Curious: At which point will EDMWers consider divorce?

Jude Raphael

Ya lor, but so far from all the responses seems like everyone still feels minor things bottled up are still minor and not true cause for divorce…

but honestly every other month ki pui bin also very stressful and tiring
Well, I believe in 积少成多的道理。It is more like a building up of resentment and unhappiness than 1 single event that triggers the decision to go down that route. So any reason that causes the building up of resentment and unhappiness over a prolonged period of time, may simply plant the seeds of doubts initially and then going "full blown" after one fine day.

It is like having a sand in your shoe. You may bear with it initially but imagine, you would have to put up with this ingrained irritant WITHOUT any recourse, except to either to throw the shoes away or stop wearing them completely.

couch.potato

Well, I believe in 积少成多的道理。It is more like a building up of resentment and unhappiness than 1 single event that triggers the decision to go down that route. So any reason that causes the building up of resentment and unhappiness over a prolonged period of time, may simply plant the seeds of doubts initially and then going "full blown" after one fine day.

It is like having a sand in your shoe. You may bear with it initially but imagine, you would have to put up with this ingrained irritant WITHOUT any recourse, except to either to throw the shoes away or stop wearing them completely.
I also believe.
Which is why I tend to think that people will have a threshold for compromising and suppression. Like maybe 5 years like that then buey tahan… or quarrel big one every other month…

but seems like most people still feel built up resentment also can change by communication and thus not grounds for divorce.

but of course, everyone’s opinions and views on marriage are very different and all valid. Just wonder if one day old already, will think 妥协 委曲求全 worth it, like good times more than bad times, or regret never burry let go and find better, more suitable companion.

Jude Raphael

I also believe.
Which is why I tend to think that people will have a threshold for compromising and suppression. Like maybe 5 years like that then buey tahan… or quarrel big one every other month…

but seems like most people still feel built up resentment also can change by communication and thus not grounds for divorce.

but of course, everyone’s opinions and views on marriage are very different and all valid. Just wonder if one day old already, will think 妥协 委曲求全 worth it, like good times more than bad times, or regret never burry let go and find better, more suitable companion.
Of course people do. The level of threshold differs of course. I have always believed that such a threshold is like a bank account. If we were to keep "withdrawing" from this account, it would soon deplete our "reserves" that we have built up. If you were to "withdraw" but put in additional deposits from time to time, the net amount after withdrawing for a X period of time, may still be a positive.

Of course, the amount of this "reserves" varies from person to person. A single event like adultery or physical abuse may wipe the account dry immediately with a "bank run". Other smaller events such as emotional abuse, neglect, feeling of abandonment and other vices (gambling, alcoholism) may deplete the "reserves" but after a longer period of time.

People change over time. If the good times are more than the bad times, probably the couple may decide to hang in there aka, withdrawing occasionally but depositing in the account at the same time.

Also, imagine if we were all down in our reserves and suddenly, a new bank offers MUCH higher rates of returns on the deposits. Would you choose to switch your account to another bank sooner?

yokine3a

These kind is mainly genetics. But skinny and fit are two different things. Many after give birth is skinny but saggy or skinny fat.
But my mum is fat 😂
Maybe they both have my dad genes more, hence skinny. I am in-between, not fat not skinny.

IAmChiobu12M

Irreconcilable differences so wide range
From financial sense difference, attitude towards family, to small things like washing dishes…

so hard to tell where people snap

my TW Zehzeh friend tell me apart from cuckold and beating all else is small stuff
To me domestic/sexual abuse is no no. And causing the family extreme family hardship or getting into debts especially loan sharks. Immediately must cut liao. Cheating all these I can close both eyes if he's fkxing rich and my life is already fully covered. I probably DC and just spend more his money to vent my anger.

couch.potato

Of course people do. The level of threshold differs of course. I have always believed that such a threshold is like a bank account. If we were to keep "withdrawing" from this account, it would soon deplete our "reserves" that we have built up. If you were to "withdraw" but put in additional deposits from time to time, the net amount after withdrawing for a X period of time, may still be a positive.

Of course, the amount of this "reserves" varies from person to person. A single event like adultery or physical abuse may wipe the account dry immediately with a "bank run". Other smaller events such as emotional abuse, neglect, feeling of abandonment and other vices (gambling, alcoholism) may deplete the "reserves" but after a longer period of time.

People change over time. If the good times are more than the bad times, probably the couple may decide to hang in there aka, withdrawing occasionally but depositing in the account at the same time.

Also, imagine if we were all down in our reserves and suddenly, a new bank offers MUCH higher rates of returns on the deposits. Would you choose to switch your account to another bank sooner?
Good take on depositing and withdrawing.
I guess 走到尽头 when either side or both sides don’t want to deposit anymore.

sigh.

couch.potato

But my mum is fat 😂
Maybe they both have my dad genes more, hence skinny. I am in-between, not fat not skinny.
Your mum maybe is menopausal also. Women’s bodies change a lot de. But ya, daughters tend to follow dad’s genes a lot. Haha.

Philipkee

Scared is not big enough issue so one side still wants to hold on but other side already miserable.

like I would never let my 185 da Shuai ge go if I marry him but what if he really don’t love and want me riao then I hold also make him miserable
I also want u to consider the possibility of a trap. Have issues not big enough to make u throw letter but big enough to make u upset

Years later, u cannot take it anymore, u throw letter and say wanna divorce and the lawyer say u cannot say unreasonable behaviour cos by the very fact that you held on means you accepted it and it’s no longer unreasonable

And of cos if u held out long enough, your marriage lasted that much longer and now she claims more for her alimony

She could be planning it this way all this while so that is why I say consider the possibility of a trap

couch.potato

I also want u to consider the possibility of a trap. Have issues not big enough to make u throw letter but big enough to make u upset

Years later, u cannot take it anymore, u throw letter and say wanna divorce and the lawyer say u cannot say unreasonable behaviour cos by the very fact that you held on means you accepted it and it’s no longer unreasonable

And of cos if u held out long enough, your marriage lasted that much longer and now she claims more for her alimony

She could be planning it this way all this while so that is why I say consider the possibility of a trap
So scary.
that’s the sad part I guess, will marry because got love at the beginning.
then become plot against each other or can’t even stand what each other says..,

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.