Dell Laptop User Thread

BradenHeat

a4su_skyhawk said:
I assumed you are using Win XP. You can use the chkdsk function to check for and epair problems related to bad sectors, lost clusters, cross-linked files, and directory errors.

Here the steps;

Running from the command prompt:

1.Click Start, and then Run.
2.In Open, type cmd, and then press ENTER.
3.Use one of the following procedures:
•To run Chkdsk in read-only mode, at the command prompt, type chkdsk, and then press ENTER.
•To repair errors without scanning the volume for bad sectors, at the command prompt, type chkdsk volume:/f, and then press ENTER.
Note If one or more of the files on the hard disk are open, you will receive the following message: Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process. Would you like to schedule this volume to be checked the next time the system restarts? (Y/N)
Type Y, and then press ENTER to schedule the disk check, and then restart your computer to start the disk check.
•To repair errors, locate bad sectors, and recover readable information, at the command prompt, type chkdsk volume:/r, and then press ENTER.
Note If one or more of the files on the hard disk are open, you will receive the following message: Chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process. Would you like to schedule this volume to be checked the next time the system restarts? (Y/N)
Type Y, and then press ENTER to schedule the disk check, and then restart your computer to start the disk check.
To run from Windows:

1.Double-click My Computer, and then right-click the hard disk that you want to check.
2.Click Properties, and then click Tools.
3.Under Error-checking, click Check Now. A dialog box that shows the Check disk options is displayed,
4.Use one of the following procedures:
•To run Chkdsk in read-only mode, click Start.
•To repair errors without scanning the volume for bad sectors, select the Automatically fix file system errors check box, and then click Start.
•To repair errors, locate bad sectors, and recover readable information, select the Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors check box, and then click Start.
Note If one or more of the files on the hard disk are open, you will receive the following message: The disk check could not be performed because the disk check utility needs exclusive access to some Windows files on the disk. These files can be accessed by restarting Windows. Do you want to schedule the disk check to occur the next time you restart the computer?
Click Yes to schedule the disk check, and then restart your computer to start the disk check.
Thanks dude.

Check your PM....i wonder if it helps

yandaoben

hi,

with such OVERWHELMING response over at

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?p=24267970#post24267970

I decided to pop in here:

hi,

am using an updated win xp dell inspirion 6400 laptop, lately upon startup of comp, i get following error:

"Btballoon.dll unable to be found, reinstalling it would solve the problem."

thing is, what is this? I know it's sth to do with bluetooth, which I am now unable to use, altho all the icons and setting are set to run.

I read somewhere it's due to SP 2, if so how do i uninstalll it?

So what shld I do?

Thank you.

sandyph

anybody getting the new Inspiron ?

their specs is quite good and the design not so bad..... thinking of selling my i6000 :D

cracker

sandyph said:
anybody getting the new Inspiron ?

their specs is quite good and the design not so bad..... thinking of selling my i6000 :D

Ordered my inspiron 1420 on Sat.
CPU : 1.8 Ghz T7100
Ram : 2.0 GB
Graphics : Nvidia Go 8400m GS with 128 MB .( Upgrade)
HDD : 120 GB
Warranty : Upgrade to 2 yrs complete cover.

total price : $1813.35...
Delivery will be after 10th July , hope it will be earlier.

smith2006

BradenHeat said:
Okay......its really a dumb incident......

I've dropped my Dell Inspiron 6400 below knee level.

Out casing im not too worried, but the thing is that i was ripping a music CD while the accident happened.

Is there a way to check for Hard disk errors?

Will the Audio CD be scratched "internally" during the copying process?

please shed some information if any sages could

thanks..

im really just :s22:
Perhaps you want to try running Dell Diagnostic Tool?

There is an option to check for disk errors.

dolcegarbana

cracker said:

Does it make any difference using processor 2.0Ghz 4MB instead of 1.8Ghz 2MB?

kivine

of course there is a difference.

but daily to daily usage like normal surfing minor photo editing - no.

heavy gaming, video editing yes.

BradenHeat

Haha...guess dell would be the best value for money mobile computing for now.

wonder if the user list got update or not....

JTK_JTK

trying to order the XPS1210 from the DELL's sales ppl. The $1699 deal last time is really a good deal. missed it :((

sandyph

cracker said:

which color did u choose ?
can give a brief review when you got it ?

Shinshino

Hi all

not sure if my question belongs here.

I have problem connecting to my wireless router.
I keyed in the correct SSID and password liao but still can not connect.

Using 2WIRE from singnet and M1210 with intel PRO/wireless 3945 Dual Band 802.11a/g 54Mbps Wireless mini card.

Tried d/ling latest driver from intel website but not compatible, still can't work.

The wi fi catcher network locator LED also not lighted up.

Anyone knows how to solve this? Thanks in advance.

Diavonex

Try connecting with security/encryption disabled on 2WIRE first i.e. disable WEP or WPA first.

addict951

ter_03_80 said:
dell's 640m seems a good deal now, $1199

ya! Saw on today's Today
think they're EOL-ing 640m and 6400 soon
T2xxx cpu
1Gb ram
80Gb hdd
1-yr warranty
only downside is vishomebasic :o

cracker

sandyph said:
which color did u choose ?
can give a brief review when you got it ?

I chose a blue cover....will give a review once recieve which will be next week.

Btw...Dell has stopped the "free upgrade to 2 GB " promotion from this week...so for the same configuration as mine....it will now be $1931.35 inclusive of gst and delivery charge.

G4

cracker said:
I chose a blue cover....will give a review once recieve which will be next week.

Btw...Dell has stopped the "free upgrade to 2 GB " promotion from this week...so for the same configuration as mine....it will now be $1931.35 inclusive of gst and delivery charge.

sian... hopes the price would be better during the coming PC show...

darrenlee78

Shinshino said:
Hi all

not sure if my question belongs here.

I have problem connecting to my wireless router.
I keyed in the correct SSID and password liao but still can not connect.

Using 2WIRE from singnet and M1210 with intel PRO/wireless 3945 Dual Band 802.11a/g 54Mbps Wireless mini card.

Tried d/ling latest driver from intel website but not compatible, still can't work.

The wi fi catcher network locator LED also not lighted up.

Anyone knows how to solve this? Thanks in advance.
try to ask in the networking section, more gurus there to help u solve ur problem.

darrenlee78

BradenHeat said:
Haha...guess dell would be the best value for money mobile computing for now.

wonder if the user list got update or not....
paiseh, long time never come to HWZ, nowadays frequent mycarforum as busy with my new "toy" instead. I'll try to update more frequently :) like maybe come in once per 3 days.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.