think u will snap over the minor things she gets annoyed over eventually?
she does alot of dumb things, but my tolerance threshold is v high, coz there's nothing too evil for me. conversely nothing is too good for either. i don't have a fixed concept of good or evil, but rather an elastic view which acts to constrain my speech & action to accomplish specific goals. i can adopt different personalities to put murderers and ministers at ease, or make them uncomfortable

kan-kon

At which point, what is the boundary crossed, that u feel must divorce riao no other way?
3rd party?

domineering?

whip-jhene-aiko.gif

li9ht5peed

Ya I can tell u
See handsome one scold u, or lying on the sofa potato, or little bit then guailan… is much more enjoyable than seeing a bbfa do all those things.

men on edmw complain girls become dinobu but honestly lots of singaporean men also become Dino after marriage… and still feel they quite yandao… :s13: girls got more 容貌焦虑 and want to keep pretty
totally agreed. my wife is very conscious of her appearance. my daughter same. i have to tell her to spend more time reading books & stretching her body, instead of sitting there combing her hair for don't know what purpose

couch.potato

she does alot of dumb things, but my tolerance threshold is v high, coz there's nothing too evil for me. conversely nothing is too good for either. i don't have a fixed concept of good or evil, but rather an elastic view which acts to constrain my speech & action to accomplish specific goals. i can adopt different personalities to put murderers and ministers at ease, or make them uncomfortable
Even though u abit OT, but I play along
I don’t think it’s evil per se.
Most times it’s just how one party deals with stressors, life, frustrations. So u, as the compromiser, always just receive it? How much is too much?

so by your words is it will never be too much. Which is great for ur wife and ur marriage lah.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.