Dell Laptop User Thread

theory_87

a_h_f_s said:
M using an Inspiron 510m...

Just wanna ask...whats the difference between Pentium M and the "normal" Pentium desktop computers use?

Also, is there any way of cooling down my laptop since it heats up very quickly after using for a while?
PM users less power and it design wif less power and heat in mind...

ur laptop which area is hot? if hdd, there is nothing much u can do abt it...

darrenlee78

a_h_f_s said:
M using an Inspiron 510m...

Just wanna ask...whats the difference between Pentium M and the "normal" Pentium desktop computers use?

Also, is there any way of cooling down my laptop since it heats up very quickly after using for a while?
try running it in an air-con room and use speedballs :)

cyberian

ltw1977 said:
Ok ... thanks for the info ...

Cos I am at Overseas ... and wanted to order 630m ... deducting the 1 gig ram & 3 yrs warranty, the cost abt $1.7k ... I wanted to take e 3 yrs complete warranty, but there only upgrade is 1 yr complete warranty at $95 ...

Now waiting for Dell CSO to call me ... and to check with them ...

It is not possible to upgrade the graphic right ...

Correct.. the graphics cannot be upgraded... :( anyway i'm not using it for games

pcie2005

speedballs are those like one ball split into half use to lift the back of the laptop. cooling... enhance air ventilation

ltw1977

cyberian said:
Correct.. the graphics cannot be upgraded... :( anyway i'm not using it for games

i took up i6000 instead ... cos cheaper ...

luckily I put in a request yesterday b4 e offer ends, today saw the price .. so much exp ..

Yxy

Yah lor, the order form don't have any information to be used for online checking...
I guess either we can call them or wait for them to call us...

cyberian said:
Anyone know how to check the Dell order status when you buy it from Sitex?

a_h_f_s

Im using a Inspiron 510m currently....with a integrated intel extreme graphics 2 card...will i be able to run NFSMW? any recommendations on what gfx card i should get if i wanna upgrade?

btw...wads the diff between a video card and a gfx card? :o

erm also...wad software do u guys use to clean up ur system registry?

pcie2005

got laptop cheaper than dell meh??

haha

only that dell quite thick, heavy, and not very contemporary design... but the price factor i feel is very appealing, very attractive....

i9300 here :D

cyberian

ltw1977 said:
i took up i6000 instead ... cos cheaper ...

luckily I put in a request yesterday b4 e offer ends, today saw the price .. so much exp ..

My brother also took up the i6000 offer as it is cheaper.

lycanboy

is there any place that have inspiron 9300 that i can have a feel of it?? courts? harvey Norman?? or even a dell shop??

scramblur11

lycanboy said:
is there any place that have inspiron 9300 that i can have a feel of it?? courts? harvey Norman?? or even a dell shop??

There a dell kiosk over at suntec where u can see the product....think it is on the 1st floor...u can order there on the sopt if u wan also....but u got to take note leh...sometimes the specs displayed beside the laptop is not accurate one.....

Eg. the screen on the laptop is SXGA....but the specs and promo shown beside it is based on the XGA screen....complain to dell last time liao...but dunoe they change yet anot... :yawn:

darrenlee78

a_h_f_s said:
Im using a Inspiron 510m currently....with a integrated intel extreme graphics 2 card...will i be able to run NFSMW? any recommendations on what gfx card i should get if i wanna upgrade?

btw...wads the diff between a video card and a gfx card? :o

erm also...wad software do u guys use to clean up ur system registry?
integrated card ? i think not and even if u can run it. the frame rate will be terrible.

a_h_f_s

so wad gfx card do u guys recommend?

im also thinking of upgrading my memory...currently a Crucial 512mb 333Mhz PC2700 DDR

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.