Dell Laptop User Thread

micah4

dl4akb said:
Old technology, old chipset, issues with voice input. DELL=Dont Expect Last Long :D

realli, ah?! my dell 4100 is now 4yrs old and still going strong...no repair at all in all
the 4 yrs...just replaced the batt. once...upgrade diy the hdd twice, now w 40GB hdd.

when i upgrade, i'll still go for a dell!
DELL = Dependable, Everytime, Long Lasting

darrenlee78

whazzup said:
y r Dell notbooks much cheaper than other brands?? tis question keep bothering mi...
Dell has a no middleman policy and sells direct.
Relating to slightly lower costs for the customer :)

darrenlee78

micah4 said:
realli, ah?! my dell 4100 is now 4yrs old and still going strong...no repair at all in all
the 4 yrs...just replaced the batt. once...upgrade diy the hdd twice, now w 40GB hdd.

when i upgrade, i'll still go for a dell!
DELL = Dependable, Everytime, Long Lasting
good quote!!!

darrenlee78

d3n said:
hmm didn't know that but that laptop will be heavier then.
yup. thats for sure. some of them u can remove the cd-rom and it becomes its additional drive bay etc.

Kezane

Not *that* heavy. I like something with weight, feels good when I carry it.

Speaking of Insp 6000, my escape key broke off :<

Is there a way to fix it back on? Superglue?

Kezane

Bringing to school and back, everyday.

Of course, I'm already used to rather heavy bags, what with never bothering with packing and all...

whazzup

thinking of getting the Inspiron 6000.. but ppl say tat their after service sucks big time.??? :s11:

d3n

dl4akb said:
Old technology, old chipset, issues with voice input. DELL=Dont Expect Last Long :D

voice input not for all models, only DELL 700m but i think a patch had it fixed already.

dl4akb

Don't want to talk bad about all the DELL's, they are actually better than their history & reputation. Simply spoken, you get what you pay for ;).

Regarding the voice problems, there will never be a patch as this is a hardware design flaw and its not only in the 700m. There is a lot of information and complaints available....just google for it.

theory_87

whazzup said:
thinking of getting the Inspiron 6000.. but ppl say tat their after service sucks big time.??? :s11:
dis one i haf to agree... wkend no service coz dey dun haf service centre :s11: den warranty over die liao... oso no service centre... haf to call dem...

IrEnE06

- Inspiron ™ 6000 Intel® Pentium ® M Processor at 750
o 1.86GHz, 2Mb Cache, 533 MHz FSB
- Genuine Window® XP Home Edition (English)
- Integrated 10/100 Fast Ethernet
- Artic Silver with Alphine White accents on a black base
- Intergated Stereo Sound
- 15.4” Ultrasharp™ Wide Screen XGA TFT Display resolution: 1280x800
- 1024MB (2x512MB) 533MHz DDR2 SDRAM
- Internal Dell™ 87 Keys Keyboard (English)
- I Year Next Business Day (8x5) Onsite Response (Parts + Labour)
o I Yr Limited Warranty + 1 Yr standard phone support
- 100GB Ultra ATA Hard Drive
- Internal 8x DVD+/-RW Combination Drive with dual layer write capabilities
o Cyberlinks PowerDVD Software
o Sonic™ MyDVD and Sonic ™ Digital Media
- Microsoft® Works 7.0
- Dell™ Media Experience Software
- Intel® PRO/Wireless 2200 (802.11b/g)54Mbps Mini-PCI Wirekess Card
- Internal 56K Modem
- 128MB DDR ATI Mobility™ Radeon™ X300
- 6-cell 53Whr Lithium Ion Primary Battery
- Dell™ Wireless 350 Bluetooth Module
- Hard Drive Partition, Primary Size 20GB in C drive, remaining in D.
- 65W AC Adapter

this spec good anot

Blitzzzz

Has anyone tried playing a game like World of Warcraft on a dell inspiron 6000 before?

Was thinking about getting the dell 6000 on its current festival promotion where they doubled the double ram offer. ;)

Would WoW run flawlessly with the 128mb x300 GFX card?

IrEnE06

Blitzzzz said:
Has anyone tried playing a game like World of Warcraft on a dell inspiron 6000 before?

Was thinking about getting the dell 6000 on its current festival promotion where they doubled the double ram offer. ;)

Would WoW run flawlessly with the 128mb x300 GFX card?
the offer end this friday right??

ShougunX

haha i think mostly the condition of one's lappie depends much on the user...i mean, i got my i700m for under S$1700. If i am to get a similar config+12" lappie of other brands, i might have to fork out twice tat price. Tat logic propells me 2 x Dell = better than 1 x other brands, meaning even if my dell is to die off after 2 yrs, i can still get another NEW one (with better config of course) tat last for another (presumed) 2 yrs. Isn't it better than getting an expensive 3K over lappie tat cannot last for more than 3 yrs? and remember, technology improves like lightning.....i am a pragmatic person although i have to admit the asthetic appeal of other brands may be better.

thinze

d3n said:
i tot laptop can only have 1 hdd? since when can support more then 1? correct me if i am wrong.

to have multiple os u dun need to have more hdd to do the job, either u do partition and install on diff partition if not, get softwares like VMware or Microsoft Virtual PC to install multiple OS.

My current IBM T41 that I use for work can.... I do that because I have to keep company HDD and personal HDD separate incase I screw up the company HDD. But I'm changing company, so changing laptop.....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.