Dell Laptop User Thread

aLeX84

Shinji_U said:
Call Dell up and they'll change the LCD & DVD Drive following the next business day, or which ever is closest to your warranty.

Thanks....Hope they can change on the spot or at least provide backup lappy for me to use :s8:
Lucky i got 3 year warranty....i think it's money well spent, considering the rate stuff spoils on this laptop....I feel Dell lappies are quite " unique" cuz i can walk into a lecture hall at SMU and everyone's using an Acer, fujitsu,IBM or HP....but mine's the only Dell around :s7:

Shinji_U

aLeX84 said:
Thanks....Hope they can change on the spot or at least provide backup lappy for me to use :s8:
Lucky i got 3 year warranty....i think it's money well spent, considering the rate stuff spoils on this laptop....I feel Dell lappies are quite " unique" cuz i can walk into a lecture hall at SMU and everyone's using an Acer, fujitsu,IBM or HP....but mine's the only Dell around :s7:
Haa haaa... when I see those Acer, Fujitsu, IBM, HP etc notebook... I'll normally say... nice notebook you have, but utterly slow, nice to look, slow to play with.

:D

darrenlee78

Shinji_U said:
Haa haaa... when I see those Acer, Fujitsu, IBM, HP etc notebook... I'll normally say... nice notebook you have, but utterly slow, nice to look, slow to play with.

9300 showoff :(

Shinji_U

darrenlee78 said:
9300 showoff :(
Not show off, just stating the fact, i9300 is the king of notebooks now in SG, the only near it is the ATI X800, which sad to say isn't even available in SG shores...

darrenlee78

Shinji_U said:
Not show off, just stating the fact, i9300 is the king of notebooks now in SG, the only near it is the ATI X800, which sad to say isn't even available in SG shores...
dun bully my inspiron 500m :(

i'm tempted by the many offers currently to upgrade as well :)

palmtt99

The current 630m offer is really very good. However, the 3 yr warranty upgrade looks a bit expensive.... $324.

Any comment on whether it's really worthwhile to take this up?

scramblur11

palmtt99 said:
The current 630m offer is really very good. However, the 3 yr warranty upgrade looks a bit expensive.... $324.

well...it really depends on you...if u can afford the additional $324...why not?...it gives you a peace of mind for the next 3 yrs....or if u intend to use the laptop to replace ur desktop can consider as well...

Shinji_U

darrenlee78 said:
dun bully my inspiron 500m :(

i'm tempted by the many offers currently to upgrade as well :)
I where got bully ur 500m... I never bully your 500m... I never bully your 500m... I never bully your 500m... I never bully your 500m... I never bully your 500m... I never bully your 500m... I never bully your 500m...

Shinji_U

palmtt99 said:

The price of $324 for 3 years warranty is good lor... if you break it down you know why...

3 years = $324...
1 year = $108...
1 month = $9...

You paying $9 per month for that warranty leh... at most eat less one meal of upsized Mcdonalds...

palmtt99

Shinji_U said:
The price of $324 for 3 years warranty is good lor... if you break it down you know why...

3 years = $324...
1 year = $108...
1 month = $9...

You paying $9 per month for that warranty leh... at most eat less one meal of upsized Mcdonalds...

Thanks but my maths go a different way...

1 year = no extra $$
3 year = $324

That means $324 is for 24 months not 36 months.

Say if I don't take up the $324 plan, will Dell send me a letter to extend the warranty after 1 year?

Shinji_U

palmtt99 said:
Thanks but my maths go a different way...

1 year = no extra $$
3 year = $324

That means $324 is for 24 months not 36 months.

Say if I don't take up the $324 plan, will Dell send me a letter to extend the warranty after 1 year?
Ok, take it that its $324 for 24 months, still only $13.50 per month, at most eat less 2 meals of upsized macdonalds? :D

Anyway as long as before your warranty expires, you can ask Dell to extend your warranty, they will not send you a letter, you have to let them know you wanna extend the warranty, if I'm not mistaken its $226 a year when I asked in Mar 05.

cyberian

Shinji_U said:
Ok, take it that its $324 for 24 months, still only $13.50 per month, at most eat less 2 meals of upsized macdonalds? :D

Anyway as long as before your warranty expires, you can ask Dell to extend your warranty, they will not send you a letter, you have to let them know you wanna extend the warranty, if I'm not mistaken its $226 a year when I asked in Mar 05.

