Dell Laptop User Thread

Backlash

ezonme said:
i just got my 710m and i find it the brightness is too bright for my liking as compared to my old compaq. Any way to reduce the brightness?

You press the function key and then try pressing the up & down arrow.
This is how I tune my brightness

Nottiimp

InspironTM 710m
Intel® Centrino® Mobile Technology Intel® Pentium® M Processor 735 (2MB Cache, 1.70 GHz, 400 MHz FSB)
Genuine Windows® XP Home Edition
512MB (2x256) Shared DDR SDRAM 333 MHz
12.1" Wide Screen XGA display with TrueLife™; 1280x800
60GB Ultra ATA Hard Drive
24X CD-RW/DVD Combination Drive

Anybody interested in buying the above @ $1500, it's only 2 weeks old

sparky3

Nottiimp said:
InspironTM 710m
Intel® Centrino® Mobile Technology Intel® Pentium® M Processor 735 (2MB Cache, 1.70 GHz, 400 MHz FSB)
Genuine Windows® XP Home Edition
512MB (2x256) Shared DDR SDRAM 333 MHz
12.1" Wide Screen XGA display with TrueLife™; 1280x800
60GB Ultra ATA Hard Drive
24X CD-RW/DVD Combination Drive

Anybody interested in buying the above @ $1500, it's only 2 weeks old

May I know the reason for selling?? Cos it's only a little off the current selling price.

Thanks

pat8228

richkid83 said:
some times i think the online offer is better

i ordered my dell 6400 also

specs are like

Duo core 1.83Ghz
7200rpm 100gb harddisk
1Gb 533 Mhz ram
DVD 8X dual layer writer
9cell Batt
Screen upgraded to truelife

for a total of 2k

Is the Dell 6400 heavy? Am thinking of getting a laptop as well but this one looks pretty big and bulky.

richkid83

pat8228 said:
Is the Dell 6400 heavy? Am thinking of getting a laptop as well but this one looks pretty big and bulky.
well ,y lappie arrive today, was quite fast... around 2 business day arrive liao... hmmm actually its quite heavy.. maybe due to the reason tt i upgraded the internal specs..
i find the inbuilt speaker quite gd leh...

btw 9cell last for around 6 1/2 hrs per charge :)

darrenlee78

richkid83 said:
well ,y lappie arrive today, was quite fast... around 2 business day arrive liao... hmmm actually its quite heavy.. maybe due to the reason tt i upgraded the internal specs..

thats good battery life :)

PierceLee

Heard any rumor or inside scoup about 720m? Been waiting for them to update the series to Duo. Hopefully they put in real graphics GPU (at least as option).

huntzer

not a rumor, but there is a ultraportable that come with a gpu. It also look damn sweet.

1920_me

My inspiron 510m has lines running across the screen (i guess i should be dead pixels)

What is the best course of action...and how much would it cost?

The warranty had expired in feb '06.

pat8228

richkid83 said:

Thanks for the update. Thought this model might be pretty heavy after a quick check online. The standard package weigh at around 2.9kg, and I believe this does not include the power adapter. The 640m has similar standard config as the 6400 (standard package) but weigh at around 2.4kg, but it cost a bit more though. Might hold on my purchase till the IT show next month.

=:p

richkid83

pat8228 said:
Thanks for the update. Thought this model might be pretty heavy after a quick check online. The standard package weigh at around 2.9kg, and I believe this does not include the power adapter. The 640m has similar standard config as the 6400 (standard package) but weigh at around 2.4kg, but it cost a bit more though. Might hold on my purchase till the IT show next month.

=:p

i think in the end.. the main diff is the screen size :o

pat8228

Yes main diff between the 2 seems to be screen size and weight. Do you happen to use this laptop for video editing?

richkid83

pat8228 said:
Yes main diff between the 2 seems to be screen size and weight. Do you happen to use this laptop for video editing?
nope, i dun do video editing

BTW, did dell provide a recovery disc for the laptop they sell? like those from Acer one? cuz they give me afew CDs in the package but i like cannot find the recovery disc :s11:

mrStrange

shdnt it be sent with ur lappy together?
i just ordered a dell latitude d820.. my friend got a precision m65. hope to enjoy it soon..

Xiaosa

In the dell website, there is something about Trulife Screen ?? Anyone can advise what it is ?

richkid83

ok sianzzz

i used less than 1 week, the no. 2 key on my lappie drop out... sianzzz ask the repair man to come tmr liao :s27: :s16:

applezoo79

wow... now the 9400 comes with a 7900GS ... think there will be a promo during PC show like the during march.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.