Defining a man's wardrobe

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

ahboy82

If one has to choose between the two, I would go for the straight, and may have them tapered below the calves, although my preference now is usually straight leg down. MTM/Bespoke is another league altogether, but the results definitely warrant the effort and price.

There are better alternatives elsewhere, would rather tailor for pants.

i dun mean business pants, those more casual pants or chinos. i dun think got tailor all these right?

all my biz pants and shirts are tailored one.

Bapenigo

If one has to choose between the two, I would go for the straight, and may have them tapered below the calves, although my preference now is usually straight leg down. MTM/Bespoke is another league altogether, but the results definitely warrant the effort and price.

There are better alternatives elsewhere, would rather tailor for pants.
Have you tried tailored chinos? Thinking of doing one since I can't find a perfect chinos elsewhere. And moreover, tailored ones are more durable(long lasting) and perfect fit.
I like my chinos to be thick, maybe don't know how many oz.

Bapenigo

i dun mean business pants, those more casual pants or chinos. i dun think got tailor all these right?

all my biz pants and shirts are tailored one.
I think got leh. Think tailor can do chinos pants. Don't know what kind of fabric are there to choose from.

Lippyt

Something else to add on building a well varied wardrobe:

Neckties, always preferably in silk. Try to get deep colours if you are wearing lighter colour shirts, a mistake many locals make is to match a light colour shirt (like lavender or light purple) with a tie of the same tone.

Colours that can never go wrong with white or a light blue shirt include deep red, navy and dark green. Plain ties and Foulards - (ties with equally spaced shapes) can go with both solid and striped shirts.

Have to say that I have not seen the dark green with white/blue shirt combo which looks absolutely wicked.

A wide selection of neckties would introduce much variation to a wardrobe with a small selection of dress shirts.

dj_flame

Good point there, one can never have enough of tees and shorts in Singapore. Questions is, where to get good quality tees?
Sifr. My preference is to size up for a looser, drapey effect but some might prefer a tighter, more stream-lined fit.

Something about neckties
I agree, but your job doesn't require a necktie, no need to spend on a tie wardrobe. I subscribe to the "convenient dressing"philosophy. :D

BTW I do own a forest green grenadine from Kent Wang. I like pairing it with my blue shirts.

5856449530_4e6183cc06_b_1.jpg

for me, the black shirt,
no black shirts. Hello serving staff/ retail assistant.

IMO only this outfit can incorporate a black shirt. Will be awesome for clubbing (please don't wear to office if you're not some highflyer):
chris_hemsworth_grey_suit_blac.jpg

dj_flame

Also for those wanting to buy cheap chinos, I recommend uniqlo vintage chinos as well. (Should read "vintage chino" on item tag)

Durable cotton canvas, slim but not skinny fit, on sale only 49.50. If you think the fit is not slim enough, you can tailor them. The fabric blows H&M's out of the water. I own 4 pairs to trash for past 3 years, still going strong.

tang63

i have a pair of chinos from topmen. after a few washes the chino start to 起毛, lousy quality,

for zara i oni have several jeans from them. quality quite good imo, so i was thinking maybe their pants/chinos will be good also. juz wanted to check if anyone got feedback on their pants.

Also for those wanting to buy cheap chinos, I recommend uniqlo vintage chinos as well. (Should read "vintage chino" on item tag)

Durable cotton canvas, slim but not skinny fit, on sale only 49.50. If you think the fit is not slim enough, you can tailor them. The fabric blows H&M's out of the water. I own 4 pairs to trash for past 3 years, still going strong.

jialat liao. i bought topman chinos last week :/

but good to know that uniqlo chinos are good. haha! i still have 3 pairs of jeans from uniqlo slim fit, not bad too!

ahboy82

ok i will go take a look at uniqlo i guess

alexmcqueen

since so much talk abt chinos, there is a brand call slowear.
it was called incotex in the past. makes very good chinos. can find them at mrporter.com

dj_flame

Slowear / Incos are great quality but the price point jumps up significantly. Best bet is to scour Styleforum for deals, or buy overseas where its really more affordable. Not paying Mr Porter's prices.

In fact there are many SFs threads with Incos for USD 50-80 + shipping. Be warned though, they fit slim but are more of a straight leg than a tapered one.

deadbeat

grey suit is nice but i think it contrasts pretty badly on asian chinese skin. the grey washes out the light skin tones....

cant find a nice doublemonks. recently bought a pair of grey suede brogues. thinking of getting a navy blue version 1 as well.

noinimod

grey suit is nice but i think it contrasts pretty badly on asian chinese skin. the grey washes out the light skin tones....
going by that logic, caucasians with their even lighter skin tone look terrible in grey suits? :s22:

i think it really depends on what kind of grey we're talking about. Sounds like you're talking about light grey, which is harder to pull off than a dark grey suit.

Seannie

seems like shoes form the most important part of the wardrobe?

if i am out of budget, can i just focus on certain areas of my wardrobe, eg just buy nice shoes and the rest like clothes just average will do?

electronics

if i am out of budget, can i just focus on certain areas of my wardrobe, eg just buy nice shoes and the rest like clothes just average will do?

I think to look nice from top to bottom should really match or compliment each items. Don't have to be all branded though. Will look like PRC.

tang63

Just to add on abt uniqlo's chinos, for thin ppl looking for size 28' dont bother. I tried their slim fit chinos and it was quite baggy in comparison to topman's chinos slim fit which had very good cutting and good fitting.

dj_flame

^Yeah i actually agree.

Im a waist 31-32, and uniqlo generally fits me well.

Bigger people rejoice.

ahboy82

I think to look nice from top to bottom should really match or compliment each items. Don't have to be all branded though. Will look like PRC.

ya la.......dun need all branded la seannie bro. wat is impt is to match all of them nicely.

ahboy82

^Yeah i actually agree.

Im a waist 31-32, and uniqlo generally fits me well.

Bigger people rejoice.

that;s great. maybe i will go check them out.

i find topman cutting generally much slimmer yes, but quality is cui big time if u ask me. plus much more expensive than uniqlo somemore. for topman prices i think i will look at zara.

i wont go back to topman after their chinos disappoint me, :(:(:(

deadbeat

going by that logic, caucasians with their even lighter skin tone look terrible in grey suits? :s22:

i think it really depends on what kind of grey we're talking about. Sounds like you're talking about light grey, which is harder to pull off than a dark grey suit.

maybe its the chinese yellow undertone? some caucasians are more tanned in a way.

Seannie

ya la.......dun need all branded la seannie bro. wat is impt is to match all of them nicely.

ahboy, can you be my matching consultant boh? I never all branded lei, my shirts all cheap cheap nia. I am a fashion flop, really need good advice lei. I am also fair skin like you. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.