DBS Vantage Card

Thai_Rak_Thai

I use the DBS Vantage cc as a general spending card, in addition to my UOB Prvi Miles Amex card.
UOB Prvi Miles Amex card offers 1.4 miles per dollar spent, and once I reach $50,000 spend within the membership year, I will receive 20,000 bonus miles and the annual fees will be waived.

When comparing to specialized rewards cards that offer higher mileage rates such as 4 or 6 miles per dollar spent, the DBS Vantage (1.5 miles) and UOB Prvi Miles Amex card (1.8 miles inclusive of bonus miles) will still stand out among other General spending credit cards.

I like both their annual fee waiver feature, once I reach $50,000 to $60,000 spend per membership year, I don't need to ask for any waiver.

Ultimately, the choice of the most suitable card depends on individual preferences and spending habits.
Similar to ocbc. Can get waiver for 50k spend. Seems reasonable

reddevil0728

why everyone talking abt this card... citi prestige no gd ah????
because this is the dbs vantage thread hence ppl talk about it what. if you want to talk about citi prestige then talk in that thread? or if dun have create 1?

Wu-Han Clan

because this is the dbs vantage thread hence ppl talk about it what. if you want to talk about citi prestige then talk in that thread? or if dun have create 1?
mayb i wasnt clear enough.... ppl tend to talk abt whats gd... so im asking becoz i might nt be understanding this card since this thread can hit 13 pages but i dont see the citi prestige thread at all....

ppl who sign up this card shld oso v likely considered the citi prestige since they are similar tier cards..... so im not asking to talk abt citi prestige... im asking wht is the best thing abt the dbs vantage tt draws so many ppl.... mayb is easier to understand nw...

fredriv1929

Thinking of cancelling CITI Prestige and applying for Vantage eventually - the Accor plus seems quite an attractive proposition with my intention to use for overseas hotel (esp Bangkok).

For Citi i got it previously due to the miles promotion but i'm already in my 2nd year although technically i could 'recover' the annual fee based on usage of lounges (PP unlimited) with like 16-17 visits / calendar year, clocking up enough via Citi Payall for limo ride and then the 25k miles points. But actually limo and the lounges are something i can do w/o or replace with cheaper options like GRAB/taxi, etc and there's also fee involved for Citipayall. Also due to my travel behavior i have yet to 'use' the 4th night free with Citi Prestige, and i also tend to go for value-for-money stays for hotels,

If with Accor plus seems i could recover the annual fee via the hotel stay and dining. 10 x PP is limited but also means i do not 'force' myself to lounge sometimes.

For OCBC voyage which i also thought of, the plaza premium lounge is significant less attractive which is a bumper.

Thai_Rak_Thai

Thinking of cancelling CITI Prestige and applying for Vantage eventually - the Accor plus seems quite an attractive proposition with my intention to use for overseas hotel (esp Bangkok).

For Citi i got it previously due to the miles promotion but i'm already in my 2nd year although technically i could 'recover' the annual fee based on usage of lounges (PP unlimited) with like 16-17 visits / calendar year, clocking up enough via Citi Payall for limo ride and then the 25k miles points. But actually limo and the lounges are something i can do w/o or replace with cheaper options like GRAB/taxi, etc and there's also fee involved for Citipayall. Also due to my travel behavior i have yet to 'use' the 4th night free with Citi Prestige, and i also tend to go for value-for-money stays for hotels,

If with Accor plus seems i could recover the annual fee via the hotel stay and dining. 10 x PP is limited but also means i do not 'force' myself to lounge sometimes.

For OCBC voyage which i also thought of, the plaza premium lounge is significant less attractive which is a bumper.
Citi doesn’t have $5 blocks for spending

superzheny

Those with vantage card, understand website say spend 60k/year to get af waiver. How strict is dbs with this?

Extremme

I tink one of the peaks is also the free airport lounge which usually are offered for those premium cards?

Thai_Rak_Thai

Those with vantage card, understand website say spend 60k/year to get af waiver. How strict is dbs with this?
If i use ocbc as an example, they track the 60,000k spending the calendar year. in each monthly statement you get to see how much you’ve spend currently and how much more is required before the one year deadline.
So once I clocked the requirement my annual fee will be charged and reversed at anniversary month. And do note you don’t get the voyage points even though you qualify for the waiver

purplewave

automatically done, didn't even notice anything since they auto waived and reflected in the statement. I spent more than 100k the preceding year

superzheny

automatically done, didn't even notice anything since they auto waived and reflected in the statement. I spent more than 100k the preceding year

I have since spent about 62k since getting the card in March 2023. However some of it are things like road tax, axs payments, hdb season parking, organisation membership fees etc.

Depending on how tight/loose I calculate that total amount, it could be either 1k-3k.

If possible I would like to not intentionally spend more on the vantage card just to hit 60k, rather channel it to a higher mpd card.

For the 60k annual spend, does dbs also have exclusions?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.