I agreed with Shinji_U... $324 to protect the lappy is worth it, in my personal opinion. Here's my maths:

Original warranty - no extra cost
1st year standard coverage for manufacturer defects

Extended warranty - $324
3yrs coverage, which also cover accidentally damage by user. Damage parts will either be repair or replace.
You may want to read more on this coverage:
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/topics/topic.aspx/ap/topics/services/en/inspiron?c=sg&l=en&s=dhs

Extended warranty - $4xx :s31:
3yrs coverage, which also cover accidentally damage by user. Damage parts will either be repair or damage. Thief will also be cover.

:)

PeterSG

To those who are using it and have ordered this laptop, I have some questions about the 630m.

1) What is the brand of the harddisk provided for this 80G configuration.
2) Is the LCD truelife upgrade worth the $20 odd dollars.
3) 9 cells battery charge / recharge cycle is lesser than 6 cells, doesn't it makes more sense to get 2x 6cells battery.
4) What is the brand of DVD writer that is in this laptop.
5) Is it more worthwhile getting the ram from SLS and self upgrade rather than
from Dell. Would there be any compatibility issues.
6) Anyone using the 2.0 Ghz CPU, is it really fast? Is it worth the speed upgrade for 200++ dollars?

All reply appreciated. Many thanks.

ShougunX

Add me add me; Inspiron 700m (1.76/512/60GB) & Inspiron 630m (1.86/512/100GB-actualli my bro's but i am using it as well).

1 question: can upgrade the lcd lens of the 630m by sending back the lappie to them? coz was bought at sitex but forgot to upgrade to Truelife display...dun really prefer the matt surface...prefer the gloss surface like my 700m.

2 question: Is buying insurance for the lappies better than buying the warranties??

Thanx!!:p

Shinji_U

ShougunX said:
Add me add me; Inspiron 700m (1.76/512/60GB) & Inspiron 630m (1.86/512/100GB-actualli my bro's but i am using it as well).

1 question: can upgrade the lcd lens of the 630m by sending back the lappie to them? coz was bought at sitex but forgot to upgrade to Truelife display...dun really prefer the matt surface...prefer the gloss surface like my 700m.

2 question: Is buying insurance for the lappies better than buying the warranties??

Thanx!!:p
1) You can't bring back and change the LCD, you can only request to upgrade the LCD but it will be a totally different price, cause during purchase, upgrading is cheaper than after sales upgrade.

2) The Complete cover warranty form Dell is more or so insurance like cover if you cross reference it with an insurance policy for notebooks.

cyberian

PeterSG said:
To those who are using it and have ordered this laptop, I have some questions about the 630m.

1) What is the brand of the harddisk provided for this 80G configuration.
2) Is the LCD truelife upgrade worth the $20 odd dollars.
3) 9 cells battery charge / recharge cycle is lesser than 6 cells, doesn't it makes more sense to get 2x 6cells battery.
4) What is the brand of DVD writer that is in this laptop.
5) Is it more worthwhile getting the ram from SLS and self upgrade rather than
from Dell. Would there be any compatibility issues.
6) Anyone using the 2.0 Ghz CPU, is it really fast? Is it worth the speed upgrade for 200++ dollars?

All reply appreciated. Many thanks.

1. Mine Fujitsu - 100GB.
2. Did not opt for truflife due to it's reflectiveless.
3. not sure.. mine is 9 cell
4. NEC ND-6650A
5. Not sure.. will still to 1GB for now.
6. mine 1.86Ghz.. to me the price gap is too big for a 200mhz increase.

PeterSG

cyberian said:
1. Mine Fujitsu - 100GB.
2. Did not opt for truflife due to it's reflectiveless.
3. not sure.. mine is 9 cell
4. NEC ND-6650A
5. Not sure.. will still to 1GB for now.
6. mine 1.86Ghz.. to me the price gap is too big for a 200mhz increase.

Thanks for your reply. How does the NEC ND-6650A perform? I know it only does DVD-RW at 2x which is not really that appealing and I agree with your statement about the big price gap between the 1.86Ghz and 2.00Ghz. Any negative experience using this 630m for games and video or photo editing anyone?

Seriously thinking of getting this laptop.....
Many thanks. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.