Dell Laptop User Thread

naro

donald83 said:
I used to use Zonealarm. But i nv install already. Is it really necessary? I scared it will slow down my connection like wat the maccafee one did

its better to be safe than sorry..

naro

d3n said:
haha i format everything... keeping the dell hidden system partition only.

i find macafee eats up alot of the ram resources. :)

me using f-prot (got 10 users license, earlier bought for my web server).

the dell hidden partition cannot be removed one leh..

d3n

naro said:
the dell hidden partition cannot be removed one leh..

can mah... when u reinstall the xp... u can remove that partition via the installation GUI.

d3n

donald83 said:
I used to use Zonealarm. But i nv install already. Is it really necessary? I scared it will slow down my connection like wat the maccafee one did

XP windows firewall is good enough liao...

zonealarm runs in the background... will means that your ram usage will be higher.

naro

d3n said:
can mah... when u reinstall the xp... u can remove that partition via the installation GUI.

Hmm.. din know that..

cos last time i helped my fren to install E7K60 on his Dell 8600.

Then i took out his original hdd and put inside an external hdd casing and format it. i wanted to remove the partition using Disk Management, but i can't...

ShougunX

donald83 said:
Im using linksys router for my lappie wireless network. But then recently its like freaking slow. Crawling speed... How come ah? My desktop not on at all
U using starhub cable or singtel broadband? Scarli someone heck into ur router (if u did not secure it over an open network) and happily use ur connections to download stuff so causing the speed to go down...not an expert in this area...other guys pls advise

d3n

ShougunX said:
U using starhub cable or singtel broadband? Scarli someone heck into ur router (if u did not secure it over an open network) and happily use ur connections to download stuff so causing the speed to go down...not an expert in this area...other guys pls advise

this method is not call hacking. its called tapping (or stealing).

To prevent ppl from tapping (or stealling) your bandwidth, set up a WEP on your router.

d3n

naro said:
Hmm.. din know that..

cos last time i helped my fren to install E7K60 on his Dell 8600.

Then i took out his original hdd and put inside an external hdd casing and format it. i wanted to remove the partition using Disk Management, but i can't...

u can't do it on disk management (under administration tools -> computer management) cos as mentioned, the partition is hidden. :)

naro

d3n said:
u can't do it on disk management (under administration tools -> computer management) cos as mentioned, the partition is hidden. :)

Disk Management can see it.. but can't remove it..

saigonblack

d3n said:

zonealarm runs in the background... will means that your ram usage will be higher.

Sorry computer idiot here. Does the XP firewall comes with service pack 2? So if thats up and running, zonealarm is not really necessary? I have just installed zonealarm, seems that everything like slow down... wonder if its really necessary. using 700m here

d3n

saigonblack said:
Sorry computer idiot here. Does the XP firewall comes with service pack 2? So if thats up and running, zonealarm is not really necessary? I have just installed zonealarm, seems that everything like slow down... wonder if its really necessary. using 700m here

Yeah it comes along.

Go to your administrative tools under start -> settings

you will see the icon there. Very easy to understand and configure.

It should provides you basic protection already.

You need not zonealarm after this.

d3n

naro said:
Disk Management can see it.. but can't remove it..

perhaps its locked. :) cos the blue screen setup for XP... u are bascially using the DOS command to format (though u need not type the command). Just delete the partition will do.

saigonblack

d3n said:
Yeah it comes along.

Go to your administrative tools under start -> settings

you will see the icon there. Very easy to understand and configure.

It should provides you basic protection already.

You need not zonealarm after this.

Thanks for ur help! Will do it tonight when i get home :)

ShougunX

d3n said:
this method is not call hacking. its called tapping (or stealing).

To prevent ppl from tapping (or stealling) your bandwidth, set up a WEP on your router.
Anyway to find out who or when someone is tapping it if one is suspicious when one's connections slow down?

theory_87

d3n said:

i use zonealarm coz it oso offer me anti virus, anti spyware and firewall... if Win xp cum along wif anti virus and anti spyware, i would remove zonealarm

donald83

ShougunX said:

I secured my network already. Need password to logon one. Anyway it's back to normal speed after i disabled the Macafee firewall.

donald83

ShougunX said:
Anyway to find out who or when someone is tapping it if one is suspicious when one's connections slow down?

u go to some local website and try to download a large file. If the speed is around 200kbps, that means it's normal.

Is yr wireless network secured? If not better call your router co. to help u configure. I called linksys and they helped me step by step.

donald83

Hey, im sure u guys use BT right? Im using Bitcomet and linksys router. Wat are the good ports and optimised settings to achieve fast downloads?

saigonblack

im using MOL 2000. This is a noob question but does using wireless to connect to your router makes downloading and uploading slower as compared using a lan cable to your router? Thanks

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.