Dell Laptop User Thread

scramblur11

theory_87 said:
if u ask dell to partition for u liaop, i dun c the need for u to reformat liao... reinstall not = reformat... reformat is clear everything is ur hdd...

OIC...thanks for the info

So should I reinstall the OS with only the mininal resources I need? Coz I think the pre loaded OS seem to got a lot stuff which I dun need leh. :)

theory_87

darrenlee78 said:
just do a full discharge and recharge. thats sufficient.
u can nv do a full discharge.... it so damn hard to drain all the batt away..

micah4

btw...does Dell package the Win XP CD together w the new notebook or just the recovery disk alone
of both...I thot I heard someone say that Dell only provide the recovery disk.

theory_87

still early... haha... 1.5yr i go ns liao so i dun nid to buy a new lappy... i only nid to fine tune abit by upgrading ram

thinze

Can Dell laptops support dual harddisks? Not just for backups but separate operating systems on each harddisk. I'm thinking of getting a 700m for work, i.e. the default harddisk will hold company registered software. 2nd harrdisk will be for personal usage, hold separate operating system and software..... Thanks for any advice....

d3n

thinze said:
Can Dell laptops support dual harddisks? Not just for backups but separate operating systems on each harddisk. I'm thinking of getting a 700m for work, i.e. the default harddisk will hold company registered software. 2nd harrdisk will be for personal usage, hold separate operating system and software..... Thanks for any advice....

i tot laptop can only have 1 hdd? since when can support more then 1? correct me if i am wrong.

to have multiple os u dun need to have more hdd to do the job, either u do partition and install on diff partition if not, get softwares like VMware or Microsoft Virtual PC to install multiple OS.

darrenlee78

thinze said:
there are some models with an extra drive bay but not 700m as its an u;tra portable. anyway you can install 2 os on 1 harddisk.

d3n

darrenlee78 said:
there are some models with an extra drive bay but not 700m as its an u;tra portable. anyway you can install 2 os on 1 harddisk.

hmm didn't know that but that laptop will be heavier then.

whazzup

cheaper??

y r Dell notbooks much cheaper than other brands?? tis question keep bothering mi...

d3n

whazzup said:
y r Dell notbooks much cheaper than other brands?? tis question keep bothering mi...

Ask DELL...

cheap doesn't means its good nor bad, use it and you will know it.

What i like about my DELL 700m is the specs is as good as what other brands is offering but i dun like the plastic casing... looks kinda fragile. But overall its cheap and stable. :)

dl4akb

whazzup said:
Old technology, old chipset, issues with voice input. DELL=Dont Expect Last Long :D

theory_87

whazzup said:
Dell is cheaper due to no 3rd party selling... dey send the gds directly to u... but comparing specs, i dun really thin k Dell is tt gd... all other brand is providing accessing to musics, videos and pics wifout booting the OS but Dell is still nt offering it... it abit sad...

naro

dl4akb said:
Old technology, old chipset, issues with voice input. DELL=Dont Expect Last Long :D

Hmm.. haf u looked at their products??

The Dell inspiron 9300 is the only laptop available in Singapore with the 6800 series gfx currently.

In the US and UK, Dell is selling the XPS Gen 2 with 6800 Ultra and the XPS M170 with 7800GTX graphics card. they oso offer the option of 80gb and 100gb 7200rpm hdds which not much manufacturers are offering right now.

They're oso one of the first few to offer the new 915 chipset together with Acer.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.