Shinji_U
Shinji_U said:Call Dell up and they'll change the LCD & DVD Drive following the next business day, or which ever is closest to your warranty.

Haa haaa... when I see those Acer, Fujitsu, IBM, HP etc notebook... I'll normally say... nice notebook you have, but utterly slow, nice to look, slow to play with.aLeX84 said:Thanks....Hope they can change on the spot or at least provide backup lappy for me to use![]()
Lucky i got 3 year warranty....i think it's money well spent, considering the rate stuff spoils on this laptop....I feel Dell lappies are quite " unique" cuz i can walk into a lecture hall at SMU and everyone's using an Acer, fujitsu,IBM or HP....but mine's the only Dell around![]()
send to me. i repairShinji_U said:Ehhh.. we Dell users don't send for repair...
looks pretty good to meTuaPekKong said:The current offer for the Inspiron 630M seems like a darn good deal, what with free DVD writer, 80G HD, free delivery and all. What do you guys think? I'm very tempted to get one, or should I wait till Xmas week for possibly a better offer?
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/top...microsite/en/advertised_tv_sg?c=sg&l=en&s=dhs
9300 showoffShinji_U said:Haa haaa... when I see those Acer, Fujitsu, IBM, HP etc notebook... I'll normally say... nice notebook you have, but utterly slow, nice to look, slow to play with.
Not show off, just stating the fact, i9300 is the king of notebooks now in SG, the only near it is the ATI X800, which sad to say isn't even available in SG shores...darrenlee78 said:9300 showoff![]()
dun bully my inspiron 500mShinji_U said:Not show off, just stating the fact, i9300 is the king of notebooks now in SG, the only near it is the ATI X800, which sad to say isn't even available in SG shores...
palmtt99 said:The current 630m offer is really very good. However, the 3 yr warranty upgrade looks a bit expensive.... $324.
Any comment on whether it's really worthwhile to take this up?
I where got bully ur 500m... I never bully your 500m... I never bully your 500m... I never bully your 500m... I never bully your 500m... I never bully your 500m... I never bully your 500m... I never bully your 500m...darrenlee78 said:dun bully my inspiron 500m![]()
i'm tempted by the many offers currently to upgrade as well![]()
The price of $324 for 3 years warranty is good lor... if you break it down you know why...palmtt99 said:The current 630m offer is really very good. However, the 3 yr warranty upgrade looks a bit expensive.... $324.
Any comment on whether it's really worthwhile to take this up?
Shinji_U said:The price of $324 for 3 years warranty is good lor... if you break it down you know why...
3 years = $324...
1 year = $108...
1 month = $9...
You paying $9 per month for that warranty leh... at most eat less one meal of upsized Mcdonalds...
Ok, take it that its $324 for 24 months, still only $13.50 per month, at most eat less 2 meals of upsized macdonalds?palmtt99 said:Thanks but my maths go a different way...
1 year = no extra $$
3 year = $324
That means $324 is for 24 months not 36 months.
Say if I don't take up the $324 plan, will Dell send me a letter to extend the warranty after 1 year?
Shinji_U said:Ok, take it that its $324 for 24 months, still only $13.50 per month, at most eat less 2 meals of upsized macdonalds?
Anyway as long as before your warranty expires, you can ask Dell to extend your warranty, they will not send you a letter, you have to let them know you wanna extend the warranty, if I'm not mistaken its $226 a year when I asked in Mar 05.
1) You can't bring back and change the LCD, you can only request to upgrade the LCD but it will be a totally different price, cause during purchase, upgrading is cheaper than after sales upgrade.ShougunX said:Add me add me; Inspiron 700m (1.76/512/60GB) & Inspiron 630m (1.86/512/100GB-actualli my bro's but i am using it as well).
1 question: can upgrade the lcd lens of the 630m by sending back the lappie to them? coz was bought at sitex but forgot to upgrade to Truelife display...dun really prefer the matt surface...prefer the gloss surface like my 700m.
2 question: Is buying insurance for the lappies better than buying the warranties??
Thanx!!![]()
PeterSG said:To those who are using it and have ordered this laptop, I have some questions about the 630m.
1) What is the brand of the harddisk provided for this 80G configuration.
2) Is the LCD truelife upgrade worth the $20 odd dollars.
3) 9 cells battery charge / recharge cycle is lesser than 6 cells, doesn't it makes more sense to get 2x 6cells battery.
4) What is the brand of DVD writer that is in this laptop.
5) Is it more worthwhile getting the ram from SLS and self upgrade rather than
from Dell. Would there be any compatibility issues.
6) Anyone using the 2.0 Ghz CPU, is it really fast? Is it worth the speed upgrade for 200++ dollars?
All reply appreciated. Many thanks.
cyberian said:1. Mine Fujitsu - 100GB.
2. Did not opt for truflife due to it's reflectiveless.
3. not sure.. mine is 9 cell
4. NEC ND-6650A
5. Not sure.. will still to 1GB for now.
6. mine 1.86Ghz.. to me the price gap is too big for a 200mhz increase.