Dell Laptop User Thread

Oracbase

Dell Memory types

Hi there,

I'm using a Dell Inspiron 6000 with a single piece 512Mb DDR2 533Mhz ram.

I'm thinking of getting another 512Mb or 1Gb ram from SLS.
But I found from HWZ that for DDR2 rams there are PC-4200 and PC-4300 types.

Does anyone know what type of ram is Inspiron 6000 using?
and can we mix PC-4200 and PC-4300 together?

Cheers
Oracbase

winlow

Hi guys, my 6000 just came today,
wanna ask abt the dvd writer, when i put in a dvd, it can play automaticaly, but when i try to install some softwares, it cannot open up the folder... i.e. load in cd, click my computer>cdrom>open cannot open and see the stuff inside leh.... help....

Kezane

I noticed that in the Dell Inspiron package I just got, there is not instructions as to how to set up the laptop, steps like charging the battery for a couple hours before use, like most phones.

Anyone mind telling me where I may find them, or what they are?

TrueB1ue

winlow said:
Hi guys, my 6000 just came today,
wanna ask abt the dvd writer, when i put in a dvd, it can play automaticaly, but when i try to install some softwares, it cannot open up the folder... i.e. load in cd, click my computer>cdrom>open cannot open and see the stuff inside leh.... help....

u click the USB icon...disable it....then take out your CD-drive.....then plug in again........

mine also .....can see the CD but cannot open brow ......then i take out and insert the drive back...ok liao

darrenlee78

Kezane said:
I noticed that in the Dell Inspiron package I just got, there is not instructions as to how to set up the laptop, steps like charging the battery for a couple hours before use, like most phones.

Anyone mind telling me where I may find them, or what they are?
you can ask your questions here and our fellow dell members would be glad to help :)

darrenlee78

Oracbase said:
Hi there,

Cheers
Oracbase
xpsgen2 ... answer this question please... :)

Futurisco

XPSGen2 said:
Currently, no upgrade available yet, but Dell just updatd the bios for XPS, so seemed like the Go7800 upgrade will be around the corner. :)
As for the power voltage, it is not an issue, it is for i9300(90W), but not for iXPS(130W).

Hmm...true with what u said there.The 7800 Go will consume less power and it will be possible to be fit into XPS Gen 2 but the size of the card might not.The 7800 got a large heat sink.It all depend on Dell to allow the upgrade a not.But i believe that they will launch Dell XPS Gen 3 by then with dual core processor and ask us to change our laptop again... :s13:

tlzy2002

9300 is shiok!! haha :D i think it really sounds better than other laptops...

they could hav done some thing more to the keyboard .... kinda of plain is it?

darrenlee78

tlzy2002 said:
9300 is shiok!! haha :D i think it really sounds better than other laptops...

they could hav done some thing more to the keyboard .... kinda of plain is it?
good that u like the sound, now how about the screen.

tlzy2002

haha the screen's GREAT. literally n figuratively.

abit heavy la... but stilll worth the effort i guess. :D

i didnt upgrade to the TrueLife 1920 resolution though.... i think its quite expensive... agreed?

shawntim

hi guys,

i've a 2yr old Dell Inspiron 5150, with only 64mb ATI Mobility Radeon 9000.

I wish to upgrade if possible to 128 or 256mb.

Do u know which cards are suitable? Which shops in SLS sells Dell compatible video cards for laptops? or best yet which shop in SLS can help u install?

thanks.. :)

naro

shawntim said:
hi guys,

i've a 2yr old Dell Inspiron 5150, with only 64mb ATI Mobility Radeon 9000.

I wish to upgrade if possible to 128 or 256mb.

Do u know which cards are suitable? Which shops in SLS sells Dell compatible video cards for laptops? or best yet which shop in SLS can help u install?

thanks.. :)

u cna't change laptop graphics like normal PCs..

there's no way for u to do so..

XPSGen2

Oracbase said:
Hi there,

Cheers
Oracbase
You can try but if ypu plan to run Dual Channel, the RAM needs to be of the same spec and size but not necessarily of the make.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.