Dell Laptop User Thread

jazzyjay

RE: Notebook

Hello again guys,

For those newbies who wanna get DELL notebooks, normally it comes with a year onsite
warranty, with an additional fee, you can cover the notebook warranty up to 3 years.
Business day response time onsite. Let me tell you my experience. Bought my inspiron
8100 whih was 3 years back..., My hard disk crash,due to spindle lifespan maybe not that
rugged enough. It was 1.5 years after purchasing the notebook with 3 years wrrty. Anyway,
contacted DELL service ctr, the engineer comes down to office, swap my old, crashed HDD &
did a 1 to 1 exchange with me & I can continue doing my stuffs. Even the CDRW making
noises, keyboard not responding well, they will come and change for you without hassle or
much questions... Just get the job done. So far these are my experience with DELL.

The other problems mentioned was at a different date and time.... within the 3 years
warranty! :D

Just for your information...

Regards,
Jay

citrus00

yep thats the kind of service i had also
using latitude D600 , shd have gotten the M60

the screen is wootster

jazzyjay

Buying DELL desktop might be a different story. What I have seen is that if you happened
to open the DELL's desktop cover for checking the parts inside/ installing new cards, the
bios will have a alert saying "Case have been opened" or something like that when you boot
up the pc. This may void your warranty... I think. Try and see... =:p

This is what I have noticed in a DELL's desktop PC. Other than that, I have no problem
going with DELL. Their design is changing bit by bit. Hopefully they have some ergonomics
& aesthetics designer for their notebooks. I think DELL just buy stock,out of the shell type
from their OEM makers for the parts. That's why their notebook is not as chio as IBM &
others... :s11:

Cheers,
Jay

boxger

jazzyjay said:
Buying DELL desktop might be a different story. What I have seen is that if you happened
to open the DELL's desktop cover for checking the parts inside/ installing new cards, the
bios will have a alert saying "Case have been opened" or something like that when you boot
up the pc. This may void your warranty... I think. Try and see... =:p

This is what I have noticed in a DELL's desktop PC. Other than that, I have no problem
going with DELL. Their design is changing bit by bit. Hopefully they have some ergonomics
& aesthetics designer for their notebooks. I think DELL just buy stock,out of the shell type
from their OEM makers for the parts. That's why their notebook is not as chio as IBM &
others... :s11:

Cheers,
Jay

No such thing!

The warranty will still be valid even if you open your case to install dell branded components or check your cards inside.

The only thing that DELL Warranty Doesn't support is the card which you purchase outside and install yourself UNLESS you purchase it directly from dell - THEN the card will be supported by DELL Warranty.
:eek:

chiachiabinks

Bro,

could u tell me more abt ur experience on this particular model?

thinking of getting 8600. now comes with a DVD-rw.

looking forward to ur reply.

pm-ed u my hp just in case u wanna call. faster.
:)

boxger

chiachiabinks said:
Bro,

could u tell me more abt ur experience on this particular model?

thinking of getting 8600. now comes with a DVD-rw.

looking forward to ur reply.

pm-ed u my hp just in case u wanna call. faster.

dun forget tell me on the 8600 reviews too :eek:

gogo2gogo

700m user reporting

Hello all

I'm new Dell user. Just got 700m last week. Fall in love with it. Small and good built quality. Its cheap too with 3 years warranty. :)

Plan to put in another 512mb RAM.

I check the 256mb RAM. Its Samsung CL2.5. Do you think all SODIMM PC2700 is CL2.5?

If I simply grab the Kingston PC2700 512mb, do you think its CL2.5?

What happen if I bought a CL3?

Thanks.!

boxger

gogo2gogo said:
Hello all

I'm new Dell user. Just got 700m last week. Fall in love with it. Small and good built quality. Its cheap too with 3 years warranty. :)

Plan to put in another 512mb RAM.

I check the 256mb RAM. Its Samsung CL2.5. Do you think all SODIMM PC2700 is CL2.5?

If I simply grab the Kingston PC2700 512mb, do you think its CL2.5?

What happen if I bought a CL3?

Thanks.!

for ur info if u buy external parts from outside, And Anything happen to your unit caused by that external parts - Dell cannot support it bcos its the external part that cause the prblm hor :eek: And Dell only supports problms that are caused by it's own PARTS only :look:

gogo2gogo

Hehehe... its the Dell guy ask me to buy from outside. Cheaper.
Anyway, if anything happen to my laptop, I just take out the RAM and pretend dunno anything about notebook. Hehehe....

boxger

gogo2gogo said:
Hehehe... its the Dell guy ask me to buy from outside. Cheaper.
Anyway, if anything happen to my laptop, I just take out the RAM and pretend dunno anything about notebook. Hehehe....

smart of u to take out the ram... but once U call for technical support and the technician came to your hse ..they can do a check in your system to whether u have installed external parts and they can do an audit on the installation history and the model of the parts u have installed and take out before replacing the faulty parts in your system - if found that you CHEATED then charges for replacement are additional cos DELL doesn't support external parts that causes the system to be unstable ... so like this cannot cheat them leh
:eek:

gogo2gogo

Thanks for telling me. Like that, I'll zero format my Dell laptop before asking them to come. Muahaha....

boxger

gogo2gogo said:
Thanks for telling me. Like that, I'll zero format my Dell laptop before asking them to come. Muahaha....

haha! good one.. but they have a way to get things done :eek:
Good Luck !

SpyderMan

boxger,

I may be interested in getting a 8400 too. Just want to find out how many available slots are there on the motherboard.

Thanks in advance.

xprezzshawn

Wonder if they'll bring in the Inspiron 9200.
Looks good for a desktop replacement

9200_front_314.jpg

boxger

SpyderMan said:
boxger,

I may be interested in getting a 8400 too. Just want to find out how many available slots are there on the motherboard.

Thanks in advance.

3 PCI Slots
1 PCIe x 1 Slot
1 PCIe x 16 (graphics card) slot :eek:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.