Dell Laptop User Thread

RobVanDam

hey guys just FYI...

my Dell the XPS one of the letters came off ..
so i called them up and asked them to send me another sticker to put back ..

Guess what, they bloody replaced the Whole lid.. need to take out so many wires plus take out LCD also ... wahha ahaa.. damn retarded man ... wait i free tomolo i up load the pics of the repair job show u guys.

RobVanDam

OK guys heres the problem the P from the XPS came off ...

IMAGE_00423.jpg

so called dell servicing, thought they would just send a guy down to pass me one more of the metal stickers ...

But to my surprise they end up changing the whole lid, this was no small operation either, it required them to remove the camera as well as the WiFi antane running thru the lid... and also the LCD of cos.

anyway here are some blurry pics i took of the operation

IMAGE_00421.jpg

IMAGE_00422.jpg

PS: this is the second time they came in 2 weeks, first was to change my keyboard becos one of the keys kept on coming out... heh heh .. over all service was very good !!

wonder if i tell them centrino sticker come out will they change the whole FRONT COVER as well .. haa haa. dun think so lah .. haa haa

stam

hi guys....is it possible to modify the DELL PC restore??? like removing those dell network asst. etc... so everytime i restore dun have such programmes.... :)

Orcus

samuel21 said:
i did THAT but the lappy rejected my blank disc by ejecting it out....oh never mind hahha...mebbe the disc is copyrighted or something...

i had similar problem, can't copy or burn cd image with that software. Just install another cd burner like cdburnerxp pro, cd burner xp pro and you should be alright. And take out that crappy software.

Hope it helps.

RobVanDam

stam said:
hi guys....is it possible to modify the DELL PC restore??? like removing those dell network asst. etc... so everytime i restore dun have such programmes.... :)

by the way i also damn suay when i removed teh network asst my Comp Give me Blueu Screen of Death .. so have to restore it back .. only managed to uninstall it properly without the blue sccreen after i did a restore and than uninstall in SAFE MODE !!

ckling

stam said:
any 6400 users??? u all have this problem of clicking restart windows, but the whole laptop shutdown instead of restarting, then i need to press the power on button to on it again...??
i dun have this problem bro. call dell fast fast...:D

samuel21

stam said:

i agree, can anyone tell me which are the absolutely lousy programmes that can be taken out without compromising the system? Like dell assistant, the microphone thingy?

Diavonex

This is what I did:

1. Formatted the hard disk

2. Creat a D: drive

3. Installed Windows XP plus the program I wanted on C:

4. Use DriveImage to backup my C: drive on the D: drive

Cantabile

hi.. can i check with you all something? how come when i customise my purchase on the dell website, options such as ram, HDD, screen resolution, the cost jumps so much for some options? for example, 60gb 7200rpm hdd and 80gb 7200rpm the difference is only $17. but the difference between 80gb 7200rpm and 100gb 7200 rpm is a freakin $100? the difference in size of the hdd is the same mah. the price difference for a 2.0 ghz and 1.83 ghz both 667mhz fsb is $134.40 while difference between the rest of the options is about $33 and $50. and it is $160 more for the extra 650 pixels of resolution... are all these worth it? thanks lots!

RobVanDam

its only natural all IT stuff is like that its a gentlre increment untill u hit the TOP of the line items thats where the prices start jumping expotentially.

stam

Diavonex said:
This is what I did:

1. Formatted the hard disk

2. Creat a D: drive

3. Installed Windows XP plus the program I wanted on C:

4. Use DriveImage to backup my C: drive on the D: drive

Driveimage??? where u d/l this programme??? is it same as the PCrestore, just ctrl+F11 then 15mins later u are restored... :)

Cantabile

thanks RobVanDam for your reply. hm.. so do u think it is worth it to customise my 6400 to come with all the top of the line, exponentially increasingly priced, options? anyway i think i have emailed dell to ask the following things about the dell inspiron 6400 for about 2 to 3 weeks already. they never reply at all! think i might as well ask here. 1) the graphics card option of ati mobility radeon x1400 with 256mb hypermemory, how much of the memory is dedicated and how much is shared? 2) is the built-in bluetooth 2.0? with enhanced data rate? 3) do the 65W and 90W AC adapters differ in size and weight? thanks alot anyone who can help answer!!!

dinosaur

Hi all,

Dell USA juz launched their XPS M1210 with Merom Core 2 Duo processor! So juz hang on n it will reach spore soon (i hope?!)

:)

:s12:

VelvetCube

I'm a M1210 user, and my downloads (HTTP) became significantly slower (I download at around 30kb/s when I used to download in hundreds with my toshiba notebook lor! dXXX irritating -_-)... anyone else has the same prob?

PierceLee

dinosaur said:
Hi all,

Dell USA juz launched their XPS M1210 with Merom Core 2 Duo processor! So juz hang on n it will reach spore soon (i hope?!)
That's great news! I've been hanging on eagerly for months already :) Hope they launch it (at least pre-order) at Comex.

subisisniki

greetings dell users..
anyone paying by cc installment? thinking of taking that one up by using someone else's name.

they say its subject to approval.. will i still get the same offer if i order a laptop by this sunday but the cc approval is not done yet?

btw, whats the number for dell singapore? the only numbers on the site now is australia and newzealand although its from the sg dell website

thx

Pollyapple

Hello,newbie here, anyway,i'm thinking of getting a dell laptop, either 6400 or 640m, actually the specs looks similar to me, i'm not tech savvy at all, anyway, my brother told me the graphic card for 6400/640m is not very ideal, i read through this thread a little and do you guys think the graphic card is good enough, i just want to use the laptop for internet and games(eg:call of duty/ sims2 ). thanks for your help!

artyboy

hi there, i too ordered the Inspiron 6400. there is a key difference between the 6400 and m640 - the latter's graphics card cannot be upgraded. for the 6400 you can either pick the Radeon X1300 or X1400. from what i read in the "notebook graphics guide" as well as inputs from kind fellow forumers here, the X1400 is considered a "mainstream" grade graphics card - a baseline-class (near bare minimum) dedicated card for playing games. from the games u mentioned, i wld think the X1600 wld be much better gaming card, but unfortunately when i called Dell to check, they say the 6400's maximum graphics card upgrade is the X1400 and they do not carry the X1600 even if you wanted to upgrade further. of course there are higher grade cards out there, which i believe the higher-end range Dell XPS notebooks shld have. cheers!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.