Cyclist, 69, dies after cutting across 5 lanes at Outram Road & getting hit by car, driver gets S$6,000 fine & 8-year driving ban

Joseph12

Before reach the current spot, should have at least seen the cyclist from behind already 15 secs or so ago.

Even if the cyclist is not near her lane back then.
How to see cyclist from.behind when he's infront of the woman?

You mean see him at the left of mini bus which was also to her left?

Sylar22

So much angst for road cyclists in EDMW. She did what many edmwer here advocate for. Some would say this is the equivalent of the Yishun noise uncle case.

Cyclist, 69, dies after cutting across 5 lanes at Outram Road & getting hit by car, driver gets S$6,000 fine & 8-year driving ban​

https://mothership.sg/2025/10/cyclist-hit-by-car-outram-road-die-driver-fined/

" A 69-year-old Singaporean man was hit by a car after he cycled across multiple lanes along Outram Road and rode into the path of a car, which swerved to avoid him but was unable to stop in time.

The 42-year-old female driver got down to help the cyclist and called for an ambulance.

However, the man eventually succumbed to a sudden cardiac arrest linked to injuries caused by the accident nine days later in January 2023.

The driver was fined S$6,000 in court on Oct. 15.

She was also barred from holding or obtaining a driving licence for eight years. "

A tragedy for the cyclist and rather unfortunate for the driver.

As a motorist, I find myself more "afraid" of cyclists than motorcyclists and pedestrians on Sg roads.

Joseph12

The part is the mini bus infront did not move and actually allow the cyclist to go first. The driver who drive the car should see this as am red signal. . Adapted there is a traffic light in front. .
Mmm yes

It's also cyclist's fault for not watching the entire road before him

If he did he'll realise lane one is white mini bus and lane two is woman's car
In such a case, he shouldn't even attempt to cross the road

Nakedtoes

Worst still dumb drivers need to pay high road tax, need to pay insurance. need to pay sky high COE.. The damed cyclist dun need to pay a single cent.. They can ride recklessly.. Song boh driver.. U really hope u can grow another 2 pairs of eyes on yr sides... Lol

Told u all ban cycling in all road except parks... Cyclists are a bunch of selfish persons..

Today I also almost kana knock by one cheese pie youngster ride out from lift fast almost knock into me.. I fxxk him upside down.. Dumb drivers paid so much now still need to kana fine and law that dun protect u..

Joseph12

Not that i am fighting for cyclists but why are u not taking note of your surroundings when u are driving? Just what's in front and rearview mirrors? You are suppose to be looking at your left and right too from time to time in addtion to ur rear and side mirrors.

And even if you were to just look ahead, before you actually reach the vicinity you SHOULD already have seen the general area, if ppl are looking like they wanna cross, should you slow down in anticipation etc.

AGAIN i am NOT fighting for cyclists here, the victim can be a stupid pig for all i care but the driver sense must be there. And it's not from the ''you are the car so you should be XXX or YYY''

It's for your own self preservation.
Basically a mini bus was to her left
Cyclist appeared FROM front of mini bus where it's a busy road , no traffic lights or crossing and encroached on her lane and she hit him

That's why I said
Its always best to observe traffic rules.and not do crazy things

I've seen cars did same thing for me
Stop in middle of road to let me cross or wave to me to cross
Uhhh thanks but no thanks
Cos similar situation almost happened
A car sped at right of car and could have killed me

Nakedtoes

That's why we all need to do is ignore cyclist bell ring.. Just walk like a big boss on pedestrian path.. Take note it is called pedestrian path.. Not cycling path... All this idiot cyclists u got see they dismount at void deck, traffic junction and bus stop? Knn. LTA is super useless org... Song boh drivers? No wonder many drivers die of heart attack now.. SI bei stress driving... Own what Ferrari also need to give way to cyclists... Lol

Joseph12

Anyway
I don't understand how HSA "reconstructed" the accident
And do they " reconstructed " all accidents?

When they say "reconstructed" is it use the $29 million dollars AI tool which use satellite imagery and time machine dilation technology to determine what happened?

Or "reconstructed" is simply take driver's car camera and whilst chomping potato chips say oh . That's 3 seconds there

Is there even CCTV footage of this from.traffic cameras

Akky85

How to see cyclist from.behind when he's infront of the woman?

You mean see him at the left of mini bus which was also to her left?
Yes, i checked google map this is a relatively straight road, 15 secs before the accident or so, should have at least glimpsed SOMETHING on the left, even if unable to determine if it's a bicycle, by then should be red alert.

Of cos i will concede under normal circumstances, it would be rather ridiculous of her to specifically anticipate that the cyclist would drift towards her with the mini van as the blind spot.

But what i was trying to say was, if something is weird on the road and a driver took note, should have raise alert in approaching.

Nakedtoes

"Her perception-response time was estimated to be between 3.1 seconds to 3.8 seconds, slightly slower than that of typical drivers under similar circumstances, the report found."

I suggest LTA to implement all drivers to go for above respond test yearly.. Need to obtain at least 1 second respond time then can renew license.. Else how to avoid reckless cyclists..

Joseph12

Yes, i checked google map this is a relatively straight road, 15 secs before the accident or so, should have at least glimpsed SOMETHING on the left, even if unable to determine if it's a bicycle, by then should be red alert.

Of cos i will concede under normal circumstances, it would be rather ridiculous of her to specifically anticipate that the cyclist would drift towards her with the mini van as the blind spot.

But what i was trying to say was, if something is weird on the road and a driver took note, should have raise alert in approaching.
Nah
Simple answer is cars moving fast on her left or many cars driving one after another would've blocked the cyclist from sight of driver on right

Ultimately like I said
This road is cross able even if its 5 lane
But obviously this old man SHOULD NOT have crossed it cos he doesn't have the "aptitude" to cross

Worst case scenario? Old man should have waited till NO CARS at all and cross
Is it possible there's no cars on that 5 lane road?
Yes. Cos there's a traffic light

Joseph12

"Her perception-response time was estimated to be between 3.1 seconds to 3.8 seconds, slightly slower than that of typical drivers under similar circumstances, the report found."

I suggest LTA to implement all drivers to go for above respond test yearly.. Need to obtain at least 1 second respond time then can renew license.. Else how to avoid reckless cyclists..
Don't even know how they did this
If woman is told to take this test, my advice is SAY NO

Nakedtoes

Mmm yes

It's also cyclist's fault for not watching the entire road before him

If he did he'll realise lane one is white mini bus and lane two is woman's car
In such a case, he shouldn't even attempt to cross the road
They are the king of the road, u dun understand? They dun need to look out.. U need.. They dun need pay coe, insurance n road tax.. U need.. U see the picture.. Just suck thumbs and be the slave driver n keep a look out all the time.. Best drive 30km/hr only so got ample time to react.

ahnyaahnya

Before reach the current spot, should have at least seen the cyclist from behind already 15 secs or so ago.

Even if the cyclist is not near her lane back then.
Yah she should have X-ray vision .
Then she would have been able to see through the mini van

ahnyaahnya

Anyway
I don't understand how HSA "reconstructed" the accident
And do they " reconstructed " all accidents?

When they say "reconstructed" is it use the $29 million dollars AI tool which use satellite imagery and time machine dilation technology to determine what happened?

Or "reconstructed" is simply take driver's car camera and whilst chomping potato chips say oh . That's 3 seconds there

Is there even CCTV footage of this from.traffic cameras
Was there any mention whether she had camera in car?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.