Dell Laptop User Thread

darrenlee78

dissipate said:
700m users: got any problems switching display to monitor? when i press fn-f8 the laptop screen just flickers once and nothing else happens.
did u connect the cable properly?.

Nivla99

hi..
was considering to buy the 700m but i need to know how is the batt life?
and how is the graphics?

now on dell.com...it's quite cheap upgrade already dun need $2.5k

hahaha...

darrenlee78

dissipate said:
yup i did.

right click on your desktop
select properties
goto settings
try selecting one of the available display options there and try again.

darrenlee78

Nivla99 said:
hi..
and how is the graphics?

hahaha...
there are 2 batteries available, 4 cell(default) lasts about 2 hours and 8 cell (upgrade) 4 hours + i believe.

Need one of our guys here to verify, there is someone who has both the batteries.

theory_87

actually i think Dell lappy eat lots of batt... Samsung can last at lease 5h... my fren acer can last at lease 4h on standard batt

theory_87

darrenlee78 said:
........... traitor..!!!
only planning... no $$$... :s13: anyway, i'm gg to buy 512mb DDR SDRAM and throw inside my lappy to it faster... my sometime will lag...

GreenArrow2002

darrenlee78 said:
there are 2 batteries available, 4 cell(default) lasts about 2 hours and 8 cell (upgrade) 4 hours + i believe.

Need one of our guys here to verify, there is someone who has both the batteries.

Under heavy gaming, my 8-cells battery can tahan slightly over 4 hrs. To me, this is good :D For normal computing useage, my battery usually lasts for at least 5 hrs +

ShougunX

darrenlee78 said:

Ya i had both. 4-cell around 2 hrs and 8-cell around 4 - 5 hrs. Actually the 'standard' batt mentioned in other sites are 6-cells which can last around 3 hrs.

Dell lappy bags are big and heavy...i rather buy a better wan of other brands that specialise in bags...haha

ShougunX

Nivla99 said:
hi..
and how is the graphics?

hahaha...
graphics...ok la, can't expect too much on that 'average' intel graphics card. But the crystal clear lcd is good through..haha

donald83

ShougunX said:
graphics...ok la, can't expect too much on that 'average' intel graphics card. But the crystal clear lcd is good through..haha

Im using linksys router for my lappie wireless network. But then recently its like freaking slow. Crawling speed... How come ah? My desktop not on at all

donald83

Another qn. DO u all uninstall the Dell support centre which has the Macafee anti virus and firewall ****?

blurpasta

donald83 said:
Another qn. DO u all uninstall the Dell support centre which has the Macafee anti virus and firewall ****?

i uninstall e macafee cox i dun like, install norton instead. but i din uninstall e dell support

theory_87

all urs cum wif macafee? mine last time came wif norton... but i find both sucks... zonealarm and trend micro so much better

blurpasta

theory_87 said:
all urs cum wif macafee? mine last time came wif norton... but i find both sucks... zonealarm and trend micro so much better

ya... ours come wif 1yr macafee... dun like liao...

d3n

blurpasta said:
i uninstall e macafee cox i dun like, install norton instead. but i din uninstall e dell support
haha i format everything... keeping the dell hidden system partition only.

i find macafee eats up alot of the ram resources. :)

me using f-prot (got 10 users license, earlier bought for my web server).

donald83

I used to use Zonealarm. But i nv install already. Is it really necessary? I scared it will slow down my connection like wat the maccafee one did

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.