DAE 2019

Jemimah25

dun know wait until when,I am going to crazy liao 😥

I feel you! I almost had a breakdown two days ago regarding this. But I recall seeing someone post on this forum just last week saying they went down to NYP and asked when the results will be out and NYP staff said latest by end of April and that it also depends on whether there are any vacancies from people transferring/dropping out. Something like that ah.

Melvin98

I tried to apply via for DAE for TP Accounting and Finance in 2017, but unsuccessful as I failed the interview. Decided to complete NS first then reapply this year for Accounting related courses, but this time for all Polytechnics and was successful for TP and SP. Decided to accept TP’s one as I stay in Pasir Ris. Realised that DAE don’t require interview unless it’s unsuccessful and you wanna appeal in. So happy! Just started my first day @ sch yesterday :)

Dream catcher

Congrats and enjoy your poly journey. Did u enlist NS after O lvls? Means at 17 ?

I tried to apply via for DAE for TP Accounting and Finance in 2017, but unsuccessful as I failed the interview. Decided to complete NS first then reapply this year for Accounting related courses, but this time for all Polytechnics and was successful for TP and SP. Decided to accept TP’s one as I stay in Pasir Ris. Realised that DAE don’t require interview unless it’s unsuccessful and you wanna appeal in. So happy! Just started my first day @ sch yesterday :)

Melvin98

Congrats and enjoy your poly journey. Did u enlist NS after O lvls? Means at 17 ?

Thxxxx :)

I actually enlisted at 19.

I did my O Levels in 2014, and graduated with an R4 of 19 (-1 CCA Point) and got into TP Diploma in IT, but it wasn’t my desired course and thinking that staying on would be pointless, I decided to withdraw from the course and go for the Private Sch route.

I studied about 8 months in a private sch to get a diploma, however, I realised that private qualifications are not recognized locally. I then decided to set myself a goal to enter local university. But in order to be eligible, I need a Local Diploma or A Levels cert.

Hence I retake some of my O levels subjects in 2016 and managed to get an R4 of 11, after deducting CCA Point.

I tried to apply to TP Accounting and Finance via DAE in 2017, but was unsuccessful. I then tried to appeal in, but failed the interview.
Then the army had already send me my enlistment letter alr. I enlisted at the age of 19 on 11 Apr 17 and ORD on 10 Apr 19. And this time, since I wanted this course so badly, I applied all polytechnics. To my surprise, TP accepted my application and that’s where I am now :)

Sorry for the rather lengthy post XD

Dream catcher

WoW! I really admire your grit and determination. Happy ORD! And I’m sure that 2 years in NS also gave you the time to reflect on your goals in life. Wishing you every success you deserve. Just one qn, can O lvls certs of 2014 & 2016, be combined? Sorry I’m a bit out of touch here, but I thought that only can combine if taken in 2 consecutive years?

Thxxxx :)

I actually enlisted at 19.

I did my O Levels in 2014, and graduated with an R4 of 19 (-1 CCA Point) and got into TP Diploma in IT, but it wasn’t my desired course and thinking that staying on would be pointless, I decided to withdraw from the course and go for the Private Sch route.

I studied about 8 months in a private sch to get a diploma, however, I realised that private qualifications are not recognized locally. I then decided to set myself a goal to enter local university. But in order to be eligible, I need a Local Diploma or A Levels cert.

Hence I retake some of my O levels subjects in 2016 and managed to get an R4 of 11, after deducting CCA Point.

I tried to apply to TP Accounting and Finance via DAE in 2017, but was unsuccessful. I then tried to appeal in, but failed the interview.
Then the army had already send me my enlistment letter alr. I enlisted at the age of 19 on 11 Apr 17 and ORD on 10 Apr 19. And this time, since I wanted this course so badly, I applied all polytechnics. To my surprise, TP accepted my application and that’s where I am now :)

Sorry for the rather lengthy post XD

Melvin98

damm what a success story sia!! but just wondering is ur o lvl cert valid so long meh?

Haha, but parents paid for me to retake O’s as well as my private education. And they’re offering to pay for my polytechnic education as well. That’s why I’m determined to do well for my polytechnic years. :p

Of course, results can be combined from a maximum of 2 sittings, regardless of the year!

Melvin98

WoW! I really admire your grit and determination. Happy ORD! And I’m sure that 2 years in NS also gave you the time to reflect on your goals in life. Wishing you every success you deserve. Just one qn, can O lvls certs of 2014 & 2016, be combined? Sorry I’m a bit out of touch here, but I thought that only can combine if taken in 2 consecutive years?

Thankssss :D

It’s alrite, any 2 sittings are accepted, regardless of the year you take the examination. I combined my O’ Levels results from year 2014 and 2016 XD

Jemimah25

Can we still apply for Higher Nitec now? Like is it too late?

I think still can but they started school like 3 weeks ago so even if you get accepted, by the time you start studying there, you’ll have to catch up on a lot of lessons.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.