Defining a man's wardrobe

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

ahboy82

ahboy, can you be my matching consultant boh? I never all branded lei, my shirts all cheap cheap nia. I am a fashion flop, really need good advice lei. I am also fair skin like you. :D

dun need fashion la. u got ger already still need what fashion?

Seannie

dun need fashion la. u got ger already still need what fashion?

ya very true, got ger no need fashion, need loads of cold hard cash. very stress lei everyday thinking how to get more $ for ger to spend. Then still got to dress well else will say u make her lose face lei. :s13:

arctuates

Don't forget a good watch - doesn't have to cost thousands, even a vintage seiko on a leather NATO strap can get a ton of compliments.

A good bag is also important. No point dressing well and carrying a backpack to work. Versatility also a useful trait... My filson 256 works with both casuals and suits.

Seannie

errrr... watch really essential mah? I carry backpakc to work becos its more practical for me leh, so tat i can have free hands to hold on to the mrt handrails, rub my eyes etc, and not forgeting sometimes go public toilet sibeh dirty etc..

ahboy82

errrr... watch really essential mah? I carry backpakc to work becos its more practical for me leh, so tat i can have free hands to hold on to the mrt handrails, rub my eyes etc, and not forgeting sometimes go public toilet sibeh dirty etc..

i still think watch is more impt than a bag.

anyway backpacks are really like for schling...i personally dun recommend.....

ahboy82

ya very true, got ger no need fashion, need loads of cold hard cash. very stress lei everyday thinking how to get more $ for ger to spend. Then still got to dress well else will say u make her lose face lei. :s13:

just dress decent can already la.

arctuates

Sure, you can choose not to wear one. But why scrimp? When you're dressed in jeans and a white shirt, its the basic accessories which define and complete your look. Moreover, it doesn't cost a lot to wear a decent timepiece, just requires a little hard work on research to pick something that fits the bill of this thread - "classic, timeless and incredibly versatile in many ways". I dug up my dad's old Seiko, serviced it for 50 bucks, got a strap in a trade with a friend. 40-plus year old watch that I wear almost daily, with my casual and formal ensembles interchangeably, and have been complimented on it more than my other watches which I actually bothered to spend on.

As for bags, I agree that its more useful to get something with a shoulder strap.

dj_flame

A good bag is also important. No point dressing well and carrying a backpack to work. Versatility also a useful trait... My filson 256 works with both casuals and suits.

Hmm what do you recommend for an office bag? I already own a Filson field bag (but cannot carry laptop) and a PropertyOf weekender (nice bag, great for gym after work but quite big so not that great to carry around daily).

Basically need something to hold
- a change of gym clothes and towels,
- toiletries,
- a water bottle
- dopp kit for moisturizer and stuff
- laptop size for days where i need

I'm pretty dedicated to fitness/training so I always carry gym stuff whenever I go to the office.

Any local brands or stores to rec? I think Cumulus @ Wheelock may be a good bet.

This kind of dilemma makes me want to own a car. Ultimate "bag". :s13:

theRenaissance

grey suit is nice but i think it contrasts pretty badly on asian chinese skin. the grey washes out the light skin tones....

cant find a nice doublemonks. recently bought a pair of grey suede brogues. thinking of getting a navy blue version 1 as well.

Contrary to what you said, I think a Grey suit along with navy, are extremely versatile. Grey is professional, chic and looks alot more approachable compared to black.

I think for dubs, there are many many choices. What sort of choices/styles you prefer? I think Carmina does pretty sweet Navy shell shoes.

seems like shoes form the most important part of the wardrobe?

if i am out of budget, can i just focus on certain areas of my wardrobe, eg just buy nice shoes and the rest like clothes just average will do?

Wouldnt say most important, but it is more important, relative to say, pants.

Don't forget a good watch - doesn't have to cost thousands, even a vintage seiko on a leather NATO strap can get a ton of compliments.

