Dell Laptop User Thread

zzzzzz87

blurpasta said:
I'm using the 700m and it's almost the same as 710m except the colour of e lappy i tink. Anyway it's qt a gd lappy if you r not into heavy gaming as it only has intel graphic card. A light lappy tt weigh less than 2kg. If u buy e 8-cell batt, u can use e lappy for abt 5hrs n it's gd for outdoor usuage. The screen is gd for viewing movies if u dun mind e small screen compared to other laptops i have seen so far... But one bad thing i dun like abt dis lappy is it has only 2 usb port. Utimately, its still up to ur preference n usuage.

hi! thanks for your reply.

you think it's good for school use?

8-cell batt can last about 5 hours. how about a 4-cell? i think it comes together with 710m unless i upgrade.

how long has your laptop lasted without any problem?

thanks!!

blurpasta

zzzzzz87 said:
hi! thanks for your reply.

you think it's good for school use?

8-cell batt can last about 5 hours. how about a 4-cell? i think it comes together with 710m unless i upgrade.

how long has your laptop lasted without any problem?

thanks!!

e 4 cell wan last abt 2hrs, but trust me, it's better to get e 8cell wan. Anyway i bought it last sep. *touch wood* so far no prob yet n i did a manual upgrading to 1gb ram by myself so its consider a power lappy nw as i do a lot of video converting.... Anyway i'm not sure wat course u r in so a rough guage is if u r in business n u dun do intensive graphic designing or gaming, dis lappy is value for money for a 12.1 inch... I'm a info sys. student so e 700m is just nice for me cox it's light. Anyway i even on it 24/7 since i use it for B*... :D

GreenArrow2002

Any open-source gurus here :s11: Needs help.

Installed Suse 10.0 on my Inspirion 9300. Installation went without any problem. All hardwares detected. Problem arises when trying to go online. Wireless device not detected or with error msg somthing like that.

This is my first time on using this OS.

Windchijmes

Can't go wrong with the Inspiron 700m/710m. I use a 700m and one month ago, I spilt an entire mug of tea over the keyboard. Except for the damaged motherboard and mouldy WiFi card, everything else was intact. Spent $300 on repairs and now it is in perfect working condition. That is how tough the machine is.

WARNING: DO NOT TRY THIS ON YOUR LAPTOP! :p

As for performance, it is good enough for most purposes, especially after you add some RAM to it. Unless you're using it for some graphics heavy work or gaming, it works like a charm. Also, get the 8-cell battery. You won't regret it. Theoretically, the 4-cell battery lasts for 2 hours, but once you start increasing screen brightness, use the optical drive, etc, it will become really short.

richkid83

guys, i just completed the dell order online form... they say will send me a email confirmation order within 2 days... then delivery will take place.. is tt the correct procedure?

btw delivery how long huh? thanks :o

darrenlee78

zzzzzz87 said:
anybody using dell inspiron 710m? any comments on it? thanks.

does anybody recommend dell laptops to be used for university?
nice portable laptop suitable to be carried around. should suit your basic needs :)

darrenlee78

HWdummy said:
yozz.. how to u guys think about Latitude D520

intel duo core 1.66GHz
window pro edition
3 year warranty
512 ram
cd-rw combo
14.1" display
60GB sata
GMA 950
-----------------------
SG$ 1,996.05

u can customise it to home edition and 1yr warranty @ $1,766.10
Get it with 3 years warranty if its within ur budget :)

darrenlee78

GreenArrow2002 said:
Any open-source gurus here :s11: Needs help.

Installed Suse 10.0 on my Inspirion 9300. Installation went without any problem. All hardwares detected. Problem arises when trying to go online. Wireless device not detected or with error msg somthing like that.

This is my first time on using this OS.
Have u tried using a conventional cable connection instead of wireless. Maybe a problem with the wireless card drivers

blurpasta

Has anyone try to replace their harddisk on their lappy to a higher capacity?? Is it easier??? Apparently, a 60gb is not enuff for me n i tot of replacing it to a higher wan....

GreenArrow2002

darrenlee78 said:
Have u tried using a conventional cable connection instead of wireless. Maybe a problem with the wireless card drivers

I don't think the wireless card is faulty. I can connect with my access point using WinXP. Well, that's why I still go for WinXP. Not much problem with hardwares setup :D

Xiaosa

Thinking of getting a Dell 640m. Going for a 6 days course soon, need a laptop. Dont need it immediately. Will there be better offers during upcoming PC Show. What do you all think..

richkid83

GreenArrow2002 said:
I don't think the wireless card is faulty. I can connect with my access point using WinXP. Well, that's why I still go for WinXP. Not much problem with hardwares setup :D

some times i think the online offer is better

i ordered my dell 6400 also

specs are like

Duo core 1.83Ghz
7200rpm 100gb harddisk
1Gb 533 Mhz ram
DVD 8X dual layer writer
9cell Batt
Screen upgraded to truelife

for a total of 2k

Xiaosa

So no 3 yr complete warranty lah ??

richkid83 said:
some times i think the online offer is better

i ordered my dell 6400 also

specs are like

Duo core 1.83Ghz
7200rpm 100gb harddisk
1Gb 533 Mhz ram
DVD 8X dual layer writer
9cell Batt
Screen upgraded to truelife

for a total of 2k

Xiaosa

Should get 6 cell or 9 cell battery ?? Any advice ?

Xiaosa said:
Thinking of getting a Dell 640m. Going for a 6 days course soon, need a laptop. Dont need it immediately. Will there be better offers during upcoming PC Show. What do you all think..

richkid83

Xiaosa said:
So no 3 yr complete warranty lah ??
ya dutch hv... i used it to upgrade the system specs...

actually to say.. everything hv warranty in the end maybe also din spoil so no use also IMO...

by default still gt 1 yr completecover gd enough for me :o

richkid83

Xiaosa said:
Should get 6 cell or 9 cell battery ?? Any advice ?
if u are not going to carry ur pwr supply adaptor around.. then its better to get a bigger capacity batt for longer usage lor :D

Xiaosa

Wats the average usage time for 6 and cell ??

richkid83 said:
if u are not going to carry ur pwr supply adaptor around.. then its better to get a bigger capacity batt for longer usage lor :D

ezonme

i just got my 710m and i find it the brightness is too bright for my liking as compared to my old compaq. Any way to reduce the brightness?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.