Dell Laptop User Thread

addict951

ya, I just found out on wikipedia. Got T5200 (1.6Ghz) also, also oem
But oem cannot put on website 1 meh?
not as if you can easily buy non-oem c2d (those T5500, T7x00 and above) like buy desktop c2d anyway

addict951

erm, ppl familiar with the Dell recovery (as in balek install Windows on your Dell laptop) pls help answer

see ar, our 640m got 2 partitions (3 actually but nvm)
1 is the recovery partition (where the image is contained), the other is the data/os partition

say ar, I wanna 'chop' the big data/os parition into 2 for the following, yall think can work?
1. restart laptop, boot from Windows XP CD.
2. delete current data/os(vista) partition and create 2 instead
3. install Windows XP to 1st partition
4. after 3. is complete, restart recovery and install the image to the other partition
final result: dual boot WinXP and Vista
can work? during recovery got option for you to decide which partition to install the image?

mok_samuel

bought XPS M1210 from the pc show last month. When i played Condition Zero on my laptop there's always a disturbance in the sound. It's ok when i played other game or watch movie. Can it be repaired? Under warranty? How do i go about contacting for Dell support?
Thanks,
Noobie

Diavonex

This may be a software problem; DELL support number is on your Tax Invoice.

naxchua

addict951 said:
erm, ppl familiar with the Dell recovery (as in balek install Windows on your Dell laptop) pls help answer

see ar, our 640m got 2 partitions (3 actually but nvm)
1 is the recovery partition (where the image is contained), the other is the data/os partition

say ar, I wanna 'chop' the big data/os parition into 2 for the following, yall think can work?
1. restart laptop, boot from Windows XP CD.
2. delete current data/os(vista) partition and create 2 instead
3. install Windows XP to 1st partition
4. after 3. is complete, restart recovery and install the image to the other partition
final result: dual boot WinXP and Vista
can work? during recovery got option for you to decide which partition to install the image?

eh... from wat i see, u will not be able to run F10 recovery after u do the above steps... meaning u will lose ur DELL customisation after u delete the partition using the recovery aka OS CD...

clairvoyance

Mmm. I always get a momentary black screen for half a sec when I start up/restart my windows. Why is that the case?

a4su_skyhawk

clairvoyance said:
Mmm. I always get a momentary black screen for half a sec when I start up/restart my windows. Why is that the case?
You are not alone. My 640m also has this issue but I don't really care as it has not interfere with any of the software applications.

It may be due to the GMA 950 graphic driver.

clairvoyance

Mine is a Nvidia graphics card. Go 7400. XPS M1210. But yeah, it has not affected my software application too...just wondering why.

fls

Hi guys, Check with you

how to make partition with my windows vista har?? I already boot from CD then enter into vista. Got option to format. Click it already, processing for a while and stop. But I can not make new partition. Anything wrong???

vapor77

clairvoyance said:
Mine is a Nvidia graphics card. Go 7400. XPS M1210. But yeah, it has not affected my software application too...just wondering why.

Hi...wondering How much u bought the XPS M1210? At what spec?

Thanks. Thinking of buying 1 as well. 10yrs w/o a laptop already.

addict951

fls said:
Hi guys, Check with you

how to make partition with my windows vista har?? I already boot from CD then enter into vista. Got option to format. Click it already, processing for a while and stop. But I can not make new partition. Anything wrong???

recovery got no option to do anything at all 1, usually
once u start recovery, it will just balek 'glue' the image to the next partition, all options already set by Dell during the creation of the Vista image

addict951

WOW, today's Today advertised this XPS M1210 like very hua hor???
$1699 (though only 1 yr of xps with complete cover warranty)
somemore gfgo7400
but only 1Gb ram and 120Gb hdd, T5500 cpu

addict951

naxchua said:
eh... from wat i see, u will not be able to run F10 recovery after u do the above steps... meaning u will lose ur DELL customisation after u delete the partition using the recovery aka OS CD...

oh, I dun mind losing the Dell customisation leh
I'd rather have an empty Vista compared to the Vista that comes with the laptop which is ful of rubbish

otacon

i know it's a stupid question to ask here, but is Dell really a good n reliable notebook? anyone regretted buying Dell?

i m looking at Dell m640 with the below specs:
1. Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo Processor T7200
2. Windows(R) XP Professional SP2
3. 100GB SATA 7200RPM Performance Hard Drive
4. Intel(R) Media Accelerator 950 Graphics
5. 14.1" WXGA TFT Display
6. 1GB (2 X 512MB) 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
7. Internal 8X DVD+/-RW Combination Drive with dual layer

Comes with 2-Year Collect & Return Warranty, Microsoft(R) Works 8.5, Targus USB Wireless Mouse and free delivery. All at a price of S$1,822.80

addict951

otacon said:
i know it's a stupid question to ask here, but is Dell really a good n reliable notebook? anyone regretted buying Dell?

I answer 1st. :D

I got my 640m (14", T5300 with 2Gb 667) from Suntec show.
Great value, somemore pretty chio looking (albeit a bit thick)
the bestest thing is it's not hot at all! So, no regrets at all :s12:

otacon

addict951 said:
I answer 1st. :D

I got my 640m (14", T5300 with 2Gb 667) from Suntec show.
Great value, somemore pretty chio looking (albeit a bit thick)
the bestest thing is it's not hot at all! So, no regrets at all :s12:
shld i go for T7200 or 2GB ram?

addict951

otacon said:
shld i go for T7200 or 2GB ram?

Your original base config is it the T5600 option?
between upgrade from T5600 to T7200
and add additional 1Gb
obviously cpu upgrade is more ex, now 1 stick of 1Gb at sls is between $50-60.

I present 2 dilemmas to you, you go think

if you select T7200 die die u sure want 2Gb 667 to feed the cpu also, if running Vista (1Gb is minimum but not ideal)

if u select 1Gb ram, it comes in 2 x 512MB, meaning all slots occupied. if u want to upgrade to 2Gb, it mean u have to 'throw away' the stock 2 x 512MB and go get 2 x 1Gb.

so...:o

addict951

oh, i just saw you're going for WinXP Po and 7200rpm hdd
you need so high performance but got spoilt by the integrated vga also
why u up your budget go get the xps m1210, think a bit more hua and 12" somemore

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.