100% with you on this, even simple classic timepiece gets a new lease of life when swapped with straps of different texture. Used to own a Seiko Samurai (SS) which I paired it with nato straps for a casual look.

theRenaissance

Code:
Hmm what do you recommend for an office bag? I already own a Filson field bag (but cannot carry laptop) and a PropertyOf weekender (nice bag, great for gym after work but quite big so not that great to carry around daily).

Basically need something to hold
- a change of gym clothes and towels,
- toiletries,
- a water bottle
- dopp kit for moisturizer and stuff
- laptop size for days where i need

I'm pretty dedicated to fitness/training so I always carry gym stuff whenever I go to the office.

Any local brands or stores to rec? I think Cumulus @ Wheelock may be a good bet.

This kind of dilemma makes me want to own a car. Ultimate "bag". :s13:

You may wanna check out Qwstion weekender bag, seems like its a good fit to your needs.

arctuates

I carry gym change (attire, small towel) too in my 256, but I do without the water bottle and toiletries. I leave that stuff in my office cube. For something bigger, I suppose you can go with the 257 - but I find that a little bulky.

nethdale

Hi there,

I read the whole thread but not much disccusion about formal shoe eg Oxford. I have weakness for foraml shoe and seems like nowadays it is quite difficult for me to acquire a decent pair locally (budget max ard $300, I can't afford boutique shoe :(). In fact, I notice on another thread "Shoe for young executive", there have been so many nice shoes mentioned, however, it seems like most of them bought it when they were in oversea, as such, may I know which oversea shoe maker ships internationally?

Thanks in advance.

Seannie

i still think watch is more impt than a bag.

anyway backpacks are really like for schling...i personally dun recommend.....

:( i need to carry backpack to put laptop when there is the need to go out do work lei... u mean those auditors always carry backpack ard oso look like chewren mah?

I dont own a car, cannot just dump everything inside car. So backpack very convenient to put things. :(

Seannie

i already have a casio watch for weekend wear. I just dont have a dress watch thats all. Still thinking whether there is a need to get one or not.

dj_flame

Hi there,

I read the whole thread but not much disccusion about formal shoe eg Oxford. I have weakness for foraml shoe and seems like nowadays it is quite difficult for me to acquire a decent pair locally (budget max ard $300, I can't afford boutique shoe :(). In fact, I notice on another thread "Shoe for young executive", there have been so many nice shoes mentioned, however, it seems like most of them bought it when they were in oversea, as such, may I know which oversea shoe maker ships internationally?

Thanks in advance.

Bro ed et al, edit: 55b boat quay. Go crazy.

I carry gym change (attire, small towel) too in my 256, but I do without the water bottle and toiletries. I leave that stuff in my office cube. For something bigger, I suppose you can go with the 257 - but I find that a little bulky.
Don't want another filson, lol not that easy to take care of with our weather.

nethdale

Bro ed et al, 65b boat quay. Go crazy.

Hi there,

Thanks for the info and in fact I have visited their outlets but somehow I have yet to make any decision to buy despite we are supposed to support local.

Any online to recommend? Thanks

Seannie

yalor, ed et al is the most endorsed shoes brand among the bros, but i havemt come across their shop yet. Where got huh i oso curious maybe one fine day i may go take a look after my shoes cui.

dj_flame

Hi there,

Thanks for the info and in fact I have visited their outlets but somehow I have yet to make any decision to buy despite we are supposed to support local.

Any online to recommend? Thanks
Pediwear.co.uk
Herringshoes.co.uk

are 2 online retailers that carry a vast selection of english shoes.

Also, Plal in KL has lots of C&J, Grenson, Barker and Loake. Just email them and they can work out a way to pay them so they can send the shoes over.

although I would just go Ed et al because its more convenient. The store is just a 3-5 min walk from UOB Plaza.

Seannie

although I would just go Ed et al because its more convenient. The store is just a 3-5 min walk from UOB Plaza.

can i ask exactly where is the shop? and is there any mister minit ard raffles area?

nethdale

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.