DBS Treasures benefit?

raysdad

For me I use their products to hedge against other investments. Some of their structured products are basically cleverly disguised put options. With the right mix of underlying stocks, am getting around 8%pa. The downside is that I don't get to participate in the upside of these stocks I choose. Lol !

But my other hedge fund investments return around 10-12% y-o-y.

Very interesting and sounds very smart... trying to be market neutral and reap the yield on both ends? ... is it possible? if it is convenient, can enlighten us/pm some of these structured products...

Majestic12

Was it any good to be their private client? I reckon they would want to "help" you manage your portfolio and buy their product? Given their low FD rates, I find it difficult even to place a 100k in DBS, cannot imagine why one would place a few millions here? Any good reasons?

For ultra conservatives, they'll leverage the hell out of investment grade bonds. All in cost of funds at 1.1%, why not?

The rich indeed get richer.

elnewbie

For all 3 local banks, you basically design your own product. The specific stocks were pitched by me to my respective RMs.

Then they will check with their product specialist to tell you the yield, volatility, time to maturity, KO level etc. Then you compare against the 3 banks to see which one gives you the best terms.

If you are unclear of which stocks to take a position on, can also let your RM know and he or she can make some recommendations based on what other clients are buying. But in such cases, you may need to wait a while.
All in, just enjoy the free lattes and cookies while you wait.

Btw, I don't recall any free buffets at MBFC, but I could be wrong.

Very interesting and sounds very smart... trying to be market neutral and reap the yield on both ends? ... is it possible? if it is convenient, can enlighten us/pm some of these structured products...

sgdividends

For me I use their products to hedge against other investments. Some of their structured products are basically cleverly disguised put options. With the right mix of underlying stocks, am getting around 8%pa. The downside is that I don't get to participate in the upside of these stocks I choose. Lol !

But my other hedge fund investments return around 10-12% y-o-y.

Elnewbie, sounds like this pitched by uob ..

8-Month SGD Non Principal Guaranteed Autocallable Fixed Coupon Note with Memory Autocall
Linked to 4 Shares (the “Notes”)

4 stocks ,if all hit above a price level,u get 8% or something but if anyone hit below another price level, at the expiry date, convert your investment to the lowest performing share. I asked the banker what's the worst case historically based on all clients ever bought this , she gulped and pause then say 60%. Then I say return 8% , lose 60% , good meh? Then she keep quiet and no more pushing .

sgdividends

Hi all,

Can share what's the interest rate u or your friend have been offered for corporate bonds, say investment grade and the bank offering it, and if possible the status like( priority , private client or private bank client ).

Think this will be really helpful as it is not transparent.

mlmooy

They can send you to airport for free. Can use their limousine service.

elnewbie

My product works similar too but I will never buy a 4 stock note. Max for me is 3 stocks and I will choose all 3 stocks myself. Yes am prepared to hold the stock if it tanks but so far over the last 2 years, I've never had this happen to me.

8-Month SGD Non Principal Guaranteed Autocallable Fixed Coupon Note with Memory Autocall

4 stocks ,if all hit above a price level,u get 8% or something but if anyone hit below another price level, at the expiry date, convert your investment to the lowest performing share. I asked the banker what's the worst case historically based on all clients ever bought this , she gulped and pause then say 60%. Then I say return 8% , lose 60% , good meh? Then she keep quiet and no more pushing .

Majestic12

You are essentially selling put options for the premium - and you don't get the full revenue for them because the bank takes a cut. That screws up the math. :D

Majestic12

My product works similar too but I will never buy a 4 stock note. Max for me is 3 stocks and I will choose all 3 stocks myself. Yes am prepared to hold the stock if it tanks but so far over the last 2 years, I've never had this happen to me.

Equity linked notes are best paired with some technical analysis.

Single stock approach works really well when paired with a Knock-Out, say 103%.

OngHuatHuat

That is 10 dollars for me per single trip on Uber or grab, normally I travel together with my wife, so each person is around 5 dollars

They can send you to airport for free. Can use their limousine service.

sgdividends

When i ask the banker, what happens if stock split, capital distribution, dividend, ....causing a knock in event ,she also cant answer. But i found it myself.
"...calculation agent...in its absolute discretion..in good faith..take steps appropriate in relations to the Notes...binding on the Noteholder" .
Totally no control as a noteholder.

But sent chiobu...i cant think straight then.............

Banks are against customers. Your lost is their gain. If one kanna knock in, and they autoconvert your shares, they also earn forex fees. If customer win, bank don't get anything.

sgdividends

You are essentially selling put options for the premium - and you don't get the full revenue for them because the bank takes a cut. That screws up the math. :D

Banks cut is about up to 2.5% of investment amount , paid by the distributor. Banks also earn if you blow up, meaning knock-in event, as banks earn from the FX fees if you are forced to buy the shares. ( if the shares are non-SGD ones)

Actually, if im a big boy distributer, like a hedge fund, i can just short and make 1 share below the knock in price on final valuation date since usually just need to short the share to below 11% of the initial price can liao ( 11% because the banker offered me)...

elnewbie

11% is ridiculous ! Which bank is this ?

The 2 local banks I buy from offer 20%, so mine is much safer.

Banks cut is about up to 2.5% of investment amount , paid by the distributor. Banks also earn if you blow up, meaning knock-in event, as banks earn from the FX fees if you are forced to buy the shares. ( if the shares are non-SGD ones)

Actually, if im a big boy distributer, like a hedge fund, i can just short and make 1 share below the knock in price on final valuation date since usually just need to short the share to below 11% of the initial price can liao ( 11% because the banker offered me)...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.