Daughter blames clinic for father's death: 'Staff did not treat case as emergency'

Philipkee

Thought if the heart stopped then If there is AED we will straight apply? Unless there is no AED available first then start CPR until AED arrived?
Yes. But out of hospital cardiac arrest cases, usually AED is not immediately available so start CPR first

of cos if u Heng collapse at lift lobby next to AED then different story

Philipkee

R u gurrybear?
Who? I only know gummy bear 😂

I do know someone with a similar sounding name in the same profession as me. Quite vocal on social media at times and I know it’s him cos he uses his real name. But it starts with J

runny yolk

I mean if my parent is in such a situation, i would straight away call ambulance and rush down. Emergency still got clinic?

Kia7200

Who? I only know gummy bear 😂

I do know someone with a similar sounding name in the same profession as me. Quite vocal on social media at times and I know it’s him cos he uses his real name. But it starts with J
I thought u r one of the ex stomp members who's username is gurrybear la

tanbrave

Sorry for her loss but how she knows her dad needed AED from the start? AED is used only after the heart beat stopped, not before right?

Also like others said, should have called 995 and went to emergency straight instead of going to clinic.

Really sorry for her loss. Rest in peace.
Need to resuscitation when heart stopped beating.Beating heart cannot aed,it will not send the charge.

halocast

Weird.

Should just call 995 to the house already what? :o

Scp173

Aspirin is just a painkiller

She know Heart attack coming she ask her father tak aspirin for F lol

coyote

Need to resuscitation when heart stopped beating.Beating heart cannot aed,it will not send the charge.

That's what I thought but philipkee said otherwise. He should be the expert.

doratch

Hmm...

Then she should blame her mother... how come she nvr call the ambulance to go to A&E straightaway? Instead her mum brought her dad to the clinic? And her dad was still able to walk to the clinic?

mummynew

Dynamics within a family can be complicated.

Daughter was outside and parents at home. Her dad might have rejected getting ambulance and insisted on going to GP first. Not sure about this.

A friend currently staying with her 80+ yo mum plus a helper at home. Mum has heart diseases and instructed them not to call ambulance if one day she gets into heart attack at home. She prefers to die 'naturally' instead of getting treated. Mum refused all sorts of CT scan / MRI etc and told her die then die lah.

Recently, the mum got into chest pain and friend wanted to call ambulance. Mum said the max she would go is to go to GP first. Went GP, then GP straight away called ambulance. Went to hospital, discharged after 10+ hours when the doctor diagnosed not a heart attack.

Old folks have ideas of their own.

xdivider

my gut feel is dad dun wanna go hospital, insist asprin can le........

Taloona

Reminded me of my late father. The year was early 80s and my siblings and I were still in school. 3am dad worked up, clutched his chest and woke mum up. He was sweating profusely. Mum was a stroke patient and half body was paralysed. Mum woke me and another sister up and told us to rush down to the clinic nearby. We banged on the clinic door and it took a while for the doctor to respond to our frantic call. He came to our house, gave dad an injection and called for an ambulance. Dad lasted 1 week in ICU before passing away.

Now my siblings and and I have heart disease too but we are more educated now. Heart bypass surgeries and angioplasty. That sister who went with me to the clinic had since passed away from a stroke. I have been taking statins since my 30s when I looked at my family history. My dad was only in his early 50s when he passed on.

The image of my dad clutching his chest in agony while perspiration dripped all over his body is forever etched in my memory. I did not know then, that he was having a heart attack.

SaintPeachie

Might as well bring to madonner and order a fillet o fish and then complain fillet o fish took so long to come out because many online orders and cannot save his dad

mummynew

Very bad experience from that hospital maybe. Real life experience

Many old people hold the belief of 去医院有进没出 and some will avoid.

Those 10+ hours in the observation ward that my friend's mum was held with my friend waiting outside. The mum was 'scared' to be among the so many other ill people. She didn't sleep throughout the 10+ hours due to the happenings within the ward.

My friend wanted her to hold on to her phone to call her in case she needed anything. But the mum said she didn't want to hold on to the phone as worried she might lose it. She managed to persuade the mum to keep the phone but at the end also futile coz the phone went out of bat.

The hospital is near my house and so I went to the hospital to chit chat with my friend for a few hours to help her kill some waiting hours.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.