Dell Laptop User Thread

li_chenwei48

Leino5 said:
Paise, my english isnt that good

ehm, from my own experience. Dell provides me good customer service though i went through a lot of procedures and repairing.

I bought an XPS 1210 from dell, the first day i received it, the screen flickered. i thought its going to be fine. Then when i played video files, the screen flickered again. so i called technical support line. They suspected the lcd spoil so they arranged the appointment for repairing. Then the same problem still occuring so i was unhappy and requested for an exchange since i just bought one week. they rejected me and instead gave me one more year of warranty so i accepted in which total of 4 years warranty.

ANother time, changing the mother board, the technician doesnt know how to install media direct 3 after everything which i waited for 1 hor plus so i was unhappy again. so they exhanged a new one for me which i waited for 1 weeks.
Not yet finish, they sent me the new set but they forgot to ship the bluetooth hardware which is supposed to be in the unit. so they mailed to me one plus i requested an extra earbud.

Then one more thing occured, i found that the rest palm was really rough which is totally different from my old unit. then i called them to change it as well as the web cam coz it wasnt clear like my old one too.

Overall, though i went through a lot but their service is really good. they do listen to customer and try to cooperate. so dell got my vote for customer service

btw, i owned acer before which i think i prefer dell for customer service and product(only personal opinion). one last thing i got an extra battery coz they cant ship back the old unit with the battery.

If I were you, I would return the set, get my refund and re-order again to get a completely new set

But still 4 year warranty is sweet

a4su_skyhawk

Diavonex said:
They may even surprise you with 4 business days delivery; these people from DELL are on the ball.
Guess what, Dell's staff just called and they are going to deliver the laptop tomorrow.

Diavonex

You mean they're going to deliver on Sunday? That's what I call service.

heatman

heatman said:
bought a usb optical prolink mouse a few days ago for my dell 6400 lappy. the mouse will hang after using it abt 10 - 30 mins, which make me reboot the lappy again & again. dont know tis is hardware or software problem. any1 can help ?

tis problem solved. updated/flashed the BIOS (to ver 12) as suggested by the dell technical team. though 1 more problem to go ......... bluetooth.

cracker

a4su_skyhawk said:
Guess what, Dell's staff just called and they are going to deliver the laptop tomorrow.

what is the configuration of ur 640m ?
did u opt for additional warranty ?

heatman

just curious, how many of have removed the mcafee security ctr 90-day trial s/w comes with 6400 ?

Diavonex

heatman said:
just curious, how many of have removed the mcafee security ctr 90-day trial s/w comes with 6400 ?

Removed it on the first day and installed AVG.

benoit

hi all Dell users, i've 2 "C" series power adapter, thinking of selling to any of Dell users here otherwise I'll go Sim Lim liao.

li_chenwei48

bryant_16 said:
how come u straightaway format yr laptop, u dont want the softwares that they provide?

To clean out all the unwanted bloatware

Yes you may say that you can uninstall them, but still there will be remnants of the software registries even after uninstallation.

So format and restall windows will make sure that the laptop is totally clean

bryant_16

i see, u dont like the softwares that they installed for you ? after formating, u install back using their recovery cd or the xp cd they provide for u ?

li_chenwei48

bryant_16 said:
i see, u dont like the softwares that they installed for you ? after formating, u install back using their recovery cd or the xp cd they provide for u ?

XP CD......

heatman

just uninstalled tat mcafee s/w (coming to 90 days liao) n installed avast anti virus besides windows defender n avg anti spyware 7.5. btw,how come after installed windows defender, cant find the icon at the system tray ? not sure is it on or off leh ? avg anti spyware 7.5 also over the trial period liao, so have to daily manually update the definitions. troublesome sia.

a4su_skyhawk

cracker said:
what is the configuration of ur 640m ?
did u opt for additional warranty ?
Intel T5500 Core 2 Duo
1Gb 667Mhz RAM
120Gb HDD
Internal DVD+RW
Bluetooth
Intel Pro/Wireless 3945 802.11 b/g Mini Card Wireless
Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950
Win XP MCE

Original I only chose the default 1 year CompleteCover but when the Dell's staff called to confirm the order, she suggested that I took the 3 years warranty and on top of that she is offering me 24 months free Mcafee Anti-virus subscription.